We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circa 1886 Restaurant

Circa 1886 Restaurant
149 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1733 (Downtown)
843-853-7828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1886 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smith
Description: Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The overall experience at Circa 1886 was exceptional. It was the perfect choice for our romantic getaway over the Fourth of July weekend. From the time we arrived, we were treating as if we were the only patrons for the night. The entire staff moved fluidly throughout the room making sure everything was perfect and every need was met. Our three course meal began with grilled Quail and a Heart of Palm salad for the appetizers. Next was the main course which consisted of the grilled Antelope, which was awesome, and the broiled Halibut that was magnificent. For dessert we chose the Peach souffle and the "pluff mud" pie, all were prepared wonderfully and the service was first class. I would highly recommend Circa 1886 Restaurant and it is on our agenda for the next visit to Charleston, SC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    95
    42
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's hard to find a restaurant with the perfect combination of delicious and innovative cuisine, professionally friendly staff, intimate ambiance and reasonable prices for the quality of the experience. Circa 1886 has all of this and you can actually hear everyone at your table. The menu changes often enough to keep us coming back and has excellent choices for both comfort food lovers and adventure seekers. There are lots of great restaurants in Charleston, but Circa is always our favorite. And did I mention it has parking?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review of Circa 1886. It is quite an honor to be named your favorite restaurant in Charleston, as there are indeed so many wonderful places to eat. We appreciate your note about our seasonal menu. We love to provide our guests with a new, fresh experience each time they visit. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Wayne, IN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Halibut I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I would hight recommend circa1886. We went with 2 other couples and everything we had was exceptional. We shared the foie gras and it was great. They also give you a complimentary bite sizes starter and it was very unusual and wonderful. I had the Halibut and the way it was prepared was awesome, like I said the best fish I have had. Several friends had the wild mushroom pot pie and all loved it. One ordered the antelope and loved it as well. For dessert several of us had the peaches n' cream soufflé...also excellent and the perfect size. One had the peanut butter pluff pie..I tried a bite and again it was exceptional. Great service, beautiful atmosphere...I highly recommend getting a reservation and trying it out..you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, FL
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Elegant 4th of July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visiting Charleston over the 4th we heard all sorts of ideas of how to spend the holiday. Prior to arrival, we booked a BBQ dinner and viewing fireworks event at Circa 1886 that we found on a Charleston Internet link.
Upon arrival, the yard in front of the Inn was set with white clothed tables and eclectic chairs. There was live music and attentive wait staff to serve us drinks. The BBQ was buffet style and plentiful of wonderful southern items. The slaw and pulled pork definitely stood out.
After dinner, all the guests climbed the stairs or used the small elevator to the cupola. After reaching the top, we were offered champagne to enjoy while watching the fireworks. Guests were able to walk 360 around the top and enjoy near and far fireworks.
We had a car and driving back to our nearby hotel was easy compared to all the traffic trying to leave Mount Pleasant.
Something different from the ordinary and a memorable 4th.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for spending your 4th of July with us! The Sizzling Summer Celebration is one of our favorite events and we're thrilled that you had such a memorable experience. It is certainly something out of the ordinary and watching the fireworks from the Wentworth Mansion cupola is always a treat. We hope you will join us again next year for our 8th annual celebration. Thank you again for the tremendous feedback.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed This Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food and the service was great. I had the lamb chops, very tender and my sister had the sea bass. Very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Circa 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circa 1886 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.