We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All five of us loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Low Country Bistro

Low Country Bistro
49 South Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401
843-302-0290
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Low Country Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Church Street and South Market
Description: SIMPLY LOWCOUNTRY: Lowcountry Bistro focuses only on the freshest ingredients since all of the food we cook is from scratch. On the menu you will find cult favorites like Chicken and Waffles to Lowcountry classics like Shrimp and Grits. We also believe that great food can be affordable. Many of our lunch dishes are under $10. Our goal as a restaurant is to serve high quality, delicious food, at a fair price. We hope you agree after your meal at Lowcountry Bistro. SISTER RESTAURANT TO 82 QUEEN As an icon of the city for over 30 years, we have seen restaurants come and go. We pride ourselves on the fact that we were one of the first original Lowcountry cuisine restaurants to open their doors in the city. We know Lowcountry and after diligently researching Market Street restaurants, have come to the conclusion that what the area needs is a true, authentic Lowcountry restaurant.
maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“All five of us loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our group of five ranged in age from 89 to 18 and we all loved it. They initially wanted to seat us downstairs but I didn't care for the two small tables they were going to marry to accommodate us so they ended up seating us upstairs. The upstairs dining room was much better than downstairs in my opinion. The five of us all had a different entree and they all looked and tasted great. Eric was our server and he explained their menu extremely well and helped us mix and match sides based upon dietary restrictions. We will return to this restaurant the next time we return to Charleston.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for dining with us at Lowcountry Bistro. We are so happy that you all enjoyed your most recent experience with us. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    205
    59
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moosic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to Get Excited About”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Tried this restuurant on a Tuesday evening in January. We were the only people in the downstairs area. Think there might have been one or two people upsairs. Food was okay, nothing to get excited about. Portions could have been a little bigger for the price. My husband came out hungry. Our waiter was extremely knowledgable and courteous. Would probably not go here again,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your recent experience at Lowcountry Bistro. We are very pleased that your service was fantastic but sorry that the overall experience was not up to par with our standards or yours. We appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again at Lowcountry Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

With so many fantastic dining choices in Charleston, we were disappointed by this place. While wandering through the Market area, we made an impulsive decision to have a bite here. We got a lovely table on the outdoor balcony, a bit chilly in the winter but very romantic. However, the food was subpar. The fried chicken was sort of try, and pairing with waffle was unnecessary. The parmesan okra was boring given there are so many delicious ways to prepare okra. The fried green tomatoes had no taste. Finally, we had to send back the falling bellini ($9) since it was flat, and the remake was equally flat. Even after we complained the second time, we were still charged. I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at Lowcountry Bistro. We are so sorry that your recent experience was not up to your standards or ours. We will be sure to take your feedback and address with our staff. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh. Local. Friendly. Fun. Reasonably Priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food! Went during restaurant week and made a reservation online just a day in advance. An extremely varied menu was offered for restaurant week AND it was one of the few locations that included a wine/beer with the price. $30 for an appetizer, entree, and dessert. We had a great time!! Cassandra the bartender even made me her award winning drink..."The Cassandra". Muddled mint. Ginger Beer. Watermelon simple syrup and bourbon. It was a refreshing drink and a perfect night-capper.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Lowcountry Bistro during Restaurant Week. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great lunch with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Have only been here once but we enjoyed our lunch. We wanted to have some local beers and genuine low country food. We had really great service. I loved the lobster hush puppies and the frog more stew (both were first for me). It looked like it would be a fun and lively dinner place. We went early for lunch and so it was very quiet. Would definitely go again on our next trip.


Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for dining with us at Lowcountry Bistro. We are so happy that you were pleased with our service. It is something that we definitely take pride in. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Low Country Bistro also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Low Country Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Low Country Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.