We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar

A W Shucks Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar
70 State St, 35 South Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-2023 (Formerly A W Shucks Seafood Restaurant)
+1 843-723-1151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #174 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A W Shucks is a casual Dining seafood restaurant that opened in 1983. We strive to bring the best food at the best price and with an overall excellent experience. We appreciate all feedback from Trip advisor and will respond privately to reviews.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Fast and reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband ate bucket of Oysters. I had Salmon salad. Both were OK. Location excellent. Service was great. Prices fair.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    155
    152
    112
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We decided to try here for dinner tonight while in town. We were seated right away and the service was very fast and courteous. We were not even finished with our appetizers when our food was delivered. The drinks were great as well. I will definitely come back to eat when we come back to Charleston!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not that great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

You have so many choices in Charleston to choose from. Don't waste your time here. The Oyster Po Boy was not good. It only had 4 oysters on it and they were gummy. My husband had the flounder and you had to search for it on the plate. It was so thin and fried up that it curled at the edges. Try the Noisy Oyster it's good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just O.K”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We thought whilst in Charleston, we should try the seafood, and AWSchucks was recommended by the cab driver. We sat outside, which was pleasant, but the service was just ok. My husband had the mussels, which were good, but the seafood platter and my order of crab cakes were just ordinary. The time taken between ordering drinks and getting them was a while also. We expected a better meal for the price we paid.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We came here as part of a large group so we had a limited menu selection. My grilled flounder was well-prepared and tasty, as was my husband's fried shrimp; both came with fries and cole slaw. The house salads were fresh with delicious ranch dressing. We did discover a new wine - their house Chardonnay wine was Rex Goliath and we both liked it, so we'll have that again. It was a nice meal all around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to A W Shucks Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A W Shucks Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.