We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3157 (Downtown)
+1 843-723-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great food, the variety is not big though. Friendly service. Expensive, but worth trying, especially for a special occasion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your visit to and review of Peninsula Grill. I am thrilled that the food was great. I am sorry that you found the selection to be limited. We look forward to serving you again,

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateuax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    778
    140
    55
    26
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at the Peninsula Grill and we had a wonderful experience. The restaurant had a beautiful walkway to its entrance and we were seated immediately with our reservation.

They had a cocktail menu with inventive drinks. Try the Carolina Cocktail - "Sweet Tea" Vodka, Fresh Squeezed Lemonade, Splash of Soda, Served over Crushed Ice. Delicious!

We had the trio of soups - the lobster corn soup was amazing and the cauliflower and the mushroom soups were great as well. I had the bourbon shrimp with the hoppin john and the hush puppies and my husband had the trout. All was delicious.

The restaurant offered us a dessert for his birthday, but we were too full to indulge.

Of note, in the City Market across the street, they offer a book with all the recipes from the restaurant.

I definitely recommend the Peninsula Grill for a special occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing Peninsula Grill to celebrate your husband's birthday. We are honored to have shared the occasion with you. Our focus, for each of our guests, is to create a memorable experience for them and give them a reason to return. We look forward to your next visit and for you to enjoy a piece of our wonderful Coconut Cake!
I hope that you purchased one of our cookbooks. It was released just a few weeks ago and we are very proud of it. It is filled with Chef Dailey's recipes. There are current menu items in the cookbook as well as recipes from specials and past favorites. If you would like one signed by Chef Dailey and shipped we are happy offer that through our websit

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateuax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Congrats Peninsula Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great meal! The food was wonderful. The service was excellent. We were extremely pleased with our visit to the Peninsula Grill.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review, We are thrilled that you enjoyed Peninsula Grill so much. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateuax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This is a special dining experience... One not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

First of all, I am sure that all the servers are excellent BUT I am still going to suggest that you ask for Erinne. She is knowledgeable and professional, of course, but she is also a real foodie and a sincere fan of the establishment. That makes talking to her about the menu a greal deal of fun. :-)

Every course was delightful and well worth taking the time to savor. Mt wife had the local swordfish (served over a tender risotto and asparagus), while I had some of the best sea scallops of my life!

We ended with the banana panna cotta and it was unbelievable. I understand why the coconut gets so much fanfare, but absolutely do not understand how this gourmet take on the southern favorite, banana pudding, stays off of any foodie's radar. IT IS NOT TO BE MISSED!

We had a great time, and while it was expensive, we will definitely be going back before we head for home.

The Peninsula Grill is truly special. :-)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
There is truly something special about receiving service from a professional. Erinne and the rest of our team at Peninsula Grill are that. Our longstanding service staff is passionate about what they do. They all have a connection to the restaurant which shows in the way they care for their guests each evening. They also beleive in Chef Graham Dailey and his food. His passion for the ingredients and foods that he prepares is mirrored through out the service staff.

Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateuax
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting the Peninsula Grill. Our food was outstanding, as was the service. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her wreck fish and I had a wonderful trout.

The highlights were the energetic atmosphere as well as the coconut cake for dessert!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
It means so much to us at Peninsula Grill that we have the support and patronage of our Local guests. After 15 years of being the place to dine in Charleston we have had a great deal of competition. Through it all we have retained this local following. With the level of restaurants in Charleston we feel that this is the ultimate complement.

Thank you,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.