We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food AND More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille

Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille
167 E Bay St Ste 200, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 727-0111
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: European, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Corner of Queen & East Bay
Chiacago.IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food AND More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My hubby and I LOVED this restaurant. The decor was hip, fun, and lively, but not noisy. Our server, Graham, attended to all of our needs with patience and skill. We were not hurried, enjoyed chatting about menu, Charleston, and food. Extensive wine list, with gorgeous 'wall of wine' incorporated into decor. I had the Carolina Snapper which was amazing, tasty, light and perfect portion. We shared a butter lettuce salad w bacon jam and bleu cheese buttermilk dressing. Yum, and divided for us. My husband chose the scallops and didn't leave a morsel. Dessert went the traditional route with Grand Marnier Souffle, a petitie portion which didn't take long to make. Scrumptious. Restaurant was crowded on a Tuesday night by 730 but we had reservations. Bar looked fun, but didn't enjoy that.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    130
    63
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My sister and I were in Charleston for a girl's weekend and our hotel concierge recommended Cypress. It was fantastic beginning to end. We were seated promptly when we arrived. Our waiter Joshua brought our wine and asked us if we wanted to relax with a drink before ordering - no rush at all. We each had one of the beef specials - both were absolutely wonderful. My filet - a take on southern bbq - just melted in your mouth. The food was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious. Dessert was also fantastic. Joshua, our waiter, was perfect. Paid attention and was charming and funny - but not intrusive and let us just enjoy our meal. The dining room is really beautiful and has a very warm and welcoming atmosphere. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfection from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife and I recently had a wonderful dining experience at Cypress. It had been several years since we had been here. We went on a Sunday evening and were a little concerned that they might not be on their "A" game since the restaurant was nearly empty that night. The food was incredible. We started with the butter lettuce salad with bacon jam and buttermilk blue cheese dressing as well as the sweet and sour meat balls. We ended up passing the dishes back and forth because both of them tasted so good. We followed this with the crispy wasabi tuna and the Charleston snapper. Both entrees were outstanding with the tuna being the top choice for both of us. My only complaint with the tuna is that I'm not a fan of edamame and would have paired the tuna with something else. Nevertheless there wasn't a morsel of food left (with the exception of the edamame!) when we finished! We paired the food with a Delectus Cabernet which proved to be a wise choice. The wait staff was perfect. Overall, a great experience and must go place for us again. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
“AMAZING MEAL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Cypress was recommended to me by the Exec Chef where I work. Chef Deihl (sp) is simply a visionary when it comes to charcuterie. This place makes and cures and smokes all its own charcuterie and it SURELY is more than fantastic. We ordered one of the 3 offered platters and chef came out with ALL of the selections along with a sort of road map explaining what each was and how it was cured, and with what spices. Along with the meat selections came house made biscuits and whole grain mustard and a few cheeses. We followed the servers suggestion and paired the meats with a Gruner Veltliner... unexpected but right on the money.
The rest of the meal was just as fantastic....we fest as if we were the only guests in a fairly full restaurant. GO TO CYRESS!!!! Its just awesome!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

FOOD: The quality and presentation of every dish was outrageously wonderful. We did not taste a single morsel that was not full of flavor, welcoming and leave you wanting more.

AMBIANCE: Romantic, hip, fun

SERVICE: The most fun we have had in a restaurant! I'm not sure if we adopted Josh or he us, but loved him. As far as a server, he was knowledgeable, made great suggestions, was not pushy, but always there when needed. As a person, he was off the charts sanfrantabulous. We loved Josh.

We had a great time here and will definitely be back!

Gotta try the "Naked Cowboys" (if you love oysters) and the Tropical Baked Alaska!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.