We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small cozy house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
18 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-2006 (Downtown)
843-534-2434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small cozy house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My son told us to try the Parmesan fries and they were very addictive! Truly excellent food all the way around.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    263
    47
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming and Popular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This place was recommended by our concierge for lunch on a Friday afternoon. Fortunately, she made us a reservation or we would never have been seated. Cru Cafe is located in a historic home and features an open kitchen. We warmed up with the Split Pea and Bacon soup to start. Our entrees were also delicious. My mother enjoyed her Turkey and Brie sandwich with Apple Chutney and I have not stopped raving about the Duck Confit Arugula salad. This place is a must eat while in Charleston. Make reservations!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Wonderful and friendly staff. Great wine selection and great food. When choosing a place to dine, in Charleston, CRU should be at the top of your list.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in an old home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The staff at the Indigo Inn suggested this restaurant to us because it was "very good" and close by, which was welcome because of the cold rain. But, their recommendation was very conservative - our lunch was better than very good.

The restaurant is in an old house off the beaten path, a few blocks down from Meeting Street on Pinckney. The restaurant occupies the first floor; the kitchen is open and the seating area is quite small, but when the weather is nice there are a couple of tables on the porch for additional seating. The interior is "hard" and with the tight seating it can be a little noisy.

Our lunch consisted of the Broccoli Bacon Cheese Soup, Tomato Basil Soup, Turkey Brie Sandwich with apple chutney, Chinese salad, and the small plate Mussels (24 medium sized ones by count). All were prepared with excellent ingredients, presented very well and had great taste and flavor.

We liked the place so well we tried to get in the next evening for dinner, but it was booked. We tried for lunch the next day and it too was booked so we tried walking in but no luck. So, my concluding comments are simple - it is a a very good restaurant you may want to try, but if you do don't plan on walking in without a reservation - many others like it too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We really enjoyed eating here. We had a reservation and were seated as soon as we arrived. We enjoyed sitting outside on the porch. The menu is low country and everything looked delicious. Most memorable was the duck confit with arugula salad and we also like the pimento cheese. Near the shopping area and walking distance to many hotels. Great service--friendly and competent. Would love to go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cru Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.