We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Time for renovation"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn at Middleton Place to your Saves list
Inn at Middleton Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Time for renovation"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I Loved the plantation!!!:) The food at the restaurant and the service were good. EVERYONE at the plantation were very friendly and very helpful!! Totally loved the grounds very peaceful and romantic!! What I didn't like was our room! It smelled like a fire pit after it has been extinguished!! Awful!! I am sure that the fireplace could have been cleaned for the spring and summer season. Also the bathroom and the walls are in desperate need of renovation!!!! The room was nicely decorated and the shutters and view were nice. We will return with our kids to see the plantation, but we will not stay overnight if they do not renovate it. I wish they would renovate this jewel because it's such a great place to getaway from all the craziness of everyday living!!! Again I give the plantation and the service a 5 star but the lodge was a disappointment!! Please renovate!:)

Room Tip: Visit for the day. If you do decide to stay overnight do not expect too much from the room and you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    127
    55
    35
    16
See reviews for
68
374
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband took me here for my birthday this summer, we stayed 3 nights, I highly recommend it to everyone visiting South Carolina.
It was romantic ambiance, unexpected beauty, roaming the gardens was like a dream, the animal farm was beautiful.. with white peacocks, dozens of horses, giant trees..
Every night we dined in the restaurant, the food was some of the best cuisine I have had in America.. truly fantastic.. lunch at the restaurant is also an equal pleasure.

Our trip to Middleton Place was so lovely I am looking forward to revisiting with my family, to share with them this jewel of a location! 5 star vacation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The architecture is stunning, it is located on one of the most famous plantations and it is away from the bustle of downtown Charleston. On the other hand it is in desperate need of an extension renovation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Wonderful! It is nice to know we are ahead of the game! Refreshing and updating continues throughout 2013 in all the guest rooms. There may be some design aspects that are not changed, we don’t think everything needs to go, but if any potential guests have questions about what has been addressed please don’t hesitate to reach out to me or my staff! Thank you for your review and recognition of the outstanding architecture! All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

my husband and I stayed at this inn for only one night but wished we had planned to stay for two nights as there was so much to do and see there. at one time it was a rice plantation. the resort is on 200 acres of beautiful wooded land. the activities included a fine dining restaurant, swimming pool, horseback riding carriage rides, a tour of the plantation house, a garden tour, walking and biking trails a lake for kayaking and a club house. the guest were given a complimentary beer, wine, shrimp cheese,and fruit reception at the club house where we could socialize with the other guests. do yourself a favor and give this inn a try if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: all the rooms were good
See more room tips
Green Features: excellent. it appeared to be very environmentally-friendly
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

one of the most memorable places we have stayed at-middleton place is 200 acres of beauty, history, comfort, and relaxation-whether it is beautiful walking trails, period costumed guides on different aspects of antebellum plantation life, or just "want to be alone" relaxation your looking for this is the place-we are already looking forward to returning for 2 nights for the spring flower bloomings

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This quiet little boutique inn is a gem. Rooms look out upon the lazy Ashley River as it makes it way to Charleston. We live thirty minutes away but enjoy a quiet night and the great location.it is a short walk to the dining room at Middleton. They serve regional fare and have a good wine selection. We ask for a window seat that looks over the rice mill pond and slave cemetery. The meals range from above average to very good. But the place is so Gone with the Wind.
Back at the Inn, a robust breakfast is served. As a bonus, guest may enjoy the formal gardens. This is the premier place to stay a soak in an old south experience.

Room Tip: Pick a river view
See more room tips
Green Features: The architecture very gently fits into the landscape. The drives are soft surface and NO asphalt.
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are looking for hospitality and a true taste of Charleston's history without the crowds, this is the place. The rooms are clean and comfortable in a beautiful natural setting. The inn offers a great value by including admission to the beautiful Middleton Place, an old plantation overlooking the Ashley River. Also included is a managers reception in the evening and breakfast. The peace and quiet of the place is truly relaxing. Strolling the path to Middleton Place was a highlight of our trip. Going first thing in the morning gave us a sense that we were the only ones there. We highly recommend the horseback riding tour and kayak rentals. We go to Charleston frequently and this is one the favorites where we return..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others! The dawn until dusk admission to Middleton Place your stay at the Inn offers you is beyond the best value deal in Charleston, I’m so happy you were able to partake! The kayak tour with Charleston Kayak Company and the horseback ride with the Middleton Equestrian Center are fantastic options to view this amazing property a little differently. Both activities are available to the general public daily; not just guests of the Inn! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn! Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, The Inn at Middleton Place, Charleston SC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.