We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place to relax outside of the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Save Saved
You added Inn at Middleton Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #18 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A quiet place to relax outside of the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Middleton Place in mid-December 2012. The Inn is located at 4290 Ashley River Road and is approximately 15 miles North-West of Charleston, South Carolina.

The Ashley River Road is a busy commuter access road. The Inn is accessed by a long dirt driveway off the main road and winds through some private horse farms. There are lots of trees between the Inn and the road which meant we heard no traffic noise while on property. The driveway is wide enough for two cars and is maintained (i.e. no ‘washboard’ effect when driving). We arrived at the check-in building/gift shop and were warmly welcomed by the staff. We were provided with a property map and they clearly outlined the different buildings, where we were staying, when and where breakfast was served and also how to exit the property after hours (there is an electronic barrier that has a passcode that you can type in for all-hours access).

There were four adults in our group and we had one room per couple. Our accommodation was a mix of River View twin and Woods View twin rooms. There are ample parking spaces on a gravel lot (each building has its own parking lot) and a short graveled pathway led us to the accommodation. The path to the accommodation was lit by low-voltage lighting and the building was softly lit at night.

The building was an interesting blend of architecture. We were told that the owners didn’t want to try to recreate something ‘Charleston’ so went for a unique style of building that blended into the landscape; I think they did very well. Each complex has a brick paved walking area outside and an area for firewood (which was covered and easily accessible). We had to look on the doors to find our rooms but found them easily enough. We did notice the building had three floors, an upper, ground and lower level (with the lower level being below footpath level). Each room has a metal stand outside the door that holds umbrellas. There were similar stands holding umbrellas outside the breakfast area and the Lodge. Between the buildings were some Adirondack chairs and a table so you can sit and relax in some privacy and listen to the forest sounds while watching the river.

The rooms are accessed from the central brick walkway. The ground-level room entryways are underneath the concrete staircase that leads to the upper rooms and are softly lit. Lower level rooms are accessed from a separate staircase. We were at the Inn in December and didn’t see any insects/spiders in the room alcoves but this may change in summer given that you’re staying on a river. The staircase to the upper rooms have approximately 20 steps and appear wide enough to allow you to take your luggage. There was no elevator in any of the buildings. There is access to a pathway along the river that leads to the adjoining Middleton Plantation

Both of the rooms looked out through the trees onto the Ashley River and grasslands beyond. There isn’t much of a distance between the rooms, Lodge and breakfast building – it’s enough to give you some peace and quiet but you can get to the Lodge from anywhere on the grounds with a short two-minute walk. We were at the Inn in December and it seemed that most rooms would have some form of river view, however in summer the view may be restricted when the leaves were on the trees.

The rooms are quaint. Both were a pleasant mix of warm woods and concrete and very clean. Both rooms had a fireplace, bathroom, coffee maker and refrigerator and that wonderful smell that only years of wood fires can bring. The fireplace was clean and came with a ‘starter’ log, matches and newspaper as a firelighter. Unfortunately, the wood outside was damp and I couldn’t get it to catch fire. Some kindling and smaller ‘starter’ sticks would have been useful but I’m sure the staff would have assisted, had I cared to ask. In place of curtains are wooden shutters which weren’t the best quality but did the job. The beds are comfortable and there is an alarm clock that allows an MP3 player connection. There is a small (19”?) wall-mounted TV with basic cable. There was a small desk area with reading lamp and telephone. Both rooms have a Wi-Fi connection. There was also a small seating area near one of the beds. We noted online that the River View guest rooms are meant to have a marble bath with European style tub. Ours didn’t, so you may want to check on this when booking.

The bathroom was spacious. It was a mix of painted concrete wall and tile. The walls could have done with a touch-up and the mirror and some of the fixtures need to be replaced but were functionally fine. The tub and shower tile is white tile with a black grout. Prior to our stay we’d read reviews about people saying the bathroom grout was moldy. I scratched at the grout in numerous areas in both bathrooms and found absolutely no mold – I think people have likely confused the black grout with mold. The tub is absolutely huge! One of our group is over 6’4” and couldn’t touch the end! The shower head is a bit low, but not ridiculously so. Although a bit dated, the bathroom was clean and met our needs.

