We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-723-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

charming facility, nice bar - good food, good service and nice abiance - decorations are appropriate and nice

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for a great review of Peninsula Grill.
Your kind words are truly appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next
trip to Charleston.

Warm Regards,

Erich Rauber
Manager
Peninsula Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    186
    62
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I took my partner to Peninsula Grill to celebrate his 28th birthday, and it was a perfect experience. The ambiance was perfect, not too loud like so many Charleston hot spots, but just lively enough. The service was top notch as always, never were we left with empty drinks or wondering where our waiter had gone. He was very attentive, informative, and strived to make sure our celebration was a special one. I can't say enough about the food here, it has always been and will always be some of the best food on the peninsula. Some places are known for their steaks and some for their seafood, Peninsula Grill is the best of ALL worlds- no matter what you order it will be just that, the BEST. I cannot say enough about how fresh and well prepared my wreck fish was and my partners steak was tender and absolutely perfect. I cannot wait to make a return visit to Peninsula Grill where I know my high expectations will be met and surpassed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review of Peninsula Grill and for choosing
our restaurant to celebrate your special occasion.
The talented group of chefs in our kitchen work diligently
to produce some of the best food in Charleston, while the service staff
work together to create an experience like none other to be had in the city.
Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you very soon. Cheers!!

Erich Rauber
Manager
Peninsula Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Coconut cake to go: bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our last day in Charleston was spent touring the city in the morning, with plans for Kiawah Island in the afternoon. But we hadn't yet tried the Peninsula Grill's famous coconut cake, and they don't open until 4. What to do? We went inside the Planters Inn and spoke to Josh in the lobby. He said that, even though the restaurant was closed, we could get slices of their coconut cake to go. Josh escorted us to the dining room, where Missy warmly accommodated us. Missy said that they do this all the time. The slices were $10.00 each and were huge. We just now finished the cake and it is worth every accolade and every calorie. Six layers of moist cake, creamy filling, and a cream cheese frosting on top. It was incredible.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of Peninsula Grill.
Pastry Chef Chapman and her team work diligently
assembling our famous coconut cakes. It is true that
we aren't open in the afternoon, but our courteous staff
is on hand to get a slice or two to take away. When in
Charleston next, we would also love the opportunity to
entertain you in our dining room. Cheers!!

Erich Rauber
Manager
Peninsula Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scallops and Ribeye Steak :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a wonderful meal and experience at the Peninsula Grill.

We had great service and amazing food! My husband got the ribeye with foie gras truffle butter and I had the scallops. OM NOM NOM. So delicious! We also had the coconut cake for dessert. I HAD to try it! We had heard so much about it in the media that it was a must. We were so full from our meals but devoured the cake immediately! You have to get it, it does not disappoint.

The atmosphere was very nice as well for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for the gleaming review of Peninsula Grill.
Chef Dailey and his team produce some of the finest
food in Charleston. Your choice of the scallops with lobster
and the ribeye with foie gras truffle butter are staff favorites.
Pastry Chef Chapman and her staff keep busy baking, assembling
and frosting our world famous coconut cake. A culinary treat to rival
any in the south. Thanks again!! We look forward to seeing you in the
very near future.

Warm Regards,

Erich Rauber
Manager
Peninsula Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A religious experience in The Holy City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Charleston is aptly called the Holy City due to the number of beautiful churches and synagogues throughout the area. Perhaps it is appropriate also because of the many great restaurants that have come to define Charleston in recent years. These have become objects of gastronomic worship by those foodies who recognize the city's high rank in culinary excellence. There is no city of its size that possesses the number of quality restaurants as Charleston.

In my opinion none stands out more than the Peninsula Grill. Over the last few years we have dined there many times. Multiple visits are normally a recipe for disappointment as it is difficult for any restaurant to continually surprise and delight. However an evening at the Peninsula is always as good, if not better than the last. The cost is not cheap by Charleston standards. However, for an experience as good as any restaurant in New York or San Francisco it's a comparative bargain.

My wife and I dined there in early July of 2014. The atmosphere was relaxed yet polished and refined. The service was attentive but never rushed or pretentious. The food and presentation were outstanding, as always. The wine list has a selection for most pocketbooks with many excellent wines by the glass. We shared a lobster ravioli for appetizer as well as a Bibb wedge salad with Stilton, bacon and Buttermilk dressing. The Pan roasted Sea Scallops and the Pork chop entrees were outstanding. We topped it off with the signature Coconut Cake. How could we resist?

If you are in Charleston it is hard to go wrong at any of this beautiful city's fine dining establishments. However do yourself a favor and try the Peninsula Grill if you have not been there. It is a religious experience in the Holy City that will make you a believer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your continued support of Peninsula Grill.
Chef Dailey and his dedicated team work tirelessly to ensure
that the freshest ingredients to be found in Charleston are spun
into beautiful pieces of art. From the first plate to the last, each dish
is given equal attention to detail. Our service staff is comprised of consummate
professionals who strive to give guests the absolute best experience in Charleston.
We look forward to your next visit. Cheers!!

Warm Regards,

Erich Rauber
Manager
Peninsula Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.