We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, homey hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Charleston's NotSo Hostel to your Saves list
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
156 Spring Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great, homey hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The NotSo Hostel is one of the best hostel I've stayed in; good location, very homey, atmosphere is great (I had a blast even though I was traveling alone - so many great people I'm still in touch with!), breakfast is really good, bathrooms are nice (although not too many for the number of beds....), the beds aren't too bad.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful - Adam even made calls for me in order to help me plan my stay because he wanted to know more about the possibilities himself!
Office hours aren't the best - I had to walk around with my backpack when I arrived because I hadn't got the door code as promised so I couldn't get in, and they don't open until 5PM.
But all in all a really nice

Room Tip: Female dorm room "Victoria" can be loud when people are chatting in the kitchen(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    121
    35
    42
    22
See reviews for
10
83
145
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am not a hostel person at all. I am scared of them...but The Notso Hostel's "Annex" is not like most hostels. In fact, it serves more like a bed and breakfast. You get a private room and a semi-private bathroom in the hall. The people who run it are just lovely and the chair-swing on the balcony is fabulous after a long day of walking around in beautiful Charleston. Make sure to get the wind chimes going and you'll really feel like you're in the fabulous South.
Most hotels in Charleston run around $300 per night so The Annex is a perfect alternative. It is walking distance to the main drag and I didn't even need a car. You can walk to The Market, the horse carriage rides, all the stores, restaurants, water front, museums. It wasn't too loud at night and it was a very good experience.

Room Tip: Stay at that annex to get your own room. Also - there are two bathrooms on the 2nd floor. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hostel is very nice. Don't expect much space in the room or AC (we found three fans in our room, so that would probably help), but the room is okay. The communal areas are very nice though. It is fun meeting up in the kitchen for breakfast and the balcony is a very nice place to sit and enjoy a chat while the sun sets. There are only two bathrooms in the main building, so you might have to wait a bit. One of the mornings we stayed there the water heater couldn't really keep up, so it was a cold shower. The staff is very helpful, and will guide you to whatever you need.
The area is nice, but a bit of a walk to downtown. Fuel, a nearby restaurant, is a nice place to eat and especially for having a drink in the back garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in the Austria Room on the Main location during Christmas time in 2011. First, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fun, the remodeling is great, and the shower water is always hot. The bathroom we shared was in great shape too. The only downside is the walls are thin. We could hear the person's constant cough next door, and it gets cold at night that time of the year. We slept in our jeans and hoodies. The mattresses are pretty tough too, like your dorm back in college. Other than that, a great bargain, and a fun place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed two nights. The first night we were one of the few in the blue cottage. It was quiet, we did not have to wait for the bathroom. The second night, there were people in the next room who were quite loud until midnight. The rooms adjoin so there is little soundproofing. The matresses were really hard. The parking is free but there is little room to turn around so you need to be very careful. Breakfast was bagels and English muffins. Very good. Would suggest they invest in a bagel cutter. The location was great as we enjoy walking around the peninsula.

Room Tip: Would try the annex next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Annex is the place to be, especially for couples. It's a bit more expensive, but well worth it: you're MUCH closer to the bars and restaurants, and it's private and quiet. There's a decent kitchen and parking, too. There are two shared bathrooms. The rooms are tiny, so you won't want to spend all day in them, but you don't need to anyway - Charleston is a great place to visit! And you can always go hang out in the main building of the hostel if you want some company.

You're really unlikely to find a better deal in downtown Charleston.

Room Tip: Couples should ask for a room in the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in the Kendall Room in the NotSo Annex, and really enjoyed the friendly, low key vibe. The location was perfect for my needs, and I enjoyed enjoyed walking of for coffee at Black Tap. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston's NotSo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Address: 156 Spring Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a double-porched 150-year old house in the historic district of the lovely peninsular Charleston Breakfast Included, Bicycle Hire, Linen Included, Guest Kitchen, Common Room, Bike Parking, Free Carpark, WiFi in lobby, Web access in lobby, WiFi in room, Air Conditioning, Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Charleston's NotSo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston's NotSo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.