There is a manager’s reception at the Lodge in the evening. The staff was welcoming and provided free drinks (soft drinks, wine or beer) and provided some hors d’oeuvres (taquitos, fruit, crackers, cheese, etc). The lounge had a fireplace and comfortable seating. Downstairs there was an area that provided some paperback books and board games, plus a chess set.

A continental breakfast was included and provided a wide variety that should meet most people’s needs. It included muffins, bagels, toast, oatmeal, yogurt, cereals, fruit, various beverages (cranberry, orange and apple juice) and coffee/tea. While we were there, they had a variety of seasonal items including egg nog and warm apple cider. They also had apple butter and a variety of jams available. The restaurant was a short walk from our accommodation and was spacious, clean and bright with large windows overlooking a pond and a forested area. The restaurant staff was very pleasant and attentive. There was the option of paying for a cooked breakfast, but we didn’t choose to do this.

There are a few things to rent, such as bicycles and kayaks, but we didn’t do this. There is also an outdoor swimming pool that looked clean.

The few issues we did have during our stay were quickly and professionally resolved by the staff. For example, one of the window shutters in our room broke and as they were unable to fix it that evening (it broke around 6pm) they offered to put us in another room – we were happy to wait until the next day but they were very apologetic for any inconvenience this caused.

We felt that staying at the Inn was like staying in a national park rather than a luxury hotel. The surrounds were beautiful and relaxing, the staff was professional and happy to talk to us. Sure, the accommodation isn’t perfect but the location and value more than makes up for it. Included in the reservation price is admission to Middleton Place, gardens, house museum and plantation stable yards, which is a $74 value and a great day out.

I’ve seen several poor reviews of Middleton Place online and can’t quite figure out why. The rooms are comfortable, if a little plain but who wants to sit in a room all day when you’re next to a beautiful river? If you want a 40” flat screen TV with 200 channels, modern furniture and blazingly fast Wi-Fi, go to a vanilla national chain hotel or face disappointment. If you prefer to get outside into nature and can handle unique rooms, wooden floors that have been walked on and a dated, slightly tired bathroom with dark grout you’ll enjoy your time here.

We’ll visit the Inn again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
What a comprehensive and well written review of your stay, thank you! I enjoyed myself reading your descriptions and felt that you certainly took the time to connect with The Inn, the location and the offerings. Rooms are undergoing some renovations to refresh the wood, update the fixtures, including the plumbing and yes, we are even going to take that jump to a flat-screen higher definition TV this year but we agree that the small encounters you mentioned would never hinder a guest who is not looking or expecting a luxury hotel. The simplicity of the Inn is intentional, and the value outstanding within the rate and you mirror that sentiment well. I sincerely thank you and your party for your visit, time and shared experience. Cheers to a happy and healthy 2013. Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    124
    54
    33
    14
See reviews for
66
361
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here December 29th and I had originally booked two nights with Middleton Inn. I, like other reviewers, was nervous about the mixed reviews but decided to try something different and unique. I'll be joining the mixed reviewers with my mixed review. First, the directions took us to the restaurant so we got semi-lost when we arrived. I just called the front desk and the lady kindly directed me where we should go. We stayed in a woodsview room.

Pros: The inn grounds are beautiful and there is lots to explore. The level of the customer service was great and we felt like our best interests were at the top of their priority list. The complementary grounds access is a nice feature that comes with each visit along with the free beer and wine reception held at night.

Cons:
The room was very cold all night due to the door being poorly weather-proofed and the large amount of windows (which obviously is a feature, just not at night in December). I wished there was some sort of door on the fireplace to block out the smell of the smoke when we were finished using it. I had a hard time breathing at night since the smell of smoke literally doesn't go away. Since there was no door on the shower, it was a cold one! The decor was minimal and makes the room feel cold, although that's how they intended it to be. The breakfast wasn't fantastic, but it was a nice amenity and was what was expected.

We decided to check into a tried-and-true hotel after staying one night at Middleton Inn. It wasn't because we weren't satisfied. The GM didn't charge us for extra day or checking out early as well as our bike rental which went unused. She made sure we weren't leaving on "bad terms", which we weren't. We felt like we were prepared for what we walked into from reading other reviews, we just learned that it wasn't our style and were glad we gave it a try.
If you are an outdoorsy person, this really is a unique and fun find. I personally just couldn't handle it. No complaints really about the overall inn or the management just didn't fit our taste.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We could not get enough of the views from our room and the tranquil grounds. Our room, the Ashley River suite, was spacious, albeit a bit tired. The bed was very comfortable. Linens and towels were of very good quality. And the price was right for all of this! The complimentary breakfast had a nice variety of offerings, but if you wanted something more substantial, the cost was minimal. One note: you had to climb steep stairs, two long levels to reach this particular room. No elevator! One minor inconvenience for an otherwise wonderful stay.
Also, the room could have been cleaner: some dead bugs on floor and a dead winter greens arrangement.

Room Tip: The Ashley River Suite is worth every penny. You'll love the wrap around balcony and overall roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have very mixed feelings after staying here with my family right before Christmas. We rented three rooms, each of different price levels. First, the good - hotel is on the gorgeous grounds of Middleton Place, an amazing 18th century plantation that was incredible. Stroll through the wooded paths and discover one beautiful site after the other, from the house museum, to the tranquil peaceful gardens, to the working farm with beautiful animals, to the craftsman and historians who show you everything from candle making to carpentry, to milking the cows (you can even have a try). It was wonderful. So location is by far the highlight here. Decently priced on the off-season. And each room has a wood burning fireplace. Continental breakfast was very good and not the typical crap, and served in a nice setting overlooking the woods.

The 20th century contemporary design of this hotel is intruiging and promising. However when you get there and look closer, the place is a bit run down and in need of serious renovations. Probably amazing when it was built, it shows it's age with worn floors/walls/doors, CRT TV in the cheaper rooms, mold issues in all the bathrooms, and a general feel of excessive wear and tear. High design in the bathroom, but poor...we all had to bend over to take a shower under the way too low shower head. My 6'4" brother showered on his knees....however the opposite side of the shower is vaulted...what a crappy design. Fan above the shower head, which was an inch from the top of my head while showering, was disgusting and full of dust and dirt like it hadn't been cleaned in years. I found hairs on both of my bed pillows. Hairs in the bottom of the shower.

My Queen Grand room, the most expensive of the three, was large and much nicer than the standard twin room, which feeled damp and smelly.

Hopefully this place has a renovation on the horizon. Soooo much potential to this worn out relic of a once grand hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge on the more expensive rooms and upper floor...big difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed a very relaxing 2 nights at The Inn at Middleton Place in October.
The rooms were very large and had a wooden decor to give the feeling of staying in a cabin. But you feel like you're in an upscale cabin, especially after you check out the spa-like bathroom.
The lounge area offers drinks and appies each late afternoon.
Nature lovers will love the river and forest that surround the Inn. And strolling through the nearby plantation is a beautiful way to spend the day. The gardens are luxurious and beautifully manicured and the alligators seem friendly enough.
The restaurant offers a delicious menu of creative southern themed plates, including the tastiest pecan pie I've ever had.
We really enjoyed our visit to Charleston and especially loved staying at the Inn at Middleton Place. We would definitely like to stay here again and would recommend that, instead of staying at a regular hotel, you treat yourself to a night or 2 here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My children brought me here for my birthday for the weekend. We stayed in the inn and toured the grounds. The service was excellent! Scenery was spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed the staff and complimentary breakfast, snacks, drinks and much more! Staff were helpful, professional and attentive. I highly recommend a stay here to anyone interested in a peaceful and educational getaway!

Room Tip: We chose the grand river view room, however the views from the entire grounds would be enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I recently spent one night at the Inn at Middleton Place. We were not sure what to expect since there had been some poor reviews on tripadvisor in the recent past. We, however, were very happy with our stay at the Inn at Middleton. We enjoyed the fact that our room was a little different than the average, cookie-cutter room. I loved all the shutters that enabled us to completely open up the room to sunlight, as well as close off the entire room at night. Okay, certain aspects (shower) may have seen better days, but we didn't mind. The entire outdoor area by the Inn is very woodsy and unique. Some great extras were the complimentary healthy breakfast in the Lake House...a very beautiful space with great food. My husband LOVED the hot oatmeal! Also, the complimentary evening reception with beer, wine, and appetizers was lovely. We also enjoyed the lit walk at night from the Inn to the restaurant at Middleton Place. We made good use of the flashlight that was in our room for this journey, which was only about 10 minutes away. All in all, I'd love to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, The Inn at Middleton Place, Charleston SC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.