We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SC2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Market Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Market Pavilion Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$50 Food&Beverage Credit
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SC2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff, especially Andrew and his fabulous nitrogen martinis. Great location, was able to walk almost everywhere. Loved the coffee and pastries every morning. We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, our great location, the friendliness of our staff and the sideboard continental breakfast. I will also pass you kind comments to Andrew as he will be very pleased that you enjoyed your the Nitrotini. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    136
    40
    26
    26
See reviews for
134
459
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked this hotel after visiting Charleston on a prior trip but just visited the rooftop bar. The hotel is located right next to the market, and is in an excellent location. The rooms were very clean, with great bathroom amenities and plenty of room. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommending restaurants, and carriage companies. We are at the steakhouse, which was very good, although pricey. Thankfully, we were given a 100 dollar voucher when we checked in to use at any of the restaurants or bars in the hotel! The Lobby Bar has these really cool (cold!) nitro-tinis which is gimmicky but fun too! They even made an alcohol free "cotton candy nitrotini" fir my kids that was a huge hit! Unfortunately, we were only staying for one night- but we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel and sharing your kind comments with us. I am pleased the know that you returned to stay with us after a visit to the Pavilion Bar. I appreciate that you enjoyed your accommodations, the cleanliness of our rooms and the amenities that we offer. I am also glad to know you and your children enjoyed the Nitrotinis (of course alcohol free for the children). As you know from all your travels, most luxury hotels have a signature cocktails and the Nitrotinis are ours. Thank you once again and we hope to have you stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We visited the rooftop bar last weekend and loved it. Sure, it was a little crowded but that's because it was so popular. Not only was Chelsea a good server, she was an entertaining one, with great advice about how to continue our weekend. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments with us. I appreciate you joining us at the Pavilion Bar high atop the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time and the service you received. I will relay the kind note to the team, which I am sure they will appreciate. Thank you once again for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful location. Rooms were fab.Viva was so nice. Our kids loved it. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Wish the pool was slightly bigger and didn't close at 5 pm but we still enjoyed it.

The only negative was the service we received at the rooftop bar and grill. Our server seemed to forget we were even there. It took an hour to receive our meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you and your children enjoyed the stay, the accommodations and our location. I will share your kind comments with Viva, which I am sure she will appreciate. I must apologize for any service deficiencies that you encountered. I am not sure what time you were having your meal, but I can assure you this is not the norm for us and has been addressed with the team. I thank you again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Remarkable view, good drinks, good service! We visit this rooftop bar each time we travel to Charleston and are never disappointed. We were there during the latest full moon, and even though there were clouds to contend with, the view was spectacular! This place should be a "must do" on everyone's list while in Charleston.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for joining us at the Pavilion Bar located high atop the Market Pavilion Hotel. I appreciate that you enjoyed the great service, good drinks and remarkable views. I will share your kind comments to the team and would hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed for our anniversary, great lobby bar. Rooftop can get crowded but still worth it. We asked to share a table with people who had extra chairs and we had a friendly chat while enjoying a cocktail. The lobby bar has martinis infused with nitro! Chocolate one was delicious. Check the website for offers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are so glad you could join us for your special occasion at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am also glad you enjoyed the Grill Bar and enjoyed one our many Nitrotinis and shared a great experience at the Pavilion Bar with some others guests also. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel was nice and in a good location, but the staff was not friendly. You can tell there is not a focus on customer service at this hotel (other than the maintenance man). We came expecting to love this hotel, but due to overall friendliness, it was just an average stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
First, thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you liked our location and the hotel. I must apologize that your experience with the staff you felt was not friendly. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us and I have reviewed your comments with the team and can assure you that this is not a normal experience as you will not by other guests comments. I hope to have you back again with us in the future and want to exceed your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the future 843-723-0500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,101 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,194 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#10 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,026 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Planters Inn
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.