We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant in the heart of Charleston - Market Street.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill
14 N. Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
+1 843-737-8700
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Burwell's Stone Fire Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Bay Street
Transit: Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.
Description: The next generation of great steakhouses! Burwells Stone Fire Grill.An energetic, historic new spot at 14 N. Market Street, Burwell’s Stone Fire Grill has a charming bar, a first-rate craft cocktail program, and steaks & seafood cooked with old-school expertise over a 1400-degree wood fire. The kicker, their signature, custom made 700 degree searing stones perfect for their Prime Beef. These Hot Rocks sear appetizers and full entrees right at your table! “There is no other steak like it!” "Best new spot in Charleston"
Ellington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in the heart of Charleston - Market Street.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are a meat lover, this is the place to eat. Food was amazing; service was terrific. Restaurant has a wonderful ambiance and we saw lots of different "groups" dining at the restaurant (families with kids, couples, bachelor parties). To start, they bring you a tasting spoon of cornbread & bacon that is absolutely delicious. The appetizer menu includes a 700 degree hot stone selection - We did the rock candy option (deckle), and the meat was so tasty and flavorful. Worth the money, and the experience. We highly recommend the port wine gorgonzola sauce. We also enjoyed the ceasar salad (anchovies are the perfect saltiness). For entrees, we did the 16 oz bone in rib eye, which was just beautiful. Has a wonderful crust, and one of the best pieces of meat I've eaten anywhere. We picked the mac and cheese and brussel sprout sides. Too full for dessert. There is a parking lot right next door that is exclusive to the restaurant. It is $8, but if you bring the ticket inside, they give you $4 off the bill. We had a travelzoo promotion coupon, which was well worth the savings, and the opportunity to visit. We do not live in the area, but we will highly recommend the restaurant to family and friends who may be visiting! And we will definitley go back next time we're in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you... and keep in mind we go way beyond meat lovers. Our seafood selections are just as prime and never disappoint.

It's so fun how many people call Burwell's an "experience." That is very important and a reason for our being. We wanted to invite guests to play and participate.

That Bone-In you selected is rock solid for us. It always gets very high marks. We source the best of the best, age with strict standards, and the biggest secret is HEAT! Great steaks are due to the massive heat that can be generated in commercial kitchens. The hotter we can get, the quicker we can sear (or seal in the juicy flavor). Our wood fire is very hot. The famous rocks get pretty hot too, but we have to be careful since they smoke when we get them too hot. They are great for apps, but the dinners should be left to the Chef and his wood fire grill.

We are so pleased you chose to visit us, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    56
    25
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Create your most special evening at Burwell's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Dave and Michael along with the amazing chefs will surprise and delight your senses with tastes and textures. Using garden fresh ingredients like silver queen corn for the most amazing succotash with the bed of orzo, the grouper was the most delicious ever! Vegetarians and carnivores will dine without compromise! Thank you Burwell's -- we look forward to our next grand evening with keenest anticipation! Best wishes from Ed and Pat

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much! I will share this with our team. We have an exceptional culinary team and they will love the love. You know your ingredients, thus have also noticed the attention to detail here.

Ed and Pat, you are always welcome here and we look forward to "your next grand evening" as well. Thank you so much.

Ken and Team Burwell's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best fries in the entire world! Must have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I went there with my family and had the wood fired filet mignon and I was literally melt in your mouth! The fries were outstanding and the atmosphere was just amazing! I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you! We thank you for your trust in us and the great follow up. We do the best we can with every single guest, and love how often we win! Our winning means you have won. And we are here for our guests! We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eh.... Yeah, I guess!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity of a night to ourselves and drove into Charleston for a nice evening. We live somewhat close and have several favorite places depending on our "mood" for the night. The greatness of Charleston allows for so many outstanding choices. I walked past Burnwell's weeks ago, later reviewed their web site, then made a same day reservation through Open Table. I struggled with choosing one of Charleston faithful's for steaks.... Halls, Oak, Grill 225.... but wanted to give this a shot as we are always looking for new places to take our parents when they visit.

We sat at the totally empty bar at 5:30 on a Friday evening.... odd. It was a great Chas Happy Hour and bartender - just seemed odd that at 5:30 on a Friday it was empty. We ordered two appetizers - one was the Flight of Flavors (served on the sizzling stone) which was outstanding. We were seated at 6:10 pm. Our server, a young lady from Tennessee was very knowledgeable but a bit too robotic. She appeared to be reciting from a script with her closed her eyes tightly when she talked, making it fairly impersonal. Now... if this is a disorder or disability I completely apologize for my comment - but it did create an oddity. I noticed the other servers interacting a little more personally with their guests... Again, if this was her first week or a personal situation I completely understand.

