We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Luxury Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Market Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
DIRECT BOOKING SPECIAL
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Aledo, TX
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Charming Luxury Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is a gem in a wonderful city. The location is perfect. The amenities are top-notch, with an attentive staff. We were spoiled from the minute we arrived! The bellman immediately took great care to help our daughter-in-law who arrived early with two little ones.

We were traveling with four adults and two very young children. The staff took care of the needs of every member of our party from six months old to sixty years old. Melissa was so caring and provided excellent service at breakfast and again in the afternoon!

Opt for the Concierge Floor with a wonderful breakfast, afternoon tea, champagne in the afternoon, and cookies at bedtime! It is well worth the extra price.

The manager, Peter, stopped by to welcome guest throughout the day to make guests feel special.
We had a wonderful experience and can not wait to return!

Room Tip: The Concierge Floor is well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and staying with at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are so happy that you felt spoiled from the moment you arrived. I know it’s not easy traveling with such a big family and I am happy our bellman and entire staff were able to assist you and the children. I will pass your kind comments to Melissa and glad that you enjoyed all the great benefits of our Concierge Floor. What’s not to enjoy!. We do look forward to your return visit and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    112
    32
    26
    24
See reviews for
100
356
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

From the time we arrived until the time we left, service was excellent. Attentive, caring staff makes this beautiful hotel our Number One Choice when we return to Charleston. We enjoyed the great views from the rooftop bar in the afternoon, we had dinner in the very busy 225 Grill (try the fried lobster tail for an appetizer and be sure to order the cauliflower fritters with aioli sauce as a side) and we returned to the rooftop for a night cap. Very comfortable king bed in our room. Both the room and the bathroom were spotless. I loved stepping off of the elevator on our floor to a fresh coffee station...great coffee by the way. Our only negative on this trip is that we spent so much time at the hotel we didn't have time for all of our usual ventures around Charleston! A special thanks for making it a great weekend goes out to Danny (Valet) Stephen (Server) and Mr. Wright.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you were able to enjoy and have that fine dining experience at Grill 225. Nothing finishes off an evening like having a nightcap at the Pavilion Bar. I will also pass along your kind words to the housekeeping team as they work very hard to ensure all our guests are comfortable and the accommodations are perfect. We promise we will not say anything if you decide to venture outside the hotel on your next visit. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband I stayed here for an overnight to shop and enjoy the Grill 225 Steakhouse that is within the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by this small gem of a hotel. It has a 19th century feeling with lots of wood, and brass. The room was very nicely decorated, very clean, and the bathroom had granite and marble. There is coffee and tea, fruit, and pastries in the hallway of each floor for breakfast. Ask for a room with a view, enjoy the rooftop pool and bar, and, by all means, have dinner at Grill 225...We will be sure to stay and enjoy dinner again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, accommodations and our sideboard breakfast prepared by our Executive Pastry Chef Gerry Elliot. I am also glad you had a chance to enjoy the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel. Being in the best location in Charleston the views are spectacular. As being a proud member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, we are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at Grill 225. We cannot wait to have you back and we are looking forward to your next visit to Charleston and the Market Pavilion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I headed to Charleston for a convention she had to work and to celebrate an early anniversary. We checked in on Friday afternoon around 3 pm and was met by Danny at the Valet stand. He was a superb first impression of the hotel as he was helpful and VERY friendly. We talked about some common interests (Go Gamecocks!) as he helped unload the car. He helped me store our luggage until our room was ready. Once the room was ready he brought it all up to the room and all the while talked about things we should see and do in Charleston.
I had bought my gf flowers and had them delivered to the hotel. They were delivered in a box and the concierge was kind enough to take them out of the box and put them in the vase and add water WITHOUT me even having to ask.
Over the course of the next day and a half both Sarah and Melissa were INCREDIBLY helpful and kind for both Happy Hour and breakfast in the Concierge Floor room. Both these ladies went over and above in almost every single way.
The best thing I can say about the Market Pavilion hotel is that everyone treats you like SO much more than just a customer...they treat you like family. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip for so many reasons but the hotel and staff were definitely 2 BIG reasons why. I would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Charleston any time soon.

Room Tip: Concierge floor is a MUST!!! So worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
First, Happy Anniversary! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel and thank you for being our guest. It was a pleasure having you with us and to know that you were able to combine some business with a little pleasure. We pride ourselves on delivering a the best possible luxury guest experience from the moment you arrive at the hotel and until your departure. It’s also nice to know that our concierge was able to make a difference with your flowers. By staying on our Concierge Level, you were able to experience the American breakfast, afternoon high tea service, our champagne, wine, beer and hor dourves reception and concierge services of Sarah and Melissa. As having so many repeat guests at