We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in July” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Market Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Market Pavilion Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Food & Beverage Voucher
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
West Long Branch, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay in July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great service from Gregg at the bar and on the rooftop. Exceptional service from all of hotel staff. And cleanliness and turn down service was very nice. Grill 225 dinner was the best in Charleston.
Would definitely return. Maybe a room comp or upgrade would be nice.been there quite a few times and great every time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the exceptional service of all our staff, the cleanliness of our rooms, the turndown service and of course your dining experience at Grill 225. I will share your kind comments with Greg from the Pavilion Bar. As being a member of Leading Hotels of the World, you should consider joining the Leaders Club program. This will offer you many benefits, upgrades, comp stays not only at the Market Pavilion Hotel, but also if you have the opportunity to stay at any other Leading Hotels of the World. I do value your business and wish to say “thank you”. I hope to see you again very soon and do not hesitate to contact me prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    121
    35
    26
    25
See reviews for
105
379
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a great room and outstanding service. It is a bit over the top grand - but we grew to relish the luxury. We got an outstanding nightly rate ( ending up paying what we paid at a charleston chain hotel earlier in the summer) so look online for midweek specials. At normal rates the hotel may be too pricey but we had a great deal

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and enjoying our “Southern Hospitality” at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you here you enjoyed your room and outstanding service from our team. As being one of the finest hotels in the world and a member of Leading Hotels of the World, I can understand some of your perception, but we want to only lavish our guests with the finest service and accommodations. It’s also good that you were able to stay during a non-peak period to take advantage of the lower rates. I would hope to welcome you back again very soon. Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We traveled to Charleston last week. Usually stay at the French Quarter Inn for its' location and refreshments served throughout the day. FQI was booked, so we tried the Market Pavilion Hotel and stayed on the concierge level. I apologize, in advance, for the lengthy review.

First, the Pros:
Location - excellent - on Market Street in the heart of historic area.
Service - from the bellman to the concierge (Amanda Ann, who sadly, had her last day on Friday to move out of state.) exhibited southern graciousness but not stuffiness.
Rooms - spacious for city center, large baths, comfy beds, nice linens
Concierge lounge - cozy and quiet - some have complained about its lack of windows, but we found it charming, not claustrophobic. Best pastries we have ever tasted!

The cons:
Valet - due to its' location on Market and Bay, it is scary to try to valet here. I know it is the quid-pro-quo of being in the middle of the historic area, but FQI is the clear winner here since they have a dedicated half drive to pull into.
The pool - while it is great to have a lovely rooftop pool, it is only open until 5:00 due to the Pavilion Bar crowd taking over in the evening. Since we spent the day exploring the city and hoped to come back and cool off before dinner in the evenings, this was disappointing.
Front Desk - while all of the ladies at the desk were friendly and helpful, they kept answering phone calls for new reservations - not their fault, but frustrating when you are waiting to check in and are basically put on-hold.
Concierge tea time - very disappointing - tea sandwich 'selection' was one flavor, left on a tray for 2 hours. Since there is no longer a high tea served at the Charleston Place Hotel, we were looking forward to this perk and were actually swayed to staying here based on the tea offering.

This hotel has the potential of becoming our new favorite in the Charleston area. However, it could go from almost great to terrific with some simple improvements.
1. If you are going to offer tea - have a real tea - more than one selection of tea sandwiches is a good start. Also, smaller trays freshened more often. If this is not a popular snack time for guests, leave off the perishable items and have a better selection of snacks and iced drinks. More Diet Coke please and iced tea would be a simple and great addition - our stay was in July and hot tea and coffee did not appeal at 2:00 in the afternoon. (Sneak into the FQI for ideas, their afternoon snacks are simple and refreshing. :)
2. Have clearer signs for the valet area. I had to circle the block several times while my mother and daughter found out where I was to go and called my cell to give directions. (Turns out the valet was assisting other guests and the 2 spots out front were filled)
3. Have a back office person! Front desk clerks should never leave a customer standing at the counter to take a new reservation. It was not a good first impression for new guests. Could tell it perturbed all of the other guests waiting at the desk too.
4. More pool hours? Surely the bar crowd isn't swinging at 5:00 on a Tuesday or Wednesday night. This policy made us feel like the hotel was catering more to the Pavilion Bar patrons than its' own guests.

We did have a lovely stay, but saw missed opportunities. Will happily give the Market Pavilion another try when we visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
First, I appreciate you being our guest at the Market Pavilion. Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback that is constructive and welcomed. I have reviewed your points and can assure you that we will consider making some of those adjustments to better serve our guests. Each and every hotel provides a different guest experience and we are very proud of the positive feedback we receive. I am glad that you stay was lovely and would want you to have an even better stay on your next visit with us. Please contact me directly to secure your reservations and I can assure you that the entire team will strive to make your experience the very best. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Family vacation to Charleston! Great location, wonderful rooms, outstanding customer service especially Victoria at the Roof Top Bar. She was absolutely the best. Victoria continued to take care of us during a rain storm and smiled the entire time. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing you kind comments with us and choosing to stay with us for your family vacation. I will share your kind comments with Victoria and I am so pleased she took good care of you while having her big smile. We welcome you back again very soon. Thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

An absolutely first class boutique hotel with exemplary service and amenities. Loved the rooftop bar and swimming pool. Beautiful views of the river and bridge. Pricy but well worth the investment. Excellent location for exploration of historic Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We value your kind comments and thank you for sharing them with us. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy the Pavilion Bar and our swimming pool while enjoying the great views of Charleston. Being in the heart of the historic district makes for the perfect location for exploration as you were able to do. We look forward to having you as our guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Everything about this hotel is beyond expectations - location, restaurants, luxurious rooms and baths. We fell in love with Charleston and will definitely be back and stay at this remarkable hotel.
Market Pavilion Hotel was given the #1 Small Boutique Hotel award this week - the owner was flying to New York City to receive the honor. I believe it's rated #52 in the entire world.

Room Tip: we booked directly with the Hotel's Website and received a special bonus - $50 toward the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
First thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank also for acknowledging our Travel & Leisure World’s Best Award. We strive to make very guest experience very special and hope to welcome you back to Charleston and the Market Pavilion very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, so paid extra for 4th floor that included free cocktail and breakfast. Cocktail hour delicious wine & cheeses! Hotel reminded me of a cross between English and French hotel. Lots of brass and wood. Location perfect. White glove service. Fun rooftop pool and bar.

Room Tip: extra cost for 4th floor, nice splurge if u want to spoil yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel and sharing your kind comments. We are so pleased you were able to stay on our concierge level and enjoy all the many benefits it has to offer. Its also great to hear that you enjoyed the Pavilion Bar and our swimming pool. Please come back and be our guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.