We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Save Saved
You added Inn at Middleton Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Banner Elk, North Carolina
1 review
“Great venue and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The rooms at the Inn are very comfortable and unique. Supper at the restaurant was delicious and the service excellent. The real surprise was access to the Middleton Place plantation. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and the walk through was relaxing and very interesting. We will definitely return for an extended visit!

Room Tip: We liked the room with the woods view and did not see benefit in paying more for the river view. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    124
    54
    33
    14
See reviews for
67
362
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inn at Middleton Place and found a real gem. We had visited the plantation several years ago, and thought we would treat ourselves to special night at the Inn. We couldn't have been more pleased.
The room overlooked the Ashley River and we watched boats and birds using the river that afternoon. The room was large and included a large walk in shower/tub. The floors and paneling in the room was cypress and was very inviting.
The best part was the warm evening reception of shrimp and cheeses. Also included in this free experience, was several nice wines or beers to choose from. Our hostess was so gracious and accommodating. When we wished to sit a bit longer, she went out of her way to make us 'at home'. Highly recommend this spot for vacationers.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay the little extra for the river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We found this southern jewel while searching the internet for a pet-friendly hotel in the Charleston area. While my husband worked (poor thing) in a town nearby, my puppies and I were free to roam paths around the Inn property. When they napped in their crate in the guest room, I was able to enjoy some time pool-side overlooking the Ashley River. With our stay, we have been given free admission to America's oldest landscaped gardens at the Middleton Place National Historic Landmark adjacent to the Inn. The pups will have to sit that tour out. No pets allowed over there.
Beautiful, tranquil setting, comfortable room, friendly staff and fabulous (I mean fabulous) restaurant. Would love to visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for "a room with a view". It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Review in a nutshell:
Great stay. Minus one star for the 1+ hour when the power and water went out and it was never mentioned to us by the management - either before for a warning or an apology for the inconvenience afterward. Also I feel the interior was exceptional average. Everything else was lovely.

Long Version:
We decided to stay at the Inn for a 3 day trip to Charleston. It's a very pleasant location about 30-45 minutes from downtown Charleston (depending on traffic). The architecture of the place is very modern and minimal looking - but despite what you might think, it actually works quite well. The Inn is hidden amongst the trees so the modern building doesnt really disrupt what you expect a Southern plantation area to look like. And when you see the place it's actually quite refreshing.

In my opinion the the interior didn't really live up to my expectations. It was more than adequate for our stay but it was not all that inviting or comfortable. I guess I was assuming our room would be a relaxing oasis - but it was just average. Everything done in oak, which may have been cool back in the 80s. I paid a little more for a "river view". I mean, I guess technically we could see the river from our room, but "river view" seems a bit generous. Still, the grounds and views while walking around are beautiful.

The complimentary breakfast is great. Oatmeal, cereal, muffins, coffee, juice and more. With other options available for purchase. My wife ordered cheese grits every morning. I think that was about $3.

The best perk is the free access to Middleton Place - which is normally around $30/person. You can walk over to Middleton on a little path in about 8 minutes. If you stay here you should also plan on seeing Drayton Hall and/or Magnolia Gardens.

Room Tip: The extra money for a "river view" is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

What a beautiful place to stay. The gardens and wilder areas are amazing and a joy to walk around. Nature and history surrounds you.
The architecture was impressive and modern and the rooms are spacious and peaceful. Certainly a step up from the run of the mill hotels.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stopped by on our way to Myrtle Beach. It was a very peaceful nature filled visit: The views of the Ashley river were stunning! We enjoyed a wonderful nature walk around the beautiful grounds. The room was rustic and spacious. Bed was a little on the soft side, but the beauty made up for it. We will return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The drive to the Middleton Inn was very relaxing. You are greeted by beautiful draped moss 100 year old oak trees. The patted dirt roads lead you around this lovey property. These patted dirt roads lead you to horse pastures and sheep pastures which we enjoyed immensely. This is a place where everything slows down and is very relaxing. Check in was easy. Upon entering our room, we had chocolate strawberries and a cheese and fruit tray sitting on the welcoming table. The architecture was very thought out and amazing. Our children who are 12 and 13 were just loving every corner of the Inn and the room. The shutters open up to a lake view with a resting hammock right outside the windows. The room it's self was spacious and clean. The bed was a little hard for us but it's just our opinion. Every morning free breakfast is served with a relaxing walk to the Lake House. They served hot oat meal with any topping you could ever want (we put brown sugar and walnuts in ours), yogurt, fruit (honey dew melon, grapes, watermelon, cantaloupe & strawberries), cereal (corn flakes, cheerios, rice crispy, fruit loops), homemade muffins (banana nut, blueberry, plain, berry), skim milk, regular milk, coffee, hot tea, orange juice, cranberry juice, apple juice, ice water. If you wanted something more hardy for breakfast, you could order omelets, bacon, sausage, toast, eggs to order. Also, in the evening from 5-7pm was manager night were you can enjoy finger foods beer and wine. The pool is nice with a great lake view. The stairs to the pool need a little work and are some what dangerous. A handicap person would not be able to get to the pool without special arrangements. The price of your stay at the Inn comes with free access to the Middleton Plantation and gardens. Every morning we would get up early to take a nice walk on the patted dirt walkways. We could enter the plantation and gardens before paid visitors. This was nice because it felt like we had the gardens all to ourselves. While walking the patted dirt paths, we were met by all kinds of birds, baby alligators, squirrels, swans, haring, horses, sheep, goats. This is the best place for the money. Lets recap: for the price of your room you get- the room, free breakfast, free drinks, free finger foods, free admission to the plantation and gardens. I think this place is the best kept secret. Even my children did not want to leave. Will we come back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake side. Also, if you have difficulty walking stairs, ask for the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, The Inn at Middleton Place, Charleston SC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.