We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian dining in great ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Five

Fulton Five
5 Fulton St, Charleston, SC 29401-1920
+1 843-853-5555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fine dining Northern Italian restaurant located in Historic Downtown Charleston
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian dining in great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The food and service here are outstanding. Although it's billed as Italian food, there are plenty of other options too. We went with a group of 6, and everyone was thrilled with their appetizers and entrees. If you can get in, you won't be disappointed! The only minor flaw I could see is that I would have expected a few more upscale wines to go with this exceptional food, but there are enough choices to keep all but the most discriminating oenophiles happy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    47
    10
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant was an ideal place to spend our last night in Charleston. The atmosphere, the service and the food were outstanding. My husband and I both ordered the scallops and were very impressed with the blend of flavors. The wine was excellent. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great bar and restaurant in a quaint location. I've never been disappointed here - from the cozy bar to the personal attention at the table. This is a don't miss stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a fabulous meal at Fulton Five”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great italian meal with southern flair. WOnderful atmosphere. Was a bit worried by description as "most romantic" yet found it to be a small, vibrant venue. Staff was great, food better. Will add this to our short list for Charleston.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A jewel in Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful restaurant with a very unique ambiance. the wait staff is professional and treat you like they have known you forever. The food and wine are so good. The flavor combinations are spot on. I had the fresh fish of the day. It was cooked perfectly. I will definitely go back to this restaurant. Only problem is, it is small and the noise level can be quite high.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fulton Five also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fulton Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fulton Five, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.