We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, on a cozy front porch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
18 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-534-2434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
Luckey, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food, on a cozy front porch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

Small but cozy restaurant with a delightful front porch on a sunny late spring day, that had been recommended to us by a friend who had also visited Charleston. The service was excellent, the food was outstanding, the dessert was yummy, and watching across the street as they washed down the carriage horses at the end of the day was entertaining also. Reservations are definitely a must, but it was by far my favorite dining experience on our 5 day trip to Charleston.

  • Visited May 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,026
    287
    48
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Be sure to try Cru Cafe during your Charleston visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

Cru cafe gets all thumbs up! We enjoyed a perfect dinner in a beautiful historic setting. Pear salad, sesame tuna app and fish special were all on point. Cru is a must visit during your stay in Charleston. You will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't Miss Cru Cafe in Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW via mobile

While seeing the downtown sights, do take time out for lunch or dinner at the Cru Cafe-you'll be glad you did. Be warned it is quite popular and busy: reservation recommended. Food and service great.their mussels and calamari are outstanding, perfectly cooked and flavorful! We make this a stop each visit! If you need to wait a bit, well worth it!!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

This little cafe is a real gem. Went for lunch on my birthday. The caprese was the best I've ever had. Also had a fried oyster hoagie that was wonderful. I've never been anything but thrilled when I've visited here. If you're in Charleston, you must give this cafe a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful Luncheon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

Reserved a table for 9 on a Tuesday...a very busy Tuesday. I overheard an employee tell a walk-in it was a one hour wait...for lunch! Reservations are a must and we now understand why. Service excellent. Food excellent. Highly recommend. Fried oyster hoagie, General Tso's Caesar wrap, shrimp pappardelle, pulled pork (with bacon on top) sandwich, macaroni and cheese (not bland at all and offered a crispy top...oh, yes please!) turkey and Brie sandwich and the shrimp BLT. Shoestring fries were amazing. All plates were finished. One of my new favorite spots in Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cru Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.