We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Market Pavilion Hotel Continues to Impress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Market Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
DIRECT BOOKING SPECIAL
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Sanford, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Market Pavilion Hotel Continues to Impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived at the Market Pavilion Hotel (our home for the Cooper River Bridge Run weekend) and was treated like VIP's from the Front Door Staff all the way to the Concierge Floor. Kelly M. took very good care of our group from the time I reserved the property months ago until we checked out. She arranged for us to ride the hotel shuttle (luxury van) which took our group to the Start Line of the CRBR in Mt. Pleasant, SC. On the morning of the run, the hotel had a table of coffee and fruit set up on the first floor for all of the race participants. As you can see, the Market Pavilion Hotel and Staff went out of their way in their thoughtful details.
Melissa Lockwood, on the Concierge Floor, welcomed our group and spent our entire stay making sure that all of our needs were taken care of. She even was "Our biggest cheerleader" when we left our floor prior to 6 a.m. on race day.
Market Pavilion Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel filled with ambiance and Southern Hospitality. Make a reservation and enjoy this beautiful property.

Room Tip: Select a room facing either The Market or The Customs House on the Concierge Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    110
    32
    26
    24
See reviews for
100
355
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Nc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great property, super location. Rooftop bar with Jr as the bar tender is outstanding. Only downside is the fitness center, its in serious need of an upgrade. Grill does a solid job for all types of food. The doormen are friendly, knowledgeable, and the best. Rooms are well kept by the maids who go out of there way to insure a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing you kind comments with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, the service of JR at the Pavilion Bar, the bellman and housekeeping. We will continue to work to improve our services as well as our facility and your comments regarding the fitness center is noted. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was truly the very best hotel we've ever stayed in. (not including the B & B's - just hotels). It was truly a 5 star hotel - from the staff, who treated us as if we were movies stars, to the well appointed rooms, it was amazing. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable, large, and the bed was the MOST comfy of ANY bed I've ever slept in, including my own!!! (Truly helped that it was a king size, LOL). We ate at the Grill on the first floor, the evening of our stay there, and the food was incredible. (Pricey, but incredible - they did comp us a $50.00 gift card for staying at the hotel, so it helped a LOT). The location was perfect - right in the middle of EVERYthing!!! I would HIGHLY recommend staying here if you want a really indulgent place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Check in was efficient, the room was great with a large bathroom. The bed was very comfy, and the bathroom offered a great shower with separate tub and a lighted makeup mirror. They have Hermes products in the bathrooms and robes and slippers. Morning coffee and pastries were included.

The staff were excellent. They were helpful, courteous, and friendly. Concierge was very helpful and gave us great ideas on what to see in Charleston. Location is great right at the market in Charleston. You could not ask for any better place to stay in Charleston, right in the middle of downtown, within walking distance to restaurants, museums and shopping. Charleston is so full of history and charm. Everything is in walking distance. There's also carriage ride tours.

We enjoyed the Hotel's Grill 225 restaurant, the 225 Bar and the Rooftop bar. The rooftop bar and pool were amazing and was fun at night.

We will definitely be back.to take advantage of historical Charleston and the sights to see and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. It is great to know that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. I will share your comments with the team as they will be pleased that they were able to be helpful, courteous and friendly towards you. I am also pleased that our concierge was able to assist you with your site seeing ideas while in Charleston. It’s also great that you had the opportunity to dine at Grill 225 and join us at the Pavilion Bar. And of course nothing is better than after a long good day returning to a comfortable bed with a great night sleep. Looking forward to your return and thank you once again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had the great good fortune during a weekend stay at the end of March to stay on the concierge floor. Melissa Lockwood was an extraordinarily gracious and helpful host. She knew our names after our first brief meeting and did everything she could to make our stay as comfortable and rewarding as possible, from checking on restaurant reservations, to suggesting places to visit, to making sure our car was ready for us when we needed it. She embodies Charleston hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you were able to experience our true “Art of Southern Hospitality”. I will share you kind comments with Melissa and she will be pleased that you enjoyed her service and all the benefits of the concierge floor. We look forward to your return and thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three fantastic days here at the end of March. I cannot say enough how pleased we were with the service we received. From the valet to the servers at the rooftop bar, the staff were all genuinely friendly and accommodating. One morning at five thirty, my husband stopped and asked someone at the desk where he could get some coffee as the coffee service on the floor was not yet available. The gentleman asked that he wait a moment and he would brew a fresh pot- he then brought it out on a silver tray!! What service!!
The location is in the heart of Charleston, right next to City Market and one block from the water. There are tons of shops and restaurants in close proximity. We only got back in the car once and that was to go explore Folly Beach. We will certainly be returning to this gem in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that our team was able to accommodate you and exceed your expectations. We are also very fortunate to have the perfect location in the heart of the Historic District in Charleston. We looking forward to your return soon and If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Market Pavilion Hotel checking in Easter Sunday through Tuesday. Everything about the service in this hotel was amazing. From Grill 225 to the rooftop restaurant and bar/pool, this was the most amazing hotel we have ever visited. From coffee and fruit and pastries outside your door for breakfast, to an unbelievably comfortable king-size bed...I could go on and on. I have never felt so pampered. Every employee we encountered in this hotel was fabulous. We will be recommending this hotel to our friends.Thank you so much for treating us with such care. Even back at work today, I was still smiling! We certainly hope we have the chance to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We work very hard on making every guest experience the best it possibly could be. I am pleased you enjoyed your side board continental breakfast each day, and the service, food from Grill 225 and the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel. I very much appreciate your recommendations and looking and wish to thank you for sharing the kind comments. We look forward to pampering you again in the near future and wish to welcome you back to your home in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's newest and most luxurious hotel. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.