We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Save Saved
You added Inn at Middleton Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #21 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Stunning architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We staid for 3 nights at the Inn at Middleton Place. It is set in a wonderful landscape along the Ashley River. The architecture is quite stark and beautiful if you like that sort of thing. If you do not like concrete it can be grating. I loved it. The bedrooms were on the small side. We stayed in a twin room with small single, wobbly beds. Each room has a fireplace, wood being provided, only you will smell of wood fire for days. Could not see the point of the huge, uncomfortable bathtub. That is enough of the not so good bits. The good bits outweigh by far. The setting, try to get an upstairs bedroom, better view. The breakfast is very good, again in a stunning setting overlooking a pond. Every evening from 5 to 7 pm you can go to the "lodge" to have free drinks and snacks as many as you like. You can talk to fellow travellers. Included in the price is the entrance fee for Middleton Place.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    120
    52
    32
    14
See reviews for
63
348
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, NJ
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Loved our stay here. Middleton Place was a beautiful Southern Plantation with wonderful rooms along the Ashley River. The Staff is very friendly and I love touring the Plantation and grounds. Breakfast is so nice and the happy hour was enjoyable also. Was wonderful quiet place away from downtown Charleston but easy to get to. We were here over Easter and Loved the Easter Egg Hunt for our Grandsons!

Room Tip: We took a room on the ground floor because we brought our bikes.
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved that the Hotel recycles and the natural environment that prevents flooding.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a wonderful, tucked away, little romantic spot! We enjoyed the beautiful views of the Ashley river, and the gardens and tours on the actual plantation. All of the staff is very friendly and accommodating, and there is a lot to do! One of the staff, Nate, was super great. We met him at the managers reception the first night we were there, and he made us feel very welcome and at home, and told us where things were and the easiest way to get to and from. We loved our stay here, and didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: You have the choice to choose between and River view and Woods view room. We had the woods view, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We enjoyed great stay here. Grounds and amenities wonderful. No reAl television but we didn't care! The free visit to the plantation and gardens was both interesting and so worthwhile. Close enough to drive to downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I choose this Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews and I am so thankful I did. Middleton Place is without a doubt one of the top 10 places I have stayed. From start to finish, we had a most enjoyable time. The rooms are amazing with the wood floors and walls. Wood burning fireplace was a hit on the chilly evenings. Passed to tour the Middleton Place Plantation were a wonderful bonus as was the complementary breakfasts and evening wine and beer at the Lodge. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: We liked staying on the top floor with a filtered view of the Ashley River.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn is very environmentally oriented from the recycling they promote and the structures themselves. Very small carbon footprint.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I went in October for 3 days and this Inn is amazing!! Its about 15 minutes from Charleston and you literally step back in time. In your stay, admission to the Middleton Plantation is included. There is also a very good breakfast and a nightly reception of beer, wine, and wonderful cheeses that in also included. The rooms are very clean and neat with a "tree house " feel due to the floor to ceiling windows with views overlooking the Ashley River....The plantation gardens are beyond description and you literally spend a full day just walking through all of the gardens. You can arrange to take a horseback around the plantation with the stable, which was my favorite part of my stay. The staff was always asking if we were in need of anything and very helpful when needed. I approached a staff member, Nate, asking about a particular cheese that I had really enjoyed during the afternoon receptions. Nate said he would ask and find out where I could buy it. That afternoon during the reception the server gave me a bag that contained a nice take home sample of the cheese that I loved and all the info I needed to purchase it when I got back home. Thanks Middleton Inn, what a great stay and much needed get away from the noise of everyday life!!

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We used the Inn at Middleton Place as a central location for our Wedding guests to enjoy a local Charleston experience. We had a block of over 20 rooms including the large Ashley River Room as a hospitality suite. Additionally, we rented the Syrup Shed for our Rehearsal Dinner, rented the Lodge for our after party, and took wedding photos near the lobby. Overall, our guests fully enjoyed everything about the Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, The Inn at Middleton Place, Charleston SC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.