We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite unique...need more than one visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ordinary

The Ordinary
544 King Street, Charleston, SC
843-414-7060
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ordinary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Montana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Quite unique...need more than one visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We love the chef/owner from his FIG restaurant and I knew this one was totally different. Being from the north, we don't see much shellfish (like any....) so it is unfamiliar to us. This is the place for you if you do know and love it! The old bank is beautifully redone but it is acoustically a challenge, I.e. Extremely noisy. We sat upstairs which had to be better in terms of sound but this is clearly not a restaurant door the hearing impaired. It's young and vibrant and we didn't match those demographics. The food was very good if somewhat confusingly listed on the menu. The plates are basically small plate unless you do a seafood tower with the million options for that. My biggest gripe is...not even a roll or a piece of bread. That's just odd. Apparently, you have to buy a roll. At those prices, bread should have been in the deal. Still love FIG the best but might give this another try.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    93
    44
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

On a friend's recommendation, we decided to eat at The Ordinary Oyster Bar. We were walk-ins with no reservations. We requested for seats at the bar. It gives you a chance to chat with the bartenders, check out the tables and views. For us, a more casual environment.

The Ordinary is in a formerly, renovated bank. Spacious, vault ceilings and beautifully decorated. Highly recommend this place for wonderful oysters and delicious plates. Bartenders were extremely nice, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about the food. If you are not sure what to order, definitely ask them for recommendations!

Oysters were in season. We devoured East Coast oysters (so good, we placed a second order!) and smoked Oysters served with saltines and hot sauce … excellent all around.

For the main course, we shared Baked Oysters with Bottarga Butter, sliced heirloom tomatoes, and the Beeliner Snapper with romesco and brussels sprouts. Yummy, savory dishes.

For dessert, we ordered the Carolina rice pudding with peaches -- our hands down fave for the evening. Classic goodness! Creamy, rich and luscious.

We also had the Chocolate Pave with Coffee Cream. Bittersweet chocolate flour-less cake, mousse like center served with pistachios and coffee cream sauce and mint leaves.

One of the best meals we had on this trip! A must-stop destination!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Ordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

First time visitors to Charleston, looked for good seafood restaurant, read short write-up in Conde Naste Traveler and made reservation on 12/29/2013. The restaurant is beautiful, high ceilings, tiled and different levels, etc. You immediately knew this was a serious seafood restaurant.
We had their salad, clam chowder, oyster slider, the seafood tower, crab cocktail and desserts. The oysters and clams were moist, ocean salty and absolutely fresh. The shrimp was perfectly cooked. Everything we had was excellent.
Our server, Danielle, knew the menu and was an integral part of our wonderful dining experience.

Thank You.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not so Ordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Ordinary is not really ordinary. The redone bank lobby and balcony is gorgeous. The menu lends itself to small plates. Unless you order "towers" that are combinations of raw and cooked shellfish, there are only three entree choices. And your only choice is seafood, finfish at that. But, if you like seafood, you're in the right place. The pumkin soup with scallops was the surprise hit of the evening -- sooo good. The bay scallops in blood orange were delicious, if a small portion. Wine selctions by the glass were good, and somewhat pricey, but a decent pour. While many restaurants cater to you, the Ordinary has chosen to do it THEIR WAY. Fortunately, their way is quite intriguing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cocktails and Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had a great last meal/snack and cocktail here before leaving to catch out train. The Ordinary was steps from our hotel and we really wanted to try this place. You need reservations for this place for sure or need to show up when they open for a seat at the bar.

Service and ambiance is great. Will was awesome behind the bar and we were bummed we didn't get to see him when he came to Savannah. He makes a delicious Hemingway.

Lobster roll was out of control delicious. Worth the price. Oysters were fresh and delicious and it was great to be able to try several side by side and experience the different flavors.

Great condiments with the oysters and really appreciated the offer of saltines.

Just go here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ordinary also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ordinary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ordinary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.