We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Dining Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anson - CLOSED

Anson
12 Anson St, Charleston, SC 29401-2018 (Downtown)
(843) 577-0551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Hilton Head Island, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Group Dining Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Packed our family in for a 50th Anniversary celebration, young and old alike. The upstairs dining room was perfect and service was outstanding. The management worked well with us on decorations and table settings. Especially tasty is the scored flounder. All the dishes were excellent and we were not rushed to finish and leave.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    97
    30
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

They took us in without a reservation on a busy nite. Our server was great and the food was delicious! Fun and romantic atmosphere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, disrespectful service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Went with a large group (14 people). Understandable very difficult to seat, however, the tables were placed so close together that I was honestly uncomfortable. Waiter was a disappointment the entire time. He at one time, placed bread baskets on our table, then realized the other table would be paying the bill, proceeding to come back, take back the bread, and place on their table. He came up with a weak excuse but where I come from that is called bad manners. He had lost us from that moment. The food was really good, service was slow, but to be honest Anson's will forever be remembered as the restaurant who snatched back the bread basket. He did not attempt to get to know our tables at all, during the 2 hour dinner we were there. He handed my cousin the check, who was most certainly not paying. My uncle was not pleased. He should have placed the check on the table and not made an awkward situation. Probably will not be back. That being said, the food is good. I would go with a smaller group, at a less prime time, and hope for the best with the waitstaff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Invited my Mom to dinner a few days before Christmas. We had a wonderful evening. The restaurant was full but no noise issues for us. Manager seated us away from the windows when I mentioned that I was cold.
We had a grilled octopus appetizer, she crab soup, Caesar salads and 2 different fish entrees. Everything was delicious.
Service was friendly and our server was knowledgable about the menu without being too pretentious.
Would recommend and go back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very popular and good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We did an anniversary dinner. We were treated super. Our waiter was understated and top shelf professional. The food was well prepared and pricey. The ambiance was a little loud for our tastes. Location adjacent to City Market and Carrige Tours.....center of historic scene.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anson also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.