We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Market Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Market Pavilion Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Special Deal
DIRECT BOOKING SPECIAL
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent three fantastic days here at the end of March. I cannot say enough how pleased we were with the service we received. From the valet to the servers at the rooftop bar, the staff were all genuinely friendly and accommodating. One morning at five thirty, my husband stopped and asked someone at the desk where he could get some coffee as the coffee service on the floor was not yet available. The gentleman asked that he wait a moment and he would brew a fresh pot- he then brought it out on a silver tray!! What service!!
The location is in the heart of Charleston, right next to City Market and one block from the water. There are tons of shops and restaurants in close proximity. We only got back in the car once and that was to go explore Folly Beach. We will certainly be returning to this gem in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that our team was able to accommodate you and exceed your expectations. We are also very fortunate to have the perfect location in the heart of the Historic District in Charleston. We looking forward to your return soon and If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    115
    32
    26
    24
See reviews for
104
364
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Market Pavilion Hotel checking in Easter Sunday through Tuesday. Everything about the service in this hotel was amazing. From Grill 225 to the rooftop restaurant and bar/pool, this was the most amazing hotel we have ever visited. From coffee and fruit and pastries outside your door for breakfast, to an unbelievably comfortable king-size bed...I could go on and on. I have never felt so pampered. Every employee we encountered in this hotel was fabulous. We will be recommending this hotel to our friends.Thank you so much for treating us with such care. Even back at work today, I was still smiling! We certainly hope we have the chance to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We work very hard on making every guest experience the best it possibly could be. I am pleased you enjoyed your side board continental breakfast each day, and the service, food from Grill 225 and the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel. I very much appreciate your recommendations and looking and wish to thank you for sharing the kind comments. We look forward to pampering you again in the near future and wish to welcome you back to your home in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and wish it could have been longer. We loved Charleston, and we also loved the service and quality of the hotel. Everyone who works here is friendly and works hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable. We were greeted warmly upon arrival, and even had a message from the front desk late on our first day asking if we had everything we needed.
The best part was staying on the concierge level - if you can, definitely book a room on this floor. There is a private parlor only for guests with rooms on this floor - with this you get breakfast, snacks during the day, tea in the afternoon, and a "happy hour" from 6-8p with beer, wine, champagne, and delicious snacks. This is all included, no extra charge. But what makes it special is Melissa, who runs the concierge floor and takes care of all the guests when they come into the parlor. She gets to know all the guests, remembers your name, beverage of choice, what you like for breakfast, asks about your day. This kind of service is above and beyond and really makes you feel very welcomed and cared for. Thank you Melissa!
Our room was very nice and comfortable, and quiet (could not hear any street noise). Lovely turn down service at night too. Free wifi as well (a little spotty though).
If you stay here definitely check out the Pavilion Bar on the rooftop. On a beautiful day (which we had) it's a great place to have a drink, eat, and just take in the view.
We hope to make it back to Charleston one day and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely the concierge level (4th floor) - best service and attention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing such nice comments with us regarding you stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. On behalf of our entire team. Thank you we are very happy to have been able to serve you as our guest. I am so pleased you had the opportunity to stay on our concierge level and experience the many great benefits it has to offer from the full breakfast, to high tea in the afternoon to the full evening reception. I will gladly share our comment with Melissa. I apologize for any internet issues, but have taken care of that immediately. I am not sure if you had the chance to dine at Grill 225, but we would hope you could on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again in Charleston and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Market Pavilion for two nights the week of March 25th, 2013. The location is perfect right next to the Market and within an easy walk of the french quarter and waterfront. The room was wonderful and the bakery and coffee that is put out in the morning was first class. The staff was cordial and helpful. The only negative is that apparently there is only valet parking at the hotel, but it was reasonable and efficient. Charleston was incredible and the waterfront view from the rooftop bar should not be missed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel and sharing your kind comments with us. Being on the corner of East Bay and Market we are in the epicenter of Historic District and within walking distance to everything Charleston has to offer. I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary side board continental breakfast . I am also glad you enjoyed the Pavilion Bar and the wonderful views high atop the hotel. As you can imagine, parking is somewhat difficult in Charleston and we are very fortunate to have a parking garage for our guest of the hotel, Grill 225 and the Pavilion Bar. We thank you once again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Not only does this hotel have an amazing location at the end of Market St - it provides to the classical experience of Charleston with its historic feel. The all marble baths were fittingly luxurious. I would love to stay here again on our next visit! So accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
First, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are honored that you were our guest and you enjoyed our hotel, the marble bathrooms, location and the services of our staff. We would hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary downtown and booked a room at the Market Pavilion for the evening. Despte torrential rain early Saturday and again Sunday morning we had a wonderful time as a tourist in town.

The upstairs bar has always been popular and one of the best views downtown. Junior was our bartender and did a wonderful job under less-than-steller conditions. Melissa was exceptionally warm and helpful in the concierge room.

The hotel is a good location for dinner or drinks on East Bay or the Market, but a long walk from the new restaurants on upper KIng. This was good for us, but others may want to get a pedicab/rickshaw or a taxi to get across if necessary.

The concierge level is worth the expense at this hotel. The restaurant is good, but not one or our favorites in a very competitive restaurant town. We've not had a bad experience, but 221 simply hasn't been in our rotation for whatever reason. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments regarding you stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel, Grill 225 and the Pavilion Bar. As being a local with so many choices, I am honored that you choose us. It was unfortunate that the weather was not the best on early on the weekend, but you were able to have a wonderful time celebrating your wedding anniversary. It was great that you could experience and appreciate the value in the concierge floor. I will pass your comments to Junior and Melissa. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for being our guest. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Market Pavilion Hotel in Charleston. From the greeting that we received from the doorman, Havin Turner through the entire stay, we were very pleased. Kelly the guest service manager handled all details of our reservations. Melissa provided very professional service on the concierge floor. Jr and Dave provided very great service at the rooftop, Pavilion Bar. The rooms were perfect, the rooftop bar provides the best views of the city and the waterfront. I highly recommend this property..

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Market of East Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the time you had at the Pavilion Bar. (yes, with the best views of the waterfront and city) I will share your kind comments, with Havin, Kelly, Melissa, Jr and Dave. Thank you for sharing with us and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's newest and most luxurious hotel. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.