We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even book” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Middleton Place to your Saves list
Inn at Middleton Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't even book”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I called on a Friday to book a room for our honeymoon. I inquired about a military discount and was told one was available however, she was unable to pull up that rate so in order to reserve it and pay the 50% of the stay she'd have to have her manager call in the morning who would be in at 1100. I never received a phone call Saturday or Sunday and finally on Monday I called to follow up. I was informed the rate had gone up but they would do a military discount. I asked to talk to a manager again since the rate would have been lower had I been able to book when I wanted to or had received a call back. She placed me on hold and came back saying they would honor it. I was becoming hesitant at this point about booking considering it was already such frustration and chaos. The woman on the phone then miscalculated what the discount was off of the price and I told her I had a different number. She calculated it again and again and even placed me on hold for a bit. She came back on the line and said she got her same number (a few dollars different from what it actually was) and she continued calculating again and again until I heard her asking someone else to do it for her. She then said I was right about the price. I grew even more reluctant to book with someone who couldn't even calculate 10% off the price. She informed me the price with tax which was a significant amount more. I was unsure of what the hotel taxes in Charleston were but after all this was not comfortable with providing my credit card info and having who knows what amount actually charged to it. I figured if this is how things were going to start out with booking how could I be sure they would ensure my stay would be any better? I feel let down before even getting a chance to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
This is an unfortunate case of the extraordinary. The specific room requested by this guest typically does not offer discounts of any kind; however we were bending the rules to make it happen hence why there was hesitation on the quoting of the rate. We have tried, unsuccessfully, to contact this guest more then once but our calls have not been returned. We are happy to discuss and handle as you requested; please call Micheal McDaniel directly. Hope to hear from you! Abby Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    132
    59
    35
    17
See reviews for
68
397
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had not air conditioning. We had no hot water and were unable to take a shower after sweating all night. Windows were sealed shut. Management was totally unresponsive to our requests. No one seemed to care. Worst hotel experience we have had in 30 years of travel . Yes it is a pretty setting but run to a Marriott if you want air conditioning and a hot shower. No southern hospitality here. Room was dirty.

Green Features: Oh yes they are a green hotel. They save energy by not supplying air conditioning. And hot water!!! Also saved on towels because you cannot take a shower
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you guest, for sharing your opinion and version of the situation. I truly am sorry that your stay did not go as you had planned. I do agree however; potential guests please do read all the reviews, for the positive outweigh the negative, and choose to visit and judge for yourself if the value, outstanding architectural and acclaimed customer service is something you are looking to experience. As always, feel free to contact me about this review or any others. All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wanted to take my wife on a little get-a-way and I found Middleton Place and their Inn on-line. Fell in love with the inn so I booked a room for a Saturday night.
My wife and I arrived at the inn around 11:00 am knowing that our room would not be ready until 4pm that afternoon. We were given our "Free" all inclusive passes to the house and grounds.
We started at the restaurant where we enjoyed an outstanding meal! We actually could have split a entrée Good size portions!
We then toured the grounds, stables and gardens at our leisure, taking photos of amazing natural setting. We then toured the Middleton home and learned a little more about the Middleton family and the Charleston.
The tour was complete at 4pm and we received a call for the inn informing us that our room was ready. Upon arriving back at the inn we were able to get to our unpack shower and then we were off to the 5-7 meet and greet at the inn party/meeting room. Horderves, beer, wine and other free items were available. My wife had 5 glasses of wine and I enjoyed their beer section while sitting on a recliner next to the Ashley River.
We have already decided that we will be back and next time invite family or friends.
Ron

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at the inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I were a little unsure what to expect of The Inn at Middleton Place after reading the spotty Tripadvisor Reviews, but boy, were we pleasantly surprised! Let me just start by saying that if you imagine any movie that's taken place in the South - The Notebook, Forrest Gump, etc, and you think of the lush forests you see - that is what you will experience tenfold by staying here. The grounds are enormous and mostly forested by lush trees (including Magnolia trees), draped by Spanish moss. It was so peaceful and quiet when we walked around, all we heard were locusts buzzing and the sound of our own footfalls. Even though there were plenty of other guests there, it felt like we had the place to ourselves. All of the buildings are spread apart, so it doesn't feel like a typical hotel.

