We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southend Brewery & Smokehouse

Southend Brewery & Smokehouse
161 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)
(843) 853-4677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Southend Brewery & Smokehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #223 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Queen St
Description: Located in the heart of the historic downtown Charleston Peninsula, Southend Brewery & Smokehouse specializes in regional cuisine & exquisite, custom-crafted beers, served in a rustic, kid-friendly setting to the tune of great, live music. We provide our guests with the Charleston restaurant experience for lunch, dinner and beyond with a variety of American foods, such as pastas, wood-oven pizzas, fresh fish and specialty in-house smoked barbecue ribs, steaks, chicken and sausage.Southend Brewery & Smokehouse has been rated the #1 Microbrewery in the South, and this is manifested in the beautiful and functional glass encased "brewhouse" in the center of the building. We also feature Charleston's only indoor glass elevator, which you can take to the 3rd floor bar for darts and billiards, or the 2nd floor banquet hall, perfect for your Charleston event. The Brewery frequently hosts reunions, receptions, wedding rehearsal dinners and birthdays complete with a variety of menus and catering to suit the occasion.One block from Waterfront Park at Vendue Range, and in walking distance from Market and Broad, we are in the hub of downtown activity and nightlife for Charleston, SC. Come enjoy the casual, family-friendly atmosphere of Southend Brewery & Smokehouse where live music, delicious beer and a spectacular waterfront view of the Charleston Harbor will make anyone feel right at home.
HAM LAKE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good solid food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was a cold night and the large doors let much cold air in, but the food was excellent. There were many seafood selections and beef selections as well. The restaurant was very noisy and friendly. The wait staff was very personable and the food was much better than average. The price was very reasonable for Charleston.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    183
    221
    146
    49
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RIDGE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This restaurant was just up the street from our hotel, so it was perfect since both nights we were in Charleston we were too tired to walk to far to eat. We had delicious food both nights and the servers were polite and attentive. The building was pretty interesting inside, and very casual atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Great Way to While Away a Rainy Winter Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My partner and I were wandering the Charleston peninsula when a cold front came in and it started to rain. Southend Brewery was the closest restauran. to us at the time, so we quickly scanned the menu and went inside. What luck. We sat at the end of the bar and it was a perfect place to relax and chat with each other (in addition to chatting occasionally with other bar patrons). We ordered the pork barbeque sandwich with vinegar sauce, the roasted vegetable sandwich, and a side of collards and grits rather than the standard french fries--and split all of it between the two of us. Oh lawsy...the food was exceptional...sandwiches just melted in our mouths; the grits were fluffy, creamy and well-seasoned; and the collards were tender and tasty. We leisurely ate and enjoyed a few pints of the Watch It Grow Wheat--it was smooth and citrusy. The two bartenders were great--sophisticated, professional, friendly and efficient. It was a wonderful way to spend a leisurely, rainy afternoon in beautiful Charleston.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Culinary Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This restaurant was the starting place for you Culinary Tour with Glenn Morehead, the food was FANTASTIC, and also took into account that I have an allergy to shrimp, and I do appreciate all the adjustments to my meals, I am looking forward to the next food tour, Some of the best food I have ever ate!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Centrally Located-Great Place for Beer & Food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently ate here as part of Charleston Culinary Tours & we definitely didn't expect the great food we had!

We had samples of 6 of their local beers then grilled smoked meatloaf with mushrooms, bbq gravy & mashed potatoes.Next they brought out fried green tomatoes with a veggie topping, balsamic vinegar & feta? cheese and last a dish of bbq pulled pork.

The smoky & grilled taste of the meatloaf was very unique & made us want to try cooking it that way. Hopefully, we could figure out how to keep our meatloaf from crumbling to pieces on the grill-maybe Southend would share their secret?? Being a certified Kansas City BBQ Judge, I thought the pulled pork was a little dry, otherwise, I would have rated this excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southend Brewery & Smokehouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Southend Brewery & Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.