We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot to Rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zero George Street

Save Saved
You added Zero George Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zero George Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot to Rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Zero George is the sort of place that looks like it happened over time and by accident. Indeed I am confident neither is true as it has just been completely renovated, and while comfortable and elegant beyond all expectations, the careful approach with which the renovation was undertaken leaves you thinking about the history of this amazing town not jarred by any of the usual corners cut in modern restoration, which is not easy to accomplish and certainly is not an accident. The staff is lovely, the proprietors helpful but not hovering, and the ambiance truly special. Were it not for the amazing sights and food that Charleston has to offer, most guests, including this one, would be hard pressed to find reason to leave the property.

Room Tip: those rooms inside and to the rear of the property are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeroGeorge, Owner at Zero George Street, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed the uniqueness of Zero George and had a restful stay. We look forward to having you stay with us in Charleston again.

Sincerely, Lynn & Dean Andrews, Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    22
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
148
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Beautiful and elegant boutique hotel located in central Charleston within walking distance of great sites and fabulous restaurants. Hosts are welcoming and knowledgeable and setting manages to be both chic and comfortable. Tastefully decorated with beautiful touches everywhere--lovely patio with beautiful planting, a mix of antiques, and one of the sweetest breakfast rooms anywhere.

Room Tip: Upstairs is best. Downstairs rooms can be dar,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeroGeorge, Owner at Zero George Street, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We appreciate your glowing review of Zero George on your recent business trip. We will be sure to pass along your thoughtful notes to the staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. Thanks as well for your comments on our decor - we gave a lot of thought to the design! We hope to see you back in Charleston soon.

Sincerely, Lynn & Dean Andrews, Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights at this new hotel in Charlottesville: staff were friendly, breakfast was complete with great espresso in a sunny room, and the room was a good size. Very comfortable and within walking distance of the town center. Decor is sophisticated and unfussy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeroGeorge, Owner at Zero George Street, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are so pleased to read about your wonderful experience at Zero George. We are glad you were able to enjoy breakfast in our café. We will be sure to have an espresso waiting for your next visit to Zero George.

Sincerely, Lynn & Dean Andrews, Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spect two days and nights at Zero George. From moment of arrival the remarkable attention to detail makes it clear this is a very special place. Few hotels get the balance just right but this hotel does - fresh, modern, relaxed but elegant and perfectly attuned to a guests comfort and enjoyment. Housed in a series of historic structures the hotel feels intimate and welcoming. Hospitality and service was superb. And most importantly, we felt privileged to "discover" this place as early guests in its tenure. I travel frequently for work and pleasure. This is that special place I have been waiting for. I look forward to planning a trip back here and ideally soon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeroGeorge, Owner at Zero George Street, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your superb review and for being one of our first guests. The team at Zero George strives to deliver exceptional service to every guest. We look forward to hosting you again soon in Charleston.

Sincerely, Lynn & Dean Andrews, Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was delighted to discover a new favorite hotel in one of my favorite American cities. I was fortunate enough to be one of the first guests at Zero George, a recently opened fabulous boutique hotel in Charleston SC. Everything about Zero is refreshing, from the sophisticated residential interiors to the the warm, charming spot on service. The Zero George experience honors the tradition of Charleston while reflecting the best of its future. I can't wait to return once the chic bar and tapas menu are in place in April.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeroGeorge, Owner at Zero George Street, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are so very pleased that you consider Zero George as one your new favorite hotels. Thank you for being one of our first guests to stay with us, we are glad we could provide an exceptional experience for you. We appreciate your glowing review and hope to host you again soon in Charleston. April is gorgeous here!

Sincerely, Lynn & Dean Andrews, Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Zero George for a family reunion, and were happy to find that it's located within easy walking distance of all the action, yet removed enough to provide a restive home-away-from-home. The hotel is fresh and beautiful. Service is attentive and eager. The food and wine are delicious. And the staff couldn't be friendlier. The proprietors are very knowledgeable about the Charleston dining scene and had GREAT recommendations for both dinner and Sunday brunch.

Room Tip: The Veranda rooms are the very best choice for quiet seclusion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeroGeorge, Owner at Zero George Street, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Zero George is pleased to have hosted you for your family reunion. Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted we were able to provide a home away from home for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again at Zero George.

Sincerely, Lynn & Dean Andrews, Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We can't say enough good things about this new boutique hotel. My husband and I stayed for 4 nights recently and are already planning a return trip. Our room was lovely...comfy king bed, pretty marble bathroom, large windows and high ceilings, and all the little amenities you expect in a top hotel. The colors are cool and soothing, the decor sophisticated while still being inviting and relaxed. Several beautifully restored small buildings surround a pretty courtyard where we ate breakfast. Piazzas and chaise lounges give the feel of Old Charleston without the stuffy colonial decor. The staff was friendly, professional and helpful. It was an easy, short walk to all the shops and restaurants. We are looking forward to going back! Peggy , Lynchburg, VA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeroGeorge, Owner at Zero George Street, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
It was lovely to have you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Address: 0 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GCommerce Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zero George Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.