We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop bar is amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Market Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Market Pavilion Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Food & Beverage Voucher
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Rooftop bar is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We visited the rooftop bar on a lovely April evening. The drinks were delicious and the view of Charleston was spectacular. Glass sides keep the wind at bay while letting you enjoy the view. It reminded me of a South Beach bar. It's right downtown close to many restaurants and places of interest. We parked in a deck about 2 blocks away. We really enjoyed our evening on the rooftop and hope to return on our next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for joining us at the Pavilion Bar and sharing your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your cocktails and the view of Charleston and Charleston Harbor. Next time, we do have valet parking if needed. Looking forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    121
    38
    26
    25
See reviews for
115
387
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of service at the hotel and rooftop bar. The waitresses were very attentive, and the views and breeze were fantastic. There is a revolving door at the front, and our daughter caught her arm in it by accident... Shea, the doorman, was incredibly sympathetic and more importantly, responsive by getting a bag of ice. We are very grateful that the hotel has such quality employees... it made our night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am sorry to hear about your accident but very glad that Shea was able to assist you quickly. Shea, I am sure will appreciate your kind comments. I am also pleased that you were happy with the quality of service of the hotel and the Pavilion Bar. Thank you once again and we hope that you stay with us again in the near.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

we golf every year in charleston. every night we go to the rooftop bar before dinner. it is awesome. the views are spectacular. the staff is incredible led by JR behind the bar. his charm is equal to his mixology talents. the food is also eclectic and delicious. we never miss an opportunity to go there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It’s great to hear from repeat guests that come to Charleston every year. We are pleased that you enjoy the Pavilion Bar and the food and cocktails. Thank you also for acknowledging JR which I am sure he will appreciate. We look forward to your next visit with us at the Pavilion Bar at the Market Pavilion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Roof Top Bar is one of the best places to enjoy a gorgeous sunset over the city of Charleston. We had a delicious supper and were fantastically well looked after by our charming server, Jessica Chiavacci. I must especially recommend the incredible ice cream cookie dessert, which is HUGE but utterly delicious. We waddled down from the roof top having had a fabulous evening. Thank you Jessica!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I were in Charleston this past weekend for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. The rooftop bar was our favorite stop as we visited many bars and restaurants. The view is obviously breathtaking but what really made our visit was the incredible service. Our server, Raquel, greeted us immediately and made us feel comfortable on a very busy Friday night. Being our first night in town, we had a lot of questions. She was very helpful and actually helped us plan our weekend! She went over the top to make sure our needs were met. Our cocktails were always perfectly made and were brought to us in a timely fashion. Will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Market Pavilion is the best hotel in Charleston. The local market is only steps from the hotel along with amazing restaurants, historic sites and the famous King Street with tons of shops. The best part of the hotel is the Pavilion Roof Top! The view is unbelievable and the bartender Junior Yniesta makes the most delicious cocktails. This is a must-see if ever you're in Charleston!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Enjoyed the Roof Top Bar. Excellent service from the staff. Excellent bar service from Jr. Beautiful view of Charleston from the roof. Doesn't matter if you go day or night. Felt very welcomed and accommodated. I would highly friends and family to gather to have a couple of drinks and relax.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.