My wife ordered the catch of the day and I chose the filet (wood fired). The food came out extremely fast.... too fast... almost like a fast food restaurant. Again, only a few people dining at 6:20, but we barely buttered the seemingly store bought rolls when our dinner plates arrived. The food was prepared well and it was good. This is where the Eh.... comes in. It was good and that's about it. I can eat at Noisy Oyster or 1000 other places in the Lowcountry and get good.... for the prices here one would expect great. The side of Mushrooms were small and had a bit of an overpowering vinegar taste - couldn't finish them. We were hurriedly offered desert but were a bit skeptical after dinner and we politely declined and paid & tipped 20%. I don't remember how long we actually sat for dinner (I'm guessing 40 minutes total) but it certainly didn't feel like a relaxing fine dining experience we were hoping for in Charleston. Normally we enjoy an after dinner drink and talk for a bit, which we did… at Kominski's up the street which was relaxing, fantastic and enjoyable.

I gave it three stars for the lame experience... robotic impersonal service, and a sense of being rushed when the place was less than half full and food that was just good - not great. Next time, we'll stick to the tried and true where you walk away satisfied for a stellar meal, environment & experience. Will be taking our parents elsewhere.... Sorry - really wanted to like this place more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks Dan,

We appreciate your dining here and being the only place ever reviewed by you. That shows great passion in and of itself. We take every comment very seriously.

I mailed and called directly, though we have not heard back. Feel free to call me anytime. We open for dinner at 5:30, thus there will not be many folks in at that time. We do have many regulars in for Happy Hour at 4-7 for Happy Hour, though many sit at our rooftop bar. As well, you came in using a special "off time" reservation benefit. That should further note that this will be a restaurants off hour, and the same one all the other restaurants you mentioned use. We ended up serving over 412 guests, and feel badly we let you down in that great night for us. This was our only marginal review that evening, and while a great ratio, we are always disappointed we missed one. We remain proud of our unbelievable first year, all the support, and look forward to your return.

I didn't want to discuss the server comments on a public forum, this is why we have made many attempts to reach you. I will say she has been with us since day one, and is an amazing young lady. She came from one of the other restaurants mentioned, has perfect reviews, and we can only apologize you did not feel her warmth and caring for the guest. She continues to be one of our most requested servers.

We apologize for the timing of the meal, as we are rarely ever too fast. You were guessing your total time at the table, and we are always eager to learn for improvement. You sat at 6:20, were served drinks by 6:25 when the the dinner order went in as well. Normally we have at least 2 courses here, sometimes 3. With no first course, dinner was served at 6:44. We shoot for a ninety minute turn (for two) on all 3 courses. You checked out at 7:33. Total time at the table was 1 hour and 13 minutes. That would be normal for one course, unless you had asked to slow it down. We understand perception is more important than the actual experience, and we let you down. Everyone's idea of dining is very different, and we missed here.

Please comment inside the restaurant as well. We would have, as would any great restaurant, purchased that dessert or after dinner drink. We are here for our guests, and likely would have made everything right then and there. Without knowing something was wrong, we can only learn too late.

As noted in the private calls and email, you are invited to call us anytime. We have tried to communicate, since every guests is important to us. The odds are heavily in our favor to surpass your expectations, we look forward to the opportunity.

Thank you sir,
Burwell's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early for our reservation but we were seated immediately. Our waitress was very friendly and on top of keeping our drinks replenished. The chef accommodated my husband's vegetarian requests preparing 2 items he ordered without meat! My son ordered a ribeye with parsnip mashed and said it was cooked perfectly. My daughter devoured her surf and turf with a smile. I ordered a ceaser salad and had the ahi tuna with green tea soba noodles on the starter menu for an entree with a side of Brussels sprouts. The presentation of the tuna and soba noodle dish was very unique and the tasted fantastic! Another highly recommended Charleston restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
You know your stuff, and likely why you are a senior reviewer. We appreciate when we meet the expectations of a savvy diner.

We appreciate the honest comments about the food, attention to detail, flavor combinations, and the presentation. Mostly though, we are glad it all tastes good! That is what it all comes down too.

Thank you for dining with us, and see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burwell's Stone Fire Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Burwell's Stone Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.