We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille

Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille
167 E Bay St Ste 200, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 727-0111
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: European, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Corner of Queen & East Bay
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expensive but delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The St. Germain Martini was unbelievable! Every person in our party was extremely satisfied. It was my mothers birthday and they brought us a little birthday dessert. The chocolate molten cake with peppermint ice cream was the perfect way to end the night.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    130
    63
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Dining delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Terrific menu. Wonderful atmosphere in the heart of Charleston. Our entrees were perfectly prepared, but one of the highlights of the evening was our server, Clay. He took extra time to explain the menu and offer suggestions - all were perfect. What a great start to our evening. We would highly recommend and will certainly return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I visited Cypress during restaurant week. The service, food and atmosphere were all exceptional. Naturally, it was a great value because of restaurant week prices, but we'll gladly return for the regular menu. Very comfortable seating...the high back chairs in the upstairs dining area seemed to add to "privacy" from other diners.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tableside Caesar Service and Chateaubriand for Two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Elegant, delicious, lovelyservice. The lavendar vanilla martini is something I will be thinking about for a long time. Great wine list. Food was prepared perfectly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“One of Charleston's best dining experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our experience at Cypress was pretty much faultless, apart from a minor gripe on our initial table which was adjacent to the restrooms, which for me is a no no. However the staff were quick to respond to our request to be seated elsewhere and we were moved to a lovely corner table upstairs overlooking East Bay Street. That resolved we were able to settle in and enjoy our evening.

The menu had enough variety to suit all our tastes so we deliberately chose a range of meat and fish dishes so that we could all sample! All were cooked (and presented) to perfection and a true modern twist on some classics. I particularly enjoyed my cheese plate starter and beef main course. Service was attentive throughout.

Having seen both floors I preferred the ambience upstairs, cosy but stylish. Having enjoyed three courses and some decent wine, our final bill was a tad eye watering, but that being said this place is quite special. I wouldn't hesitate to return on my next trip to Charleston.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.