We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Little House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pink House Gallery

Pink House Gallery
17 Chalmers Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
843-723-3608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Art Galleries, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating Little House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stopped in Good Friday and was greeted by a lovely artist Alice. She was very informative on the history of this house/ tavern/ brothel and told us to explore all 3 floors. She is passionate about this gallery and house. There is a ghost, but we didn't feel the presence. I was impressed with the art- beautiful street scenes, tiles and garden paintings, I bought a tile. Yes, the house is being sold and the gallery has to move out in a few weeks, such a shame- it really added a nice personal touch to our visit to Charleston.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice pieces but ...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I liked what was displayed there and the house itself is really cute and has its own story to tell. The lady who runs the place told me, she had to close down after 20 years since the house was sold to a private investor. that is sad indeed.
but even sadder that she - for whatever reason - felt she needed to blame Obama for everything, his lack of morals and that he was not christian. And I should really start watching fox news to learn the truth (everything in front of my children who told her I would not allow them to watch that channel lol). Very unprofessional, very rude and unfortunately she gave her speech to the wrong person. I actually considered buying something there, but could not leave that place fast enough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallassee, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice gallery, great people and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I'm not sure what it is but we fell in love with this place.
The ladies in the gallery were so nice and very helpful. There were so many great pieces it was hard to decide but we finally settled on a fantastic watercolor. We should have also bought something that was Charleston scenery too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“THE PINK HOUSE, CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visitors to Charleston should not miss this gem in Chalmers Street in the old part of Charleston and opposite the equally unmissable Slave Mart Museum. Reputed to be the oldest house in Charleston it was originally a tavern. It is now an Art Shop and one of the artists, Alice Stewart Grimsley, was in attendance when, by chance, we visited the place. She is a charming Charlestonian lady. She told us the history of the place and made us feel very welcome. A major memory of unnforgettable city.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Intriguing History Plus Affordable Art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

THE PINK HOUSE is the very distillation of old Charleston history! Along with the Old Powder Magazine, it's the oldest of Charleston structures still surviving after several fires, Civil War bombardment, the massive 1886 earthquake, and Hurricane Hugo in 1989! WOW - built to last since 1690 - that alone deserves huge appreciation! It is now a most charming art gallery, and the prices on the artworks will make it very easy for you to bring a meaningful Charleston remembrance home, so that you will always remember this brave, plucky, proud, and gracious historic city!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pink House Gallery also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pink House Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink House Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.