We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and the best service of our trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyman's Seafood

Hyman's Seafood
213 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3107
(843) 723-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The HYMANS have been at the same location for over 112 years starting out as a Wholesale dry goods store then changing to HYMANS SEAFOOD in 1987. The HYMANS commitment to guaranteed customer satisfaction is the reason that HYMANS SEAFOOD is now a Charleston landmark.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and the best service of our trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had been to Hyman's before so we already knew the food was good, but this experience was made better by the excellent service we received! Our waitress went above and beyond! Like I said the food is great. Authentic southern food and big portions. Hyman's is a must while in Charleston.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,180
    691
    366
    174
    142
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After a small wait we ate on the 2nd floor. Our waitress was very friendly and accommodating. My son cannot eat seafood so he ordered the smothered chicken (which they were out of). His favorite are specialty sandwiches, so she let him choose one off of the lunch menu. The shrimp and french fries were delicious. We exited through a cute little restaurant gift shop. Will definitely eat here again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Plenty of inexpensive great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Very casual place which was family friendly. 30 min wait to get in but friendly staff and free hushpuppies while you wait. Table was sort of greasy. Waiter was good but host was very friendly and funny. Food was very good and plentiful. Bathroom urinals lacked private stalls. Exit is thru a gift shop like Disney rides - sort of tacky but matched the entire dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lured in by gimmicks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After landing in Charleston in the late afternoon and not having the chance to eat all day, we were really hungry and lured by the Hyman's staff out on the sidewalk , giving away free samples of hushpuppies. So, we gave it a shot.

The service: This aspect was interesting. While our waitress was nice enough, I perceived her as being overtly aggressive with enticing us into "add-ons" (e.g., crab stuffing in our fish, larger margarita, larger combo dinner). There's a thin line between informing customers about specials and making them uncomfortable with all of the sales pitches, and she crossed the line. The encounters with the other staff were all positive, they were friendly. It was nice to see a manager out and about conversing with patrons.

The food: The boiled peanuts were a nice starter. A waiter brought us a free appetizer consisting of cheese grits and fried green tomatoes, a very nice surprise and by far the tastiest part of our meal. The mussels were underwhelming and the accompanying scampi broth was lacking serious flavor. My spouse's tilapia was above average and mentioned that the calamari was decent. Overall , we were not blown away by any of the food which was slightly disappointing because this was our first meal in Charleston.

The atmosphere: This place is deceiving from the street, it is huge inside and they have a general store front in the same building (check out the free samples of pralines, very good). I would recommend Hyman's for families and perhaps for a casual night out, but not for date night.

It was an average experience. There certainly were highlights (grits and cards on the tables with various sayings) however, the food wasn't great and our waitress was graceless.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Put it on the list when visiting Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

When you get to Paris the first time you visit the Eiffel Tower. New York...Lady Liberty. St. Louis? The Arch. You get the idea. They aren't the things locals do everyday. They typically aren't the best things you could do, but they are things you simply have to do when you visit. I think about Hymans in the same way. It's as much about the experience as it is about the food. Don't let food snobs scare you off. Yes, there are better seafood restaurants in town, however none offer the total experience that Hymans does. Make sure you make the trip

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyman's Seafood also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hyman's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyman's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.