We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Market Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Market Pavilion Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
DIRECT BOOKING SPECIAL
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very conveniently located to the market, lots of restaurants, King Strret, and the waterfront. We didn't need to use our car at all during our stay. Hotel was just shy of being truly a 4 star property. We had multiple issues with the tv. Maintenance came quickly, however, we had the same issue about 3 times. This was a relaxing Babymoon for my husband and I so we wanted to relax in the room. If you get a late start, housekeeping has a hard time getting to your room. Also, whenever the AC would turn on, it would cause the door to sound as if someone was trying to open the door. Probably due to a pressure difference, however it was a little disturbing. Room and bathroom are very spacious. Very comfortable bed. Complimentary tea/coffee, fruit and pastries in the morning is a nice touch as it is near the elevator on your floor. Overall a nice hotel with a great location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
First, thank you for sharing your comments with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. I do apologize for any issues regarding your Television and any inconvenience caused to you. We have identified the issue and have corrected it so it will not occur in the future. I am glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary continental sideboard breakfast and the size of your room and bathroom. We thank you again for being our guest and hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    113
    32
    26
    24
See reviews for
101
361
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This fabulous hotel, staff, and its venue can not be BEAT! My husband and I have been to Charleston more times than we can count. We are from South Carolina. This hotel is a great find. The valet service, room service, and the concierge service is always OUTSTANDING! The roof top pavilion is not to be missed. Experience Charleston with your favorite cocktail in your hand! Try their chocolate martini. I promise you will NOT be disappointed. This hotel's southern hospitality will blow you away. Enjoy this hotel during the winter season as well. The roof top has heaters and is still as much fun as it is in the summer. This is a year round hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We very much appreciate you sharing your kind comments with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality and service your received. It’s also great to hear you enjoyed the Pavilion Bar and our heaters to make you feel more comfortable when needed. I would hope to welcome you back very soon. Thank you once again and I will share your comments with the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hadn't been to Charleston since I was stationed there on a Navy destroyer in the '60's. Needless to say this visit was much different, most especially thanks to the Market Pavilion Hotel. For starters, it has a great location near the most charming part of Charleston and within easy walking distance of some very nice restaurants. Rooms were very nice, as was the dining room and the rooftop bar. We particularly enjoyed the small dining and lounge area on our floor where a delicious breakfast was served, and later in the day, tea and snacks. Our hostess, Melissa (I hope I have her name right) was most gracious and attentive. She made us feel completely at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are so pleased to welcome you back to Charleston after so many years. I am sure you see the wonderful charm and magic of this great city. I am also please you enjoyed our location, the Pavilion Bar and the fine dining at Grill 225. You stay on our concierge level and enjoyed the many benefits this floor has to offer. I will share your comments with Melissa as she will appreciate you taking the time to share them with us. We do try to make all our guests feel like you are at home. Please come back and stay with us again very soon and no need to wait so many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It is a great location with a wonderful & friendly staff. Melissa - the parlor concierge- was phenomenal. She couldn't do enough for us. It is worth the extra $$$ to stay on the concierge level with a wonderful, full breakfast, tea & cookies & sandwiches in mid-day and plentiful food & wine for cocktail time.

Room Tip: Concierge status & not on the back side of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful hotel is in the heart of historic Charleston and is situated directly across from the Charleston Market.

The staff from the valet to room service could not have been more attentive, or preformed their job anymore flawlessly. As a South Carolina native that frequents Charleston often I can honestly say that you will not find a nicer accommodation in town.

I suggest that you take in the entire experience, from the amazing rooftop bar and pool, to the DELICIOUS 225 Grill....this will solidify your stay and make return to the Market Pavilion whenever you return to "The Holy City".

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments with us. I would agree about our location and it’s great that you had the opportunity to dine with us at Grill 225 and enjoy the Pavilion Bar. We look forward to you next visit to “The Holy City” and being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great place, wonderful ambiance and restaurants, we went in March and had great weather. Visited the rooftop bar several times. We plan to go back next year, as well as future years. They want a 200 character review and I have no more to say . . . .

Room Tip: We stayed in a premium king room, the pictures led me to believe we had a huge marble bath, that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

While the Market Pavillion is an exceptional property, with a great restaurant (Grill 225) have the Ribeye..) and a super fun roof bar, The main reason I am writing this review is their extraordinary Concierge Susanne Cohen by name. Susanne took care of every minute detail of our, (8 folks from Texas), visit to Charleston. From Restaurants to Golf tee times, to tours to sending us lost articles she managed our whole trip perfectly, and with such southern charm. We would return to this lovely place primarily because of the amazing TLC provided by Susanne and her team. Joe and Bonnie Kelly

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very good, remember to use Plat Amer express for upgrades if you participate.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's newest and most luxurious hotel. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;