We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Powder Magazine in Charleston, SC Was A Blast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Powder Magazine

The Powder Magazine
79 Cumberland Street, P.O. Box 1120, Charleston, SC 29402 (French Quarter)
843-723-1624
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only public building still standing in the Carolinas from the period of the Lords Proprietors, this was the site where powder was stored for the defense of the city during the 17th century to the period of the American Revolution.
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
“The Powder Magazine in Charleston, SC Was A Blast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Powder Magazine in Charleston, SC was a blast! Sorry for the pun! We actually found street parking right next to this attraction at 79 Cumberland St. There was still 40 minutes on the meter, so we just added a few more quarters.

We were going to tour the oldest public building in the Carolinas, but it was closed even though we were there during regular hours of operation. So, instead we took pictures through the fence. The building is now a National Historic Landmark.

As we were standing there a horse (and a mule) were pulling one of the many tour carriages. So, I added that photo.

Admission : $3; ages 6-12 $1; age 5 and younger admitted free

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irmo, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hands On Exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited the Powder Magazine with my teenage son recently on a day trip to Charleston. This a small place that won't take very long to see at all. It's just one room with several interactive exhibits that you are encouraged to handle. There are a couple of huge rifles we had fun posing with. The guide was very friendly and knowledgable. Price was reasonable. I would visit again if I was in town with someone who hadn't been here before.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
222 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
819 helpful votes 819 helpful votes
“Powder room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Powder Magazine Museum at 79 Cumberland Street (843/722-9350, PowderMag.org) off Meeting Street is the oldest public building, constructed in 1713 to store gunpowder. The architectural innovative concept, according to curator Alan Stello in the photo below, incorporates huge columns and gothic arched ceilings to support the weight of sand in the gables. Walls boast large arches, and are thinner near the arch peaks, three feet thick near the ground. There are also few doors in the building, so that in the event of an explosion, most of the explosive force would exit through the roof, with the arches acting like funnels. Sand stored in the roof would then smother and put out the fire.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio USA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Add it to your list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I confess, I love visiting the oldest, the biggest, the most unusual, etc. So I loved adding the Powder Magazine to my list of sites to visit in Charleston because it's the oldest public building in South Carolina and this year is celebrating its 300th anniversary This museum is small but it's a great example of the architecture our forefathers needed to secure their safety and freedom. The small fee to enter this museum is entirely acceptable. You'll only need half an hour to an hour to see everything here and to visit the gift shop. One of the extra perks of the museum is its cool interior on a hot Charleston afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

You can really spend a lot on the museums in Charleston. This was only $3 for a really nice tour. It is right across from the Slave Market which is also a great place to tour for only $7.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Powder Magazine also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Powder Magazine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Powder Magazine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.