We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anson - CLOSED

Anson
12 Anson St, Charleston, SC 29401-2018 (Downtown)
(843) 577-0551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Mountainside, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Anson is in a nice location---close to the outdoor markets. Atmosphere is warm and the food and service were great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    97
    30
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had dinner here during a recent Charleston visit. Loved the she-crab soup, whole flounder and pecan pie. My husband was in a Southern mood so he had the grits and some of the various greens. He was very pleased, although he wished he had ordered the she-crab soup (he sampled mine). The atmosphere was nice. Service was good, but not exceptional. Still another great Charleston restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A few misses, but pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We've been to Charleston a few times, and, during this past visit, we ate at Anson's for the first time. I'm glad we tried it; I'm not sure we'd go back again. There are just too many good places, and it wasn't remarkable.

Avoid the okra app, which has very little flavor. And avoid the she-crab soup, which tastes like white gravy.

The house special whole-fried fish is excellent; the fried porkchop is pretty good; and the pecan pie was some of the best I've had. I also must admit that the classic southern sides (greens, mac n cheese, etc.) were some of the best we had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We both had the fish and was well worth it. We had the BBQ'd fish and crispy whole flounder and they were both great. Good service and great ambiance. Upstairs looked a little lively as there was a private party going on. The only hiccup was my Perfect Manhattan was shaken and not stirred, should have given the bartender a heads up- my bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Anson's food was delicious. I had grilled fish with a barbeque glaze, while my husband had a steak. Both dishes were excellent in taste and presentation. The service was friendly and professional. There was an acoustic guitar player that night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anson also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.