We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from ordinary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ordinary

The Ordinary
544 King Street, Charleston, SC
843-414-7060
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ordinary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Far from ordinary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A little out of the way from where we were staying so we did need to drive but it was worth it. In an old bank, it is so different, really charming and atmospheric. We sat upstairs which was a bit out of the fray and a little quiter. Note that this place when full is REALLY loud. Service was absolutely outstanding. Menu is small but we loved everything we had. BBQ shrimp were excellent. King salmon (while not local, I can't get it at home!) was superb. Oyster sliders a delight. A shared dessert was so good, we had to order another one! It's nice to go somewhere that is refreshingly different for a change. Highligh recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    74
    36
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Ordinary is certainly not ordinary. It is a bit pricey but, the food is very good. If you like oysters and seafood, this is a place for you. The waitress was very helpful and informative. She helped choose wine that would go along with what was ordered. We had reservations and the people were helpful and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a great Charleston find. Seafood prepared a multitude of ways and all are excellent. A party of four and all got starters and entrees and shared. All were fabulous. Service was very good and there is a great bar scene as well. Cannot wait to go back. Can be very noisy so would not recommend for a quiet dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was really looking forward to dinner here. Sat at the raw bar since I didn't have reservations but that was fine. Menu was very eclectic . The oysters were good but expensive - $3 apeice. Didn't really care for the condiments - they came with 3 different flavors ( I prefer strightup ketchup and horseradish with lemon) that frankly didn't do anything for the oysters. Had the fried oysters and beef tartare - strange combination but since I love both why not. Oysters were too heavily breaded with corn meal and the beef tartare was too heavily seasoned and very salty. Strange dish. The smoked mackrel salad was delicious but the smoked mackrel was salty as you would expect and that with the too salty beef tartare was really overwhelmnig. The patron sitting next to me had the trigger fish which looked delicious and he cleaned his plate. In hindsight I wish I had stuck to the raw bar menu and ordered the tower single platter with oysters, clams, peel and eat shrimp and a crab Louie (whatever that is) But not for $65. This isn't NYC.

The beers are all craft beers which I don't care for and wines were expensive by the glass - like $12-14 (this isn't NYC after all)
Others have commented about the noise which I did't find bothersome where I was sitting. The waitress was very knowledgeable and very pleasant. And they had complimenary valet parking in the lot next door - appreciated in Charleston where parking is at a premium
Don't let the neighborhood put you off - this end of King Street is being redevloped and it will not look like it does today in 6 monhts. It's very exciting to see.

All of that said, don't know that I will go back. It was expensive and not sure I want to take another chance spending that much money when there are SO MANY other great restaurants in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hands-down an incredible experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A previous reviewer commented on the price and the lack of choices. Let me address this first - if you're looking for a cheap meal with a phone book menu, go to the Market area. This place ain't for you. If you're willing to pay for quality, and willing to be led by your server toward their recommendations, you're in for a treat. My wife and I let our server select from their handful of specialty cocktails, and had the razor claims and braised uni. Both were fantastic. Then, for our main courses, the sugar toad and swordfish couldn't be beat. The Ordinary does everything perfectly, from food to drinks to decor. Sure, it's trendy, and it's popular, so it's noisy. Don't let that make you miss this experience, which is one of the best meals in Charleston right now.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ordinary also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ordinary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ordinary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.