Our room (on the highest level) was very very large, which we really liked. The bathrooms are amazing. We've never seen such a huge bathtub! I really liked that there were containers of q-tips and cotton balls as well, nice touch. One really nice perk is that there is a nightly cocktail hour with complimentary wine and beer, as well as some light snacks, in the lodge. The lodge itself was part of the building that housed our room, so it wasn't far for us at all. I loved the combination of old Southern decor touches (sconces, gilt mirrors) with the more modern/rustic decor of the inn as a whole.

However, the BEST part is that our reservations included free admission to the plantation. I just can't get over how beautiful the grounds were. If you stay here, do not pass up the opportunity to visit the plantation. The walking path from the Inn to the Plantation is just lovely, and we never saw anyone on it but us. Driving into the Inn was also so pretty, since we passed stables and pastures with gorgeous horses grazing. Seriously, I felt like a Southern Belle.

A few other things - the pool is a really nice touch, especially since it gets really hot down there. The A/C in our room wasn't quite as powerful as we wanted, but we chalked it up to the fact that this is a Green hotel. Our room had a nice new TV and we didn't have any other complaints that we had read about here. Definitely give this place a try!

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor
See more room tips
Green Features: I can tell that this Inn really tries to be environmentally conscious and I appreciated that.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, woodsy, rustic stay this is the place. When you look at it on line it looks like a military barracks. Not the case. The buildings are concrete but are covered in ivy. Once inside the rooms are large and comfortable. Although we knew about it before the black grout in the bathroom and tub can be a little off-putting as it appears to be mold but isn't. The tub is big enough for a party as it is about 7ft. x 4ft. x 2ft. deep. The only thing we didn't like was the big wooden sliding door to close off the bathroom. It's hard to close and noisy. There is a nice free breakfast at the Lake House and at the lodge from 5 - 7 daily there is a manager's reception which had cold boiled shrimp, cheeses, fruit, chips & salsa, and all you care to drink wine or beer. All complimentary. The Inn is about a 1/3 mile walk from Middleton Place plantation and restaurant. Two points of interest. When walking to the plantation take the steps down to the mill building and then take the first levee to the left. It is easier than taking the graveled path and is flat rather than having to go down steps. The second thought is that if you go in the summer forego the extra cost of the River View rooms as the vegetation blocks your view.

Room Tip: OPT for first floor as there are only stairs. Avoid the River View up charge in the summer because t...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a deeply wooded area and everything blends in. There are recycling bins in each room.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Middleton Place lodge. For a colonial setting at the Middleton Gardens, I felt modernish styling for the lodge did not fit at all. The room smelled of fresh varnish so much my wife asked for a room change. That room smelled nearly as bad. There were two small windows which opened but did not provide much air flow. The air conditioning took nearly six hours to drop the room temperature by 8 degrees. Anyone who has visitied the deep south in September will appreciate getting away from the humidity. We then decided to go to the pool for a cool dip. Once we got there, somehow the green tint to the water and leaves on the floor of the pool didn't look very inviting. I looked to make sure there was no alligator waiting for us to dip our toes in the water.
Now. The staff was extremely helpful and inviting. The front desk clerk was new but immediately changed rooms for us and offered a complimentary meal for the next day's breakfast. I declined as is my nature. The hospitality hour was well run by Janelle and she offered us a viewing of Middleton Place without our asking. Well done!
I hope in the future the establishment can step up and accomadate guests better. Some things like the rooms may not be fixable. The staff and the gardens do make up for some of the issues we had with the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the best way to immerse yourselves in history while enjoying modern accommodations. The natural beauty of Middleton Place -- one of the few preserved Civil War-era plantations -- is an escape from the hustle and fantastic bustle of Charleston. BONUS: When you stay at the Inn, your entrance fees to the plantation and the house tour and tour of the grounds is included. Do NOT miss taking the walking tour of the plantation. It's truly a remarkable experience. Then enjoy the grounds on your own. Wander through the gardens. Spot the native alligators sunny themselves around the lake. The rooms are spacious and tranquil. There is a nightly happy hour with complementary wine/beer and light appetizers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, The Inn at Middleton Place, Charleston SC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.