We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-723-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant was special in service and food. The waiters went out of their way to address us by name most every time they asked a question. All of the dishes were extraordinary. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the strong recommendation. Peninsula Grill strives with every service to make each guest's experience exceptional. With Chef Graham Dailey's wonderful cuisine and service to match it is understandable why Peninsula Grill is the place to dine while in Charleston.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,031
    186
    62
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The beautiful setting compliments the excellent dishes. Charleston's restaurants seem to revel in preparing locally grown produce, meats, and seafood. Even the ordinary wedge of lettuce salad was transformed! The trout and the red grouper were fresh beyond words and Eric, our waiter who hails from southern France, selected just the right wine for our meals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your visit to Peninsula Grill. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much. Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine served by knowledgeable professionals like Eric is what sets Peninsula Grill apart from the other restaurants in Charleston. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superb in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Fabulous food, service, and ambiance. Everything was perfect. No complaints...really! My daughter had her wedding ceremony and reception here and everyone raved about it so I'm expressing the sentiments of sixty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing the rave reviews of your 60 guests with us. We are thrilled that we were able to give your daughter and your guests such a memorable and wonderful evening. We wish them a lifetime of happiness. Thank you for choosing Peninsula Grill for such a special evening.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Superb Haute Cuisine Southern Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Until you look at the menu and note the obviously Southern influences, you might swear that the Peninsula Grill is located in mid Manhattan. It has the look and feel of an upscale New York restaurant. It's prices certainly fit the mold. But, it's worth it. The food, which makes extensive use of locally sourced ingredients, is simply marvelous. Everything we tried was superb. Our first courses were soups. I had the oyster stew and would have been satisfied with a meal comprised only of it. My wife ordered a soup "trio", a tasting of three other soups prepared by the kitchen that day - also excellent. Our entrees were rack of lamb with a wild mushroom sauce and grilled trout. These wonderful too; the vegetables and potato sides were by themselves memorable. I urge you not to skip the dessert menu. The Peninsula's "Ultimate Coconut Cake" is one of the best cakes I've had anywhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for such an amazing review. Chef Graham Dailey's passion for sourcing the best ingredients from Charleston's local farms and the docks of the Low-Country is evident in every bite of every dish. Thank you for your recommendations and compliments. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Very elegant and romantic atmosphere. The service is excellent. The food is incredible scrumptious. I loved the mushroom soup is so tasty and different. The meat is tender and well seasoned. Well, such of nice service and unique food will cost you some money. ( I did not tried the wine, since I was not feeling good. Instead I had a cup of hot tea, which it was great too).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. You have hit on Peninsula Grill's secret for success. We focus daily on our cuisine, our service, and our ambiance. Chef Dailey and his staff focus on properly preparing and presenting each plate that leaves the kitchen. Our service staff is both longstanding and knowledgeable. They are passionate about the service that they give. Our ambiance and southern style is complimented by our hospitality. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.