We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plantation guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Save Saved
You added Inn at Middleton Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Sunday-Thursday
Ranked #19 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Charleston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Plantation guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A lovely staycation for our family of 4 ages 6, 9 and parents. We stayed in a Queen size grand river view room. We had a fire each evening and were quite cozy. The Queen bed was not the most comfortable but the kids slept well on the pull out couch. The rooms are a bit rustic but a rather nice size. Pets are allowed with a $50 per stay (not night) fee if under 50#. The Inn lets you walk the grounds of the plantation throughout your entire stay. We loved it and had been before. The restaurant was excellent for dinner one evening and you can easily walk the trail, although bring a flashlight (included in each room) for the walk back as the path is dimly lit. Also don't miss the reception from 5-7 each evening in the lodge. Overall an excellent value and hidden gem.

Room Tip: The Grand room with a river view is your best bet. Queen rooms have a sleeper sofa and offer a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    122
    54
    32
    14
See reviews for
65
353
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

And that's a distinction that's important. It's not Ritz-Carlton glammy or Holiday Inn Express efficient. It's a collection of big and comfortable studio-apartment-sized rooms in a gorgeous setting of mossy oaks and weepy magnolias, alongside a scenic river 20-30 minutes from downtown Charleston. We arrived on the eve of a hurricane scare and it was very dark, making the half-mile drive from the check-in desk to our building a bit of a mystery tour. I found the room, propped open the door and went back to get luggage. When we re-arrived a small frog greeted us from just inside the entrance. The room had a nice fireplace with wood and a fire-lighter brick (alas, no kindling), a comfortable bed, nice old wooden (a bit sticky from waxing) floors and a wall of windows that allowed great natural light the next morning. The late night sandwich at the close-by lounge (fancy restaurant closed at 9) was pretty basic but the lady who toasted and served it was nice. Breakfast was a 500-yard walk to a separate lake house building with decent free cold and not-free hot options. Lots to do on and around the spacious and lovely grounds. We're coming back to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved the unique design and configuration of the Inn at Middleton Place. Very different from the traditional B&B. The room was spartan, in a good and intentional way...very relaxing...brought the focus to the view of the river. It felt very private. The only negatives (which were minor) were that the water smelled in the bathroom and that we could hear occasionally the footsteps of the guests above us. The overwhelming experience, though, was great. The breakfast was a generous continental breakfast; the happy hour was terrific and extremely generous. Staff were gracious and helpful, and went out of their way to suggest local activities that we might enjoy. We also enjoyed the short walk to the Plantation for excellent tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. The plantation is wonderful/beautiful, but can be seen in a couple hours. People have written on here they went all day or repeated days... If you linger Big Time I guess. We went for Plantation Days event, and it was super interesting and fun!! There was a honey tasting area and Middleton Place honey was best, but can't be bought. Strange. We kayaked, and I wouldn't pay for the tour if asked. You're all spread out and can't hear what he's saying, and he did nothing to critique anyone's kayaking/give tips to help anyone. Lots of first timers on my tour. You could easily just kayak without out. Area is basic/can't get lost. The happy hour was Great. Shrimp and cheese and beer and wine and ... We also picniced on a table near kayak place with family. Great setting. The giant tub looks kinda icky, so didn't use. Black grout. And the shower head is crazy low. We all had to bend to fit under it. The pretty view windows... you can only see out of midday! They are fogged up from heat inside, cool outside mostly. Was told we could use fireplace, but got there and no wood. Never saw any bugs, inside or out. My family loved this place. Very homey and naturey. The fancy restaurant had decent food. Pricey, but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is one of the grandest places I have stayed at for the price. The rooms are cozy, with fireplace and HUGE soaking tub. They try to stay eco-friendly with their products which I appreciate, and the daily (free) happy hour is awesome. My friend and I had a great stay and there is so much to do right around the Inn like horseback riding, visiting the plantation next door, or alligator sightings!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spend two nights here, the room rate was good. The Inn itself is very modern and about 1 km away from the historic area. This makes for a good contrast. The room includes free continental breakfast and if you want cooked breakfast it is only 6.00 to 10.50. You are within walking distance of Middleton Plantation, this adds to the experience. A key surprise was that the tickets were all included but they add up, for my wife and I that would have been 55.00 each and that was included in the room rate. The experience was excellent. We went for dinner on the final night at the main restaurant and food was great, reasonable price for what you get but the view was exceptional. It was just excellent. The history and gardens are AWESOME. SIMPLY AWESOME.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I should preface this review by saying that we reserved this hotel from a travel site that features limited-time offers, so that's how I heard about it. Otherwise, I'm not sure if I would have considered staying here, just because of the average price per night.

That being said, I have to say that I really enjoyed our stay here! It was clean, and the rooms had a Scandanavian-meets-old-South feel. The bed was comfortable and having all of the windows on 2 sides of the room was so nice! Most hotel rooms feel a bit cramped to me, but this one was really spacious, and of course having lots of natural light helped with that. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast a lot.

My only real complaint is the road getting into the inn is extremely narrow- not really big enough for 2 cars to pass each other without one pulling off. While we were trying to get to the registration house to check in, a lot of people were leaving due to a wedding being over and I think it took us about 30 minutes to get from Ashley River Road to the parking spaces outside of the registration house. And on top of that. someone had gotten their car stuck in a ditch and blocked the way out for almost 2 hours. I think it would be really helpful if they would widen the road, if only by a couple of feet, so cars can pass by each other more easily.

Other than that one complaint, though, we really enjoyed our stay! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge, The Inn at Middleton Place, Charleston SC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.