We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Lower King, and there it was!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kitchen 208

Kitchen 208
208 King St, Charleston, SC (Downtown)
8437257208
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Kitchen 208 is a breakfast and lunch restaurant in the heart of downtown historic Charleston. Kitchen 208 features a whimsical menu with pastries, Southern breakfast entrees, sandwiches, salads, coffee, wine and local beer. Relax inside our beautifully renovated 100-year-old dining room or our shaded street side. Great fare, fresh air: served daily at 208 King Street.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“On Lower King, and there it was!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Out strolling, shopping on Lower King St. and there it was, just when the lunch pangs hit. Delightful menu, with out of the ordinary fare. My meatloaf sandwich was artfully prepared and presented. A wait staff that was extremely helpful. When it was time to pay the bill, tucked in next the register was a Trip Advisor cardholder politely asking for a review. Glad to give one!! We'll be back on our next trip, for sure. Charleston is a foodie's heaven, with Kitchen 208 at the top of of the list

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kitchen 208, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for stopping by Kitchen 208 and taking the time to review your lunch experience. We take great pride in offering unique menu items as well as great service, so we are happy to hear that we ranked at the top of your list of Charleston restaurants!

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Marc Collins and Mark Severs, Co-owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    64
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had breakfast here and the food was very good. A little more innovative than the average breakfast spot.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale
1 review
“I'm going back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Excellent. Get in, have a healthy satisfying meal with a mimosa, and you're out the door
again to see the sights!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful Experience & Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Kitchen 208 is a great spot on Lower King Street and Market Street that you can dine al fresco with many menu options that replicate the Charleston / LowCountry flair at a decent price point. The service, atmosphere, and location make this my new favorite lunch spot!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I walked in right before 3PM, which is when the close for lunch but they still took our order. We were so glad they did the food was awesome. We will most certainly return and recommend this spot to others. WONDERFUL!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen 208 also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kitchen 208? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitchen 208, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.