We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xiao Bao Biscuit

Xiao Bao Biscuit
Cor. Of Rutledge and Spring, Charleston, SC
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Chinese
Restaurant details
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I can't pronounce the menu items but I sure can eat and enjoy them. There are some inventive takes on classics that are wonderful. Don't miss the cabbage pancakes !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    32
    15
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best dishes I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Their eggplant/sweet corn is one of the best dishes I've ever eaten - smoky, sweet w/ corn, balanced and super satisfying. Funky atmosphere, cool waitstaff, delicious food - this is a "must-go" in Charleston - just check out their menu online.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not your typical Vietnamese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

...and definitely not what you would expect in a renovated gas station! The flavors are wonderfully complex and as everyone else has already said, don't miss the Okonomiyaki. We ordered it with 'pork candy'. Don't know what part of the pig it was, but it was good! The special was a grouper dish and all I can say is that we all had our forks in everyone else's dish and all that was heard was the murmur of satisfied eaters.
Read that others had service issues- we didn't.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell Ga
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“DON'T MISS THIS ONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

LOVE LOVE LOVED everything about it. Laid back atmosphere. In fact brightly colored picnic tables are on the outside. Inside is simple and has a loft feeling. Very urban. Food is THE BEST asian flair I have ever had. We ordered the Grouper Collar Fried Rice and then ordered two more for the table it was so good. The owner was gracious and came and told us his story and our waiter was very patient with six very rambunctious women. One thing we didn't like was the cocktail that had tequila and ginger in it. The ginger was sooooooooo strong none of us could drink it and we all love ginger. They made good for us after. Loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat if ever in Charleston again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and fun atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

How many times have you gone by an old deserted gas station and thought that it would be a perfect place for a business? Well this delightful spot on Rutledge and Spring proves that a restaurant is a natural choice. There rustic Americana and subtle Asian decorating touches here and there throughout the open space. The food is light, tasty and quick. We had lunch here and I ordered the signature Okonomikya Japanese cabbage pancake with an egg on top and a Ginger Beer (no alcohol and very refreshing). My husband had the duck breast fried rice special. Great tastes and friendly service make this a sure bet for a return visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xiao Bao Biscuit also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Xiao Bao Biscuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xiao Bao Biscuit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.