We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meeting Room Restaurant and Tapas Bar

The Meeting Room Restaurant and Tapas Bar
425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
843-718-2327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Brevard, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I were staying at the hotel and wanted to have a lazy morning so we didn't want to leave for breakfast. There was a breakfast special posted for the Meeting Room so we decided we'd go there. We both ordered the special which included coffee or tea and 2 eggs any style, a hashbrown (surprised me because the restaurant looks very high-end but it looked like one you get from McDonalds but was sooo much better and sure not as nasty greasy!), a bread (biscuit, english muffin, toast, etc.), and either bacon or sausage. We usually order scrambled eggs because we hardly get an egg cooked correctly but we both went out on a limb and ordered over medium. To our surprise it was perfect! We were satisfied and had such a good experience that we decided to come back the next day for the same meal. Both days were great and consistent. We were pleased by the entire waitstaff from the hostess to the waiters from both days to the Manager. A++++

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EAT HERE !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything we ordered was excellent !!! We started with pimento cheese and toasted bread slices .The Meeting Room's take on "cheese and crackers". YUM!!! For dinner my husband and sons (10 & 13) ordered the chargrilled chicken sandwich with hand cut fries. They were served quickly and came to the table piping hot. DELICIOUS !!! I had the hummus served with thin flat bread and a mixed green salad. SO GOOD !!!! The housemade peach/ginger ice cream and key lime pie were refreshing and GREAT!!!! Our server was great too! EAT HERE !!!! There's something for everyone.You won't be disappointed .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Food was very good and well prepared. Was impressed with quality for a hotel restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Food was very good and well prepared. Was impressed with the quality of food for a hotel restaurant. Service was very attentive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful and Delicious Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After a day of traveling, we arrived at the Holiday Inn in Charleston. At first we were a bit skeptical of the location. We were pleasantly surprised to find a brand new, built from the ground up Holiday Inn. Tired from traveling, we decided to just eat dinner at The Meeting Room Restaurant and Tapas Bar located inside the Holiday Inn at 425 Meeting Street. Frankly, we were not expecting much. Man were we ever wrong! I am not kidding - the service was superb, restaurant is classy and it was one of the best food experiences we have had on this trip. We enjoyed a fresh gem lettuce salad with the best blue cheese croutons we have ever had. We also tried the clam chowder with bacon relish and chives and absolutely loved the creamy texture and flavor of the bacon relish with the fresh diced potatoes and clams. We couldn't stop there. We tried the fried oysters with a fabulous sriracha aioli sauce. The finale was fresh made fettucine, with house bacon, black pepper cream, and a sunny side up farmers egg. Don't let the "tapas bar" fool you into thinking you might leave hungry. Not a chance!! Next time we must save room for one of their desserts. Hats off to the Chef, Servers and Management of this restaurant. We loved the entire dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meeting Room Restaurant and Tapas Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Meeting Room Restaurant and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meeting Room Restaurant and Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.