We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zero George Street to your Saves list
Zero George Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spring visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and son and I recently stayed at Zero George and highly recommend it. The hotel itself is absolutely charming but the hospitality of the staff sets this apart from others.
We got a great deal of help even before our arrival with restaurant recommendations and reservations. Through the staff (in particular Justin and Jeff) we were able to get into every restaurant that we wanted and therefore got a great feel for the wonderful food scene there in Charleston.
The team also arranged a delightful three hour walking tour w Mrs Dulles who gave us nice insights into the architecture, history and culture of the old neighborhoods of the City. Well worth the effort.
We look forward to our next visit.
Lee Meier

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    25
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
164
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I are boutique hotel snobs. On a whim, we decided to stay one night in Charleston and I stumbled across the Zero George because other places I knew of were already booked. I am SO glad that happened because the Zero George has become one of our favorite hotels (and by far our most favorite in Charleston). It's really hard to find coastal, boutique hotels and the Zero George has nailed it. Incredibly charming, cozy, luxurious, and impressive attention to detail. Even though it's on the northern fringe of all the downtown attractions, everything is easily within walking distance. We can't wait to come back and try out one of the guest suites, which are being completed in just a few weeks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We loved this sweet gem in beautiful historic Charleston. The location is perfect-in a gorgeous neighborhood, but only a short walk to the wonderful shopping on King Street. The rooms are amazing-each one uniquely decorated. The common areas are stunning-no wonder Zero George was recommended in Architectural Digest! You definitely feel like you are staying in one of the grand homes in this area. The staff is most helpful and attentive. One of the nicest surprises was the complimentary afternoon wine and cheese spread as well as the lovely complimentary breakfast bar.
I can't wait to tell everyone I know about this precious low country star!

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the third floor. For those not wanting to walk up the stairs, you may want to requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this absolutely lovely small hotel. I am still in awe of how tastefully the buildings and rooms were restored (so rare); loved the courtyard too. The bathroom was a dream; the furnishings and décor were perfect. SO WELL DONE Zero George!!! Gorgeous (and well located too.) The staff was very attentive and friendly as well. Just great!!!!

Room Tip: Loved my veranda room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This new boutique hotel is stunning. Set in the charming city of Charleston, it currently has 14 rooms available and my 'party' and I were staying in three of them. All of the rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious. The owner is a former Vice President of Oriental Express, and it shows: tasteful and elegant decor throughout with everything really well thought out.

The service was also first rate: really welcoming and helpful staff who had very good local knowledge and would go out of their way to ensure that one had a good stay in this beautiful place.

The breakfast (included in the price) was excellent as were the complimentary pre-dinner wine and cheese. The hotel doesn't currently offer lunch or dinner but there are plenty of good places nearby.

There were many lovely touches at Zero George which made for an extremely pleasant stay which I couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed at Zero George during the Family Circle Cup tennis tournament in Charleston in early April and we both loved the hotel. It is a converted residence just off East Bay Street within easy walking distance of a lot of good restaurants. The staff was terrific with recommendations (we tried Cru a few blocks away and MacKintosh on King Street). Zero George just opened and its kitchen is not yet fully in operation. The rooms are all individually designed and furnished, and the hotel has the feel of an 18th century mansion turned into a boutique guest house. There are courtyards and gardens between the buildings, and balconies off all the rooms. The gardens are beautifully planted. If you want to stay in a big hotel with a fitness center, swimming pool, and two double beds in a room, this place is not for you. If you appreciate good taste and service, I recommend it highly. My daughter is tough to please and she could not believe how nice her room was.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We came to Charleston for a weekend get away and arrived to a forecast of rain, rain and more Rain! Despite the weather I had a wonderful weekend in large part to Zero George and their wonderful staff. The staff was prepared for the rain dropping umbrellas at our door in the morning, and providing us with helpful suggestions on indoor activities. We had a great time at the Alley!

We look forward to staying again and hope for a little better weather

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Address: 0 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zero George Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.