We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a taste bud work out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xiao Bao Biscuit

Xiao Bao Biscuit
Cor. Of Rutledge and Spring, Charleston, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ocean, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a taste bud work out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

4th time here and all I will say is your taste buds will have a workout. This is what I love about the restaurant business. A chef who is not afraid of trying different combinations. Go there with as many people as you can round up and order as many items as you want . After you are done and sitting back I feel strongly you will have many more hits then misses. The vive and service have always been good on our visits. Try it and let this board know of your results

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing, food ok but overall not up to Charleston standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were excited to try Xiao Bao, couldn't get in last time we tried. It was busy but not slammed, we were 4th on the list (no reservations taken) and waited 10 minutes at the bar. Started out positively with good interaction from bar tender. Cocktail however must have only had the bottle waived over it-did not taste nor seem to have any alcohol in it. When seated, took a while for someone to notice us. It was busy-seemed understaffed for the number of tables. Waitress took our order, very hurried attitude, no real info about the menu, no "have you dined here before" etc. They were out of 1 of the specials, which was surprising as we were there around 6:30pm. They were also out of one offering for the okonomiyaki...the menu is SMALL, both in size and number of items on offer, so to be out of stuff so early in the evening...well. We were delivered a bottle of water but no glasses to drink it with. We never saw the waitress again (other than buzzing around all over the restaurant, but not back to check on us), the food was slapped down by a couple of other people and she made it back in time to bring the bill. The food itself was ok to good: Mussels-not remarkable; lamb and asparagus-good but I'd estimate less than two ounces of lamb in the dish; okonomiyaki-probably the best item we had; bean salad (new item recommended by the bartender) was interesting-sauce/flavor was good but the beans/dish would have been much more enjoyable had they been julienned rather than served whole. All in all, doesn't live up to the hype. A small menu is one thing but running out of things early in the evening isn't professional. Service needs significant improvement/increase in staffing and training. Too many other great place to go in Charleston to accept this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spicy and refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great vibe and fun for a group. I liked the cabbage pancake with an egg. Our waitress was full of good suggestions and the fish curry was awesome. Chang and beer lao helps with all the spice! Spicy!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the saltiest meals I have ever eaten”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I was excited to try XBB after reading positive reviews and postings on Eater, etc. I love Vietnemese. food, so, the anticipation was even greater.

After ordering four apps as our meal, we were immediately hit with a heavy handed dose of salt after our second bit of Brussels sprouts. They were very tasty and possibly the best I have eaten other than too much salt. All other dishes, including the duck salad, were loaded with salt. The duck was so salty that we could not, and did not, want to finish it.


The larb style ground lamb and asparagus was good in both taste and simplicity, but again, it was VERY salty. Vegetables, particularly when combined with oil, soak up salt, and the duck salad and asparagus just exuded salt with every bite.

We just finished a 6 day trip to NOLA, eating fine dining every night, and we only had one meal that was overly salty, and even it was not the level of salt encountered here.

The waitress responded to our salt "complaint" with "Asian food is inherently salty." I agree, but this was ridiculous.

I would not return if this is the norm as the food could have contained half the salt and still been great. Food does not have to be heavily salted to taste great.

Service was excellent and attentive, particularly considering we arrived 15 minutes before the kitchen closed. Food came out lighting fast as well.

I would like to call the manager to express my salt concerns, but there is no phone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Reutilization of a Gas Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a fun place and interesting setting. The service was friendly and the waitperson knowledgeable about the menu. We had no trouble parking unlike some previous reviewers. Having a limited menu is a good idea allowing the chef to focus on doing a few things well. We enjoyed 2 specials, both unusual combinations of ingredients: the brussel sprouts and eggplant, and the lamb with asparagus. Our third dish, the Thai duck salad was spoiled by being too heavy on the chili, which overwhelmed the taste of the other ingredients.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xiao Bao Biscuit also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Xiao Bao Biscuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xiao Bao Biscuit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.