We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Middleton Place to your Saves list
Inn at Middleton Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I booked our anniversary weekend through SniqueAway at The Inn at Middleton Place. The grounds are very rustic- I even told my husband it felt like "expensive camping". If you are looking for a super luxurious hotel, look elsewhere. The room was pretty basic, but still very nice, the fireplace is a wonderful touch. We loved the cocktail hour, free beer/wine and snacks. Middleton Place is beautiful- we enjoyed spending a full day exploring the gardens and house. The views from the Inn and all over Middleton Place are incredible and make the stay well worth it. Overall, we had a very relaxing trip and enjoyed ourselves very much. It's no where near historic Charleston though, so if you are looking to explore the city, you should stay in the city, not at Middleton Place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    133
    60
    35
    17
See reviews for
70
398
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights at the Inn. The architecture is interesting, the room was inviting and warm (esp. since we were there in the fall when the fireplace is open for us and they provide a starter and plenty of wood), the staff was helpful and friendly, and there were lots of extra touches that made our stay wonderful. We rented a woods view queen room and were happy with the view. I don't think I'd pay extra for the river view. Our room was the least expensive so we had to wooden chairs and an end table and then a small desk with wooden desk chair. If you can spare the extra money, a room with a sofa would have been even nicer. We loved having windows all around, or shutters, if we wanted to have privacy. They give you water bottles and a nut mix as well as coffee and tea with the coffee maker. Breakfast is also included: delicious quick breads, apples, oranges or bananas, yogurt with granola, other breads and eng. muffins with butter and jam, etc. If you want a hot breakfast, there is a charge. It's a pleasant building overlooking the river where breakfast is served. In the evening, there was a fire going in the lodge/lobby building and there was a reception including drinks and a very nice cheese/fruit plate and some other small things. There are games available to play and of course, the admission to the house museum, stable and gardens is included. Not much blooming in Oct. but we still enjoyed it. I would recommend it highly....lovely property. We needed an extension cord (older building so not enough outlets) but someone delivered one promptly. There were a few small housekeeping issues but I mentioned it to the staff and I"m sure it was resolved. The bed is a little soft (but that could vary by room). The blanket on the bed was kind of oldish looking but there was a nicer one in the closet.

Room Tip: The woods view rooms seem to have just as nice of a view for the money in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A lovely staycation for our family of 4 ages 6, 9 and parents. We stayed in a Queen size grand river view room. We had a fire each evening and were quite cozy. The Queen bed was not the most comfortable but the kids slept well on the pull out couch. The rooms are a bit rustic but a rather nice size. Pets are allowed with a $50 per stay (not night) fee if under 50#. The Inn lets you walk the grounds of the plantation throughout your entire stay. We loved it and had been before. The restaurant was excellent for dinner one evening and you can easily walk the trail, although bring a flashlight (included in each room) for the walk back as the path is dimly lit. Also don't miss the reception from 5-7 each evening in the lodge. Overall an excellent value and hidden gem.

Room Tip: The Grand room with a river view is your best bet. Queen rooms have a sleeper sofa and offer a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

And that's a distinction that's important. It's not Ritz-Carlton glammy or Holiday Inn Express efficient. It's a collection of big and comfortable studio-apartment-sized rooms in a gorgeous setting of mossy oaks and weepy magnolias, alongside a scenic river 20-30 minutes from downtown Charleston. We arrived on the eve of a hurricane scare and it was very dark, making the half-mile drive from the check-in desk to our building a bit of a mystery tour. I found the room, propped open the door and went back to get luggage. When we re-arrived a small frog greeted us from just inside the entrance. The room had a nice fireplace with wood and a fire-lighter brick (alas, no kindling), a comfortable bed, nice old wooden (a bit sticky from waxing) floors and a wall of windows that allowed great natural light the next morning. The late night sandwich at the close-by lounge (fancy restaurant closed at 9) was pretty basic but the lady who toasted and served it was nice. Breakfast was a 500-yard walk to a separate lake house building with decent free cold and not-free hot options. Lots to do on and around the spacious and lovely grounds. We're coming back to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved the unique design and configuration of the Inn at Middleton Place. Very different from the traditional B&B. The room was spartan, in a good and intentional way...very relaxing...brought the focus to the view of the river. It felt very private. The only negatives (which were minor) were that the water smelled in the bathroom and that we could hear occasionally the footsteps of the guests above us. The overwhelming experience, though, was great. The breakfast was a generous continental breakfast; the happy hour was terrific and extremely generous. Staff were gracious and helpful, and went out of their way to suggest local activities that we might enjoy. We also enjoyed the short walk to the Plantation for excellent tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. The plantation is wonderful/beautiful, but can be seen in a couple hours. People have written on here they went all day or repeated days... If you linger Big Time I guess. We went for Plantation Days event, and it was super interesting and fun!! There was a honey tasting area and Middleton Place honey was best, but can't be bought. Strange. We kayaked, and I wouldn't pay for the tour if asked. You're all spread out and can't hear what he's saying, and he did nothing to critique anyone's kayaking/give tips to help anyone. Lots of first timers on my tour. You could easily just kayak without out. Area is basic/can't get lost. The happy hour was Great. Shrimp and cheese and beer and wine and ... We also picniced on a table near kayak place with family. Great setting. The giant tub looks kinda icky, so didn't use. Black grout. And the shower head is crazy low. We all had to bend to fit under it. The pretty view windows... you can only see out of midday! They are fogged up from heat inside, cool outside mostly. Was told we could use fireplace, but got there and no wood. Never saw any bugs, inside or out. My family loved this place. Very homey and naturey. The fancy restaurant had decent food. Pricey, but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is one of the grandest places I have stayed at for the price. The rooms are cozy, with fireplace and HUGE soaking tub. They try to stay eco-friendly with their products which I appreciate, and the daily (free) happy hour is awesome. My friend and I had a great stay and there is so much to do right around the Inn like horseback riding, visiting the plantation next door, or alligator sightings!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, The Inn at Middleton Place, Charleston SC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.