We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zero George Street to your Saves list
Zero George Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I traveled with my fiancé for a long weekend. The room was very well done. The bed was extremely comfortable. She kept taking pictures of the bathroom bc she loved the design. The wine and cheese in the evening was a nice touch. The staff after arriving was great. Only one small complaint, i called numerous times to get restaurant recommendations and was told that they would email them to me. After the 3rd call, I finally got a list of 4 spots with no description. Outside of that, zero George was wonderful and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    25
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
169
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This is an absolute gem! I highly recommend it.....a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants on Kings Street. I will stay here, again! Great for one person or a couple....extremely comfortable and quiet!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

There is nothing like arriving at a hotel and having it exceed all of your expectations. Zero George exceeded all of ours! My girlfriend and I stayed over at Zero George on our way through Charleston this summer and our stay at Zero George was nearly the highlight of our trip. The staff are excellent, the rooms are excellent, the accommodations are excellent. Zero George has it ALL covered, down to the most minute detail. Awesome wine, coffee, breakfast, rooms, staff, etc, etc..

We loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Honestly, there's not much more I can add to the list of other 5-star reviews. We traveled with another couple and spent 3 nights at the property. The grounds are gorgeous and the guest rooms are very clean, stylish and functional. I loved the stocked mini fridge in the room and the water pressure in the shower was fantastic.

We were there celebrating my 50th birthday and my friends arranged a cake delivered to our room upon check in. This was no ordinary grocery store cake, either! It was made on site and absolutely delicious!

The staff was super-friendly, especially Kathryn, who helped us with restaurant recommendations and arranged a walking tour. (See my review of Oyster Point Tours!).

We're planning our return trip as soon as Kathryn organizes her coffee tour of Charleston.

Room Tip: We had rooms in the back building and they were quiet. Our friends' room on the corner was a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice big rooms, comfy beds w/ nice linens...A/C rocks after day of walking the market & historical
areas. Nice sized bath w/ all amenties & great big walkin shower! Awesome breakfast & HH! Great way to spoil yourself here in Charleston...wife was happy w/ my selection of Zero George.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Zero George Street is CHARING! Such pride was taken when restored and decorated with first class accessories combining old with new. I cannot say enough praise for the staff. They will take your luggage up the stairs and see to any of your needs. The linens, beds, and towels are very soft and comfortable. The bathroom well laid out and spacious. There is so much to explore - the sitting areas on the second floor, and the gardens. Just ask, and the staff is right on it with such passion to please you. I highly recommend this beautiful part of Charleston's charm.

Room Tip: There are no elevators and lots of stairs to climb - to be expected for a 200 year old Inn. If this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Zero George oozes it's own unique blend of elegance and friendly southern hospitality. Every detail has been thought out to make one feel spoiled and relaxed. Close to everything yet is tucked away and quiet.The buildings have been restored beautifully, displaying a melange of textures and colors from the variety of old stone and brick in the courtyard. Rooms are homey and spa like with soft colors and lighting, cotton bathrobes await exit from the shower room. The staff is friendly, helpful and relaxed, Appetizers and a glass of wine are offers before dinner, and a lovely breakfast and coffee in the morning. I will definitely stay at Zero George my next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Address: 0 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zero George Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.