We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hank's Seafood Restaurant

Hank's Seafood Restaurant
10 Hayne Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3106 (Downtown)
+1 843-723-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hank's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Church
Description: Located one block from the Charleston City Market in the heart of the Historic District, Hank's Seafood Restaurant has been Voted Best Seafood Restaurant in Charleston for 15 consecutive years. Hank's Seafood is housed in a beautifully restored 100-year-old warehouse and serves the best and freshest seafood with an emphasis on local recipes. The lively community table is very popular with solo travelers.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Elegant Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The concierge at the Wild Dunes Resort recommended Hank's for seafood in Charleston, and booked a table for seven of us. The moment we got into the restaurant, we were just delighted by the atmosphere and were promptly seated. The waitress was elegant, very helpful and catered to all our needs. The food was excellent. I had the monk fish special. It was very delicious. The others had scallops, broiled seafood, calamari, everything we ordered were excellent. We had such a positive experience that we came back two nights later with even a bigger party. This time I had the curried shrimp, which is also delicious, but in my personal opinion not as good as the monk fish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We were delighted to serve you again two nights later, and thank you for bringing more of your friends. It was truly a pleasure serving you, and please let us know when you return so we can thank you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    405
    187
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average, Not Bad, Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

You will need reservations. This is not a place to go for a private, quiet, date night. Chances are, your neighbor will try to become part of your dinner party. The food was average. Ordered their famous She Crab soup, very little crab in the soup, mostly cream. Tuna, oysters, shrimp, and crab cake were average, nothing spectacular. Service average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry that you did not find your experience with us to be extraordinary. We would have been more than pleased to offer another table for you so that you could enjoy more privacy. If there are any special requests you would like to make prior to dining with us, we will be happy to accommodate you. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again, so please let us know what we can do to make your experience perfect, and we promise we will deliver. Thank you again for dining with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went to Hank's based on TripAdvisor's ratings. The wait time for a table was 2 hours, so the 3 of us sat at the Community Table, and had a great time! Great idea for those who don't want to wait for a table to open up. Met some fellow travelers, had good conversation, and delicious food! Service was pretty quick for a bustling restaurant. Delicious broiled seafood platter. Large portions, enough to share. Location is perfect, next to the market.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Terrific! We love to hear our guests rave about our Community Table. You're exactly right; It's a great place to enjoy a great meal with great company. Thank you for dining with us, and please let us know if we can make a reservation for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood in Historic Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lively environment with seafood, particularly the featured Seafood Towers. Wait staff is well trained and service moves along quickly. Nice for family, friends or just as a couple.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you! Our staff enjoyed serving you, and we appreciate your letting us know how much you enjoyed everything. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabou!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Hanks is by far the best overall seafood restaurant in downtown Charleston. Atmosphere and character of this house is felt upon first entry. Service and food are top notch even though the place is always packed. The staff never seems to reveal how busy they actually are. Ask for Christine. She is always soo happy to please.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanksseafood, General Manager at Hank's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Christine truly enjoyed serving you, and she sends you her warmest regards. Thank you very much for your kind words. The whole Staff at Hank's looks forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hank's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hank's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hank's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.