We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in a long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar

Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar
340 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 720-3631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Vietnamese, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In Vietnamese, "CO" is the word for "feast". Located on King Street in Historic Charleston, South Carolina, we offer an authentic Vietnamese cuisine destination, serving bahn mi, pho, ramen and, of course, our own signature cocktails. Our fresh and modern space is open seven days a week for lunch, dinner, and drinks.
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best meal in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is fantastic! Everything was great. The pork/ginger dumplings were very flavorful, and the pork/crab spring rolls were the best I've ever had, with a little tang to them. The yakisoba with chicken was awesome, with thin, vermicelli-like noodles. The service was flawless. They also have a pretty good selection of beers for an Asian restaurant. Don't miss this place!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Wow, thanks for your five star review! We are thrilled that CO was able to provide your best meal in a while. It sounds like you got to try a variety of different things on our menu, and it's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal. Come back and see us for another meal anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    48
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great decor, great service, great food. Food is very fresh and tasty. We have lived in charleston about a month and a half and have eaten at CO five times! Our favorite!! Josh and his crew are fantastic (Bradling and Sam)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FRESH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

this is by far our favorite stop in downtown! we have lived here for just over 6 weeks and have eaten here 4 times! (if you find something this good, why go anywhere else?!?)
chic decor, bar seating, tall boy tables and "community tables" are available.
Fresh fresh food, great service, wonderful adult beverages.
we have brought all of our guests here and they also have all loved it.
drunken noodles, curry laksa, ANY of the pho dishes, The pork ginger dumplings are awesome as are the summer/spring rolls. Josh and his crew do it right (thank you Bradling and Sam).
also you can choose to dine outside on second sundays.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback! It's so great that CO has been a frequent dining destination for you after moving to the great city of Charleston. Can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Asian Terrific!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The other day, a couple of us stopped by for an early dinner since we were already on King Street - with more restaurants than you can count - and since we both love Asian, particularly Vietnamese, food and since this place is so highly rated out of the hundreds of Charleston restaurants. We were not disappointed. The restaurant itself is in a narrow old reworked building, with a drink/food bar up front, a few tables farther back, including one kind of communal table that we've found elsewhere in Charleston, and more tables upstairs, which opens at 5pm. We sat at the long table downstairs, and a few people eventually joined us. It's nice to be sociable, particularly in an energetic town like Charleston. It was Happy Hour and a few small dishes, plus some drinks, were very reasonably priced. I had a big carafe of sake which was served cold - perfect. Service, by the bartender and a couple of other of the wait staff was excellent. We had four small dishes, including some spring rolls, gyoza, bahn mi and outstanding wings (photos). All real, real good, spicy but not too hot. Instead, you can splash on some of their special hot sauces and burn yourself to a crisp on your own. Wonderful stuff. I also saw on the menu a pho ga (or ga pho) - traditional Vietnamese chicken noodle soup - plus some other extremely attractive items, so there's no question that, the next time in Charleston, we'll be back... and will probably eat upstairs, where it's less busy and lighter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We're so glad you stopped by on your recent visit and enjoyed everything. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and share your pictures! We're open for lunch (as is the upstairs area) so come see us anytime. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good Vietnamese/Thai cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It would be easy to walk by the small frontage of this restaurant on lower King Street or to wander in to the neighboring all-Thai place, but be careful and look for Co. We've been there several times and had consistently good experiences. Whether sitting at the bar or at one of the community tables, we've had excellent service. Their website emphasizes the Vietnamese cuisine (Co means "feast" in Vietnamese), but there are some quite good Thai dishes on the menu as well, such as Pad Thai and Thai Green Curry. I like to mix it up and have found the Pho to be tasty as well. The Papaya Salad with Shrimp is super. They also have a generous Happy Hour selection of $5 apps and various drinks, which can be very filling at a bargain price. Don't pass up the house sauces in the bottles on each table, one hotter than the other but both a very nice complement to the food. All in all, Co is a very good choice for Southeast Asian food when in downtown Charleston.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for dining with us and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled that you've enjoyed all your visits and look forward to your next one. We've recently launched some new fall dishes that we think you'll enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.