We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“38th Anniversary Get-away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Middleton Place to your Saves list
Inn at Middleton Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“38th Anniversary Get-away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We wanted a quiet, serene romantic get-away for our 38th anniversary! Wow did we get what we intended!! What a way to decompress, breathe deep, and prepare for a 28 person family reunion in the Outer Banks, NC! The staff went above and beyond to make a 2 night stay memorable. Beginning with the welcome bottle of wine & kind anniversary card in our room upon our arrival to the complementary hot cooked breakfast BOTH mornings when the chef Bart, heard that it was our anniversary, we were made to feel special and at home! Truly a retreat for relaxation, glass of wine after a bike ride in the afternoon, walk in the gardens before the nightly manager's reception in the lodge with free appetizers and wine and beer (some really great craft beers from local brewers!) and unbelievable huge shrimp with wonderful cheeses and fruits, the huge unique tile tub with bath salts to soak in after your biking and hiking day before heading off to an excellent evening dinner at the Middleton Place Restaurant. We never moved our car for 2 days as we just were able to walk to dinner thru the woods and well lit path...awesome!! We never cared about the TV as the world outside was much more entertaining and beautiful! We WILL return and also make sure to stop next visit at their bed & breakfast in town. We have also heard great things about that property. BTW...our mattress was so comfortable and we slept like bears in hibernation!!!

Room Tip: Riverview King on the first floor corner in building 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Truly a happy occasion! Happy 38th anniversary guest and THANK YOU for sharing this wonderful milestone with us! Your comments and review is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again for your 39th! All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    161
    70
    39
    18
See reviews for
91
468
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort lee, nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I don't see it in any descriptions of accommodations-many of the rooms have a flight of steps, so ask if it makes a difference to you. They do say they don't expect you to watch TV; could it be because the TV is way too small for the room size . And, It's time for new mattresses!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for pointing this out guest! Yes, all rooms have flights of stairs leading to the second or third floors. All staff is able and available to help with luggage as needed but we also discuss this upon making the reservation so that downstairs rooms can try to be accommodated as requested. We have brand new flat screened TV’s in every room with a new extended list of channels but I agree; we think the real view is outside the floor to ceiling set of windows covered by plantation blinds. There is not a mattress on property older then 1 year; we are happy to help accommodate personal preferences by switching rooms or offering bed boards as needed. Thank you for your review and your visit! All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Inn. Special things were (1) the dinner and movie night; (2) horseback ride over the grounds. Our room was quite nice. Not super fancy, but definitely fulfilled all of our needs.
The location is fairly rural, with about a half hour drive into Charleston. A car is definitely a must if you plan on doing much sightseeing in the area. It worked out fine for us.
All in all, a nice, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on higher floors have a better view of the river than our lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently visited the Inn for a friends wedding. I was not really sure what to expect given the wide range of comments on this property. I have to tell you it was an amazing stay from beginning to end. The staff at the lodge was over and above and were so incredibly accommodating. I was in a wedding party, and they were constantly checking in on us while we were getting ready and brought up sandwiches and did a nice little set up in the room. They allowed all of the guys not in the wedding to set up shop in the lower level of the "lodge" with a large flat screen TV and watch football.
When we booked the hotel, they sent us an email basically telling us if you are looking for "luxury", this was not the place. The rooms were rather rustic, but in no way dirty. The grout is actually Black...not moldy. Our room was 2 walls of floor to ceiling windows. The A/C worked just fine as did the hot water (as opposed to some other reviews I've read).
The only complaints we had were the bed...sooo soft, and almost comical how bouncy it was, like being on a trampoline. But, this was not the case in the 2 other rooms we went in over the weekend. It is a little loud if you are on the first floor, we could hear our friends walking around above us. And the service for breakfast at the Lakehouse was sooooo slow. Everyone was friendly but in no way should a sausage biscuit take 30 minutes. It was good when we finally got it.
Overall, if you are looking for a beautiful nice place to stay, I would recommend it. Its a nice breath of fresh air.

Room Tip: I would take a room on a second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the later part of July. Using " Booking.com" was a mistake. Not the Middleton Inn's fault. We had some issues through Booking.com that was fixed immediately and graciously through the awesome staff at the "Inn". Breakfast was beyond great. Beer and wine was wonderful and FREE! The snacks were plentiful and FREE!! Seeing gators, birds, and fish jumping out the water was great. Informative and friendly staff on the grounds. Take insect repellent and an extension cord for any kind of breathing or other type of machines. CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for some great constructive suggestions guest! I can see that you were able to experience the full value of what we offer here at the Inn! Admission to Middleton Place ($86 value per couple), the Healthy Start Breakfast and Evening Reception all including in the outstanding rates is the best-kept secret in Charleston! Staff is defiantly willing and able to answer questions and help make your visit the best ever. We hope to welcome you back again soon! All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was not just a hotel, it was a fantastic experience. I was curious about if after reading the rather puzzling differences of opinion on TA. We found nothing not to like. Middleton Place is magnificent, and we thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing and idyllic getaway at the Inn. Our room was perfect--spotless, tasteful and with a lovely "tree house" quality, and plenty of AC and hot water. Very unique, award-winning architecture. There was lots to do on the grounds--kyaking, horseback riding, carriage drives, and lawn and board games all available--if magnificent gardens, tours and interpretive walks and extensive wildlife viewing are not enough. The hospitality is expansive, with a very nice complimentary cocktail reception each night. The staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast was very nice as well. But the restaurant next to the house was truly outstanding, with locally sourced, fresh foods beautifully prepared. We had two wonderful meals at the restaurant--lunch and dinner. We travel extensively, and have high standards. I cannot say enough good things about our experience. This is such an unique and special place that we will be back to enjoy all the lovely seasons along the Ashley River.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I called on a Friday to book a room for our honeymoon. I inquired about a military discount and was told one was available however, she was unable to pull up that rate so in order to reserve it and pay the 50% of the stay she'd have to have her manager call in the morning who would be in at 1100. I never received a phone call Saturday or Sunday and finally on Monday I called to follow up. I was informed the rate had gone up but they would do a military discount. I asked to talk to a manager again since the rate would have been lower had I been able to book when I wanted to or had received a call back. She placed me on hold and came back saying they would honor it. I was becoming hesitant at this point about booking considering it was already such frustration and chaos. The woman on the phone then miscalculated what the discount was off of the price and I told her I had a different number. She calculated it again and again and even placed me on hold for a bit. She came back on the line and said she got her same number (a few dollars different from what it actually was) and she continued calculating again and again until I heard her asking someone else to do it for her. She then said I was right about the price. I grew even more reluctant to book with someone who couldn't even calculate 10% off the price. She informed me the price with tax which was a significant amount more. I was unsure of what the hotel taxes in Charleston were but after all this was not comfortable with providing my credit card info and having who knows what amount actually charged to it. I figured if this is how things were going to start out with booking how could I be sure they would ensure my stay would be any better? I feel let down before even getting a chance to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
This is an unfortunate case of the extraordinary. The specific room requested by this guest typically does not offer discounts of any kind; however we were bending the rules to make it happen hence why there was hesitation on the quoting of the rate. We have tried, unsuccessfully, to contact this guest more then once but our calls have not been returned. We are happy to discuss and handle as you requested; please call Micheal McDaniel directly. Hope to hear from you! Abby Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, The Inn at Middleton Place, Charleston SC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.