We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish

Fish
442 King St, Charleston, SC 29403-6230
+1 843-722-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between John & Ann Streets
Description: A warm contemporary and inviting space, Fish resides in a beautifully renovated, 1837 Charleston home in the heart of the Upper King Design District. South Carolina's singular French Master Chef Nico Romo reimagines classic French cuisine with delicate Asian touches and unrivaled presentation at Fish Restaurant. Our always-changing menu showcases the finest local and sustainable ingredients, resulting in fresh and flavorful dishes that engage and inspire. Featuring fresh-off-the-boat seafood and locally harvested produce, Fish's vibrant fare spans farm-raised meats, innovative dim sum, artisan cocktails and boutique wines. Small and large plates feature light fare, family-style bites and hearty entrees, alongside vegan and gluten-free selections. Enjoy handcrafted cocktails at the lively bar - a local favorite for weekday happy hour.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My favorite of the three restaurants we dined at on a recent trip to Charleston. Hostess was friendly and very accommodating. Pre dinner cocktails were great and imaginative. Dim sum had many choices and you get 4-$10 dollars. Good deal. Entres were right on and also a choice of smaller plates.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    63
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not a great place for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went fationor lunch. Kish offers a fixed lunch menu at $10/person. The place was not super busy, but it still took more than 30 minutes for our food to arrive! Staff was nice and apologized for the slow service, but still - taking the limited lunch menu into consideration- it should not have taken that long. Pad Thai noodle dish was ok, but moo shu wrap was bland and uninspired.

Lunch is surely not the reason to go. Dinner might be a differnt thing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC Triad
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fish Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just go - this is my best advice. If you love creative, delicious and beautiful seafood, you'll be in heaven. Begin with the dim sum...four delectable pieces chosen from an ample selection that includes duck foie gras, duck confit, lobster roll, crab spring roll, escargot... all amazing. Many of the entrees are available in medium sizes, too. Trigger fish was the special the night we were there and it was as fabulous as promised - on the recommendation of our waiter I ordered the scallops - a bit reluctant since everyone seems to offer seared scallops. But, wow! As for dessert - they have dim sum again - a sweet sampler - just the right amount. Nothing seems to be 'ordinary' here. This chef is truly an artist in food. Great wine list, relaxed but upscale atmosphere. What more can you wish for?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Just do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If its packed, sit a the bar and you will get great service and good conversation. Happy hour lasts through 8pm with half off dim sum which is the perfect start to your meal. Enjoy a signature cocktail or the delicious luxe Lucy sooooo good! Three of us ate and drank ourselves silly for 100 bucks, that's super reasonable in charleston. Make sure to get the tomato mozzarella, it's house made and to die for. Also, don't pass up the dim sum special. Any of the entrees are good, but I love the scallop dish, lobster roll or pad Thai. All yum yum yum! Don't pass up FISH, it's a local hot spot and totally under rated on Trip Advisor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Overall a good meal and good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Overall this is a very nice restaurant with very friendly and knowledgeable service, and a warm and comfortable atmosphere.

For the most part the food was very good. There were some Major highs and one low.
The dinner started on a high note with complementary hot buns with an amazing reduction of soy and hot chili dipping sauce. We could have made a meal from this alone.
Appetizers:

We ordered and shared an assortment of Dim Sum which offers a nice variety of choices. Each order allows the diner to choose 4 items from a list of 12 entries. Three of our choices which included Caramel pork belly, tempura fried escargot, and Egg A La Coque where very good although the Egg could have used more caviar for extra saltiness, while the crab spring roll was just OK.

The wife ordered the Muscles of the day which came with a Coconut milk Curry sauce. The sauce was very nice and the Muscles were cooked perfectly.

I ordered curry crab soup which just might be the best soup ever. The soup was loaded with crab meat and the curry broth was outstanding

Main Course:

The wife ordered Stripped base over Yukon gold potatoes and substituted the cauliflower instead of the Brussels sprouts. The bass was cooked perfectly and the potatoes were creamy and loaded with flavor.

I ordered the naked fish of the day which was a piece of grouper over a bed of saffron rice and a side of Bacon fries. This is the only place where the meal was a miss step. The rice had a nice aromatic quality and taste, but the grouper was a overcooked and had a greasy coating on the outside. The Bacon Fries were the equivalent to elongated tator tots than true fires and were not very good. The waitress knew I was not happy with the dish. and made sure it was taken care of to my satisfaction.

Dessert:
We finished the meal with a delightful Dim Sum Dessert which once again offered a choices of 4 from a selection of 7 items. This was a wonderful ending to an enjoyable meal.

Overall this was a very nice meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.