We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burwell's Stone Fire Grill

Burwell's Stone Fire Grill
14 N. Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-737-8700
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Burwell's Stone Fire Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $19 - $42
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: East Bay Street
Transit: Free Charleston Trolley stops next door at the Art Institute. Charleston Marriott also stops at the Art Institute.
Description: The next generation of great steakhouses! Burwells Stone Fire Grill.An energetic, historic new spot at 14 N. Market Street, Burwell’s Stone Fire Grill has a charming bar, a first-rate craft cocktail program, and steaks & seafood cooked with old-school expertise over a 1400-degree wood fire. The kicker, their signature, custom made 700 degree searing stones perfect for their Prime Beef. These Hot Rocks sear appetizers and full entrees right at your table! “There is no other steak like it!” "Best new spot in Charleston"
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very creative chefs providing you a memorable meal focusing on local in-season ingredients. The restaurant has a different, but very pleasant vibe that enhanced the experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Love when people say experience! That is what we strive for. Burwell's is so unique in that we make everything from scratch, often inviting the guest into that process from no drink menu to the Hot Rock's and Amuse. We invite the guest to play, learn, and live in the experience of Charleston.

Thank you for your kind words and thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    146
    43
    20
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Farm to table, service & location amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Wow! This place is a real gem. Creative cocktails and menu. Service was outstanding too! New to Charleston and on a side street, but centrally located.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, as that means a great deal to our hard working team. More importantly, it means you (our guest) had a great time and took time to share that. Thank you. Please say hello upon your return... we look ofrward to meeting.

Burwell's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“BEST FOOD EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The best food, great service, and wonderful decor. This is my new absolute favorite restaurant. I love this place can't wait to come back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you so much, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best steak in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Best service
Best drink
Best steak
Best meal
Coming from NYC to charleston I've had my share if great food and do consider my bf and I foodies . This place was outrageous
My boyfriends waygu hanger steak was more tender than any filet mignon I've ever had. I had the the wagyu sirloin and cooked it on hot lavar rock at the table! The rutabega mashed potatoes were awar as was the smores dessert and my ginger mojito . Besides a fun experience it was delicious. Highly reccomended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Nicole,

Thank you for the "GREAT TITLE" and kind words. Yes, Wagyu is the premier beef in the US. We are just honored to have prepared it perfectly for you and made a great evening for you and your boyfriend. We can't wait to see you back even though NJ is a long ways away. Next visit, we hope you chose Burwell's again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently celebrated our anniversary at Burwell's and it was wonderful. I made the reservation online and let them know it was anniversary. Everyone was great. We were seated at the private table for 2 and given champagne. Our waiters were very knowledgable and made excellent recommendations. In addition, they were attentive but not obtrusive like so many other places. Our dinner included Seared Tuna, Pulled Pork Hush Puppies appetizers and Stoned Seared Rib Eye with the Duo of Brussels Sprouts for dinner. We love to split everything so we can enjoy a variety of food. It was excellent and plenty for the 2 of us (fortunately or unfortunately we didn't have room for dessert). Can't wait to return!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChsMarket, Owner at Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Well, Happy Anniversary! We are so pleased that you chose us to spend it with. We are also excited that you had so much fun. Our team appreciates your comment to all their hard work and dedication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burwell's Stone Fire Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Burwell's Stone Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burwell's Stone Fire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.