We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Foodie's Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hank's Seafood Restaurant

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
10 Hayne Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3106 (Downtown)
+1 843-723-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 15 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Foodie's Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

While visiting my sister who lives outside of Charleston, we decided to go to Hanks for dinner. Despite having arrived very early for our reservation, Hank's graciously accommodated us. The food was fabulous. The service was a bit slow but this is Charleston and not New York. Our waiter was knowledgable and accommodating. The restaurant is a nice size and heavenly not noisy. We were a party of five. For starters we had the special duck confit salad with goat cheese, the she crab soup and for the main dish, trigger fish. The deserts were a reasonably good key lime pie and an outstandingly good bananna cream pie. Others in our party had the roast salmon. We all agreed it was an exceptional well prepared meal and that we would recommend it to others and definitely return ourselves (maybe even this trip). Reservations are recommended.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you! The team is pleased to hear how much you enjoyed everything. It is great to hear that your experience measured up to New York standards, as there is an infinite number of amazing restaurants where you live. We hope that you make your way back to Charleston soon, and please let us know if we can do anything for you when you return. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    412
    187
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very busy but if you get seated well worth the wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Went there with my daughter, without reservations but we got seated at the large table in the middle of the restaurant and truly enjoyed meeting new people, along with our food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Wonderful! The Community Table is a great place to enjoy a great meal and to meet new people. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you again very soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok, but not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We ate here based on other Tripadvisor reviews. There are some great things about this restaurant: Bartenders are attentive and amazing, and the drink selection was good. we sat at the bar for about an hour and it was very nice. The restaurant was dark and noisy, and there is nothing wrong with that, it is just not what I expected. It reminded me of an old style expensive steak house. I was surprised at the number of guests wearing baseball caps. Dinner was good, not great. I had the scallops; they were good but nothing special. My husband had the Grouper. Our server seemed very rushed, as we were probably one of the last tables of the night with a 9:00 reservation. We had banana cream pie for dessert, which was pretty flavorless and had few actual bananas in it. It was okay, but would not return again. We did not enjoy it for the prices we paid. Overall with Drinks, app, dinner and dessert for 2 our bill was about $180.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We truly appreciate your feedback, and thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. The staff is disappointed to hear that you did not find the food to be outstanding- the entrees you chose are normally very popular with our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. We promise that your next experience will be absolutely amazing, so please let us know when you return. Thank you again for dining with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Food and Service were Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

So after disembarking from the cruise ship, we wanted to see Charleston and eat some "real" seafood. We saw the restaurant early in the day while sightseeing, and decided it looked like just what we needed. Plus our valet recommended it. The food was oh-so-wonderful and our server was equally wonderful. He seemed to realize we walked in off the street not knowing what to expect, and since we just went with it, so did he. You see, this place would be considered ritzy by our standards. So we walked in with our post-cruise tee shirts, shorts, and flipflops on, and everyone else had gone to some trouble to dress up for Dinner. The first indication that we were, to coin a phrase, fish out of water, was the hostess glaring at us through the front door when we peeked in to see when they opened (it was 5:00 and we were there around 4:45). And then once we walked in after waiting an appropriate 15 mintues, the hostess, instead of asking: "Two for dinner?" came across much more snooty with: "Can I help you with something?" Uh, yeah. Two for dinner. Please. We have real money and everything.

But regardless of that little episode, the dinner was really wonderful. The wait staff was great, too; we had fun. I'd recommend this place with the caveat that you'll feel more comfortable in their atmosphere with khakis and leather loafers, but it was the best seafood we had in Charleston, hands down. And they didn't ask us to leave. So, can't really complain can I?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We are truly honored that you decided to dine with us during your stop in Charleston. The Staff is delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again very soon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you in Charleston again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Va.
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Four of us ate here last night. Upscale restaurant in the downtown section of Charleston. We made reservations for 6 pm and were promptly seated when we arrived. The service was excellent and our server was very knowledgable on the menu and what ingredients were used. I went with a Fried combo of Shrimp and Grouper and both were excellent. They served a huge amount of Sweep Potatoes Chips with them that were good. Everyone enjoyed their meal in our group. This is not really a blue jeans/t shirt type of place but I'm not sure if they would turn you away if you showed up like this.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Wonderful! We are delighted to hear that your whole group enjoyed their experience with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, and please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hank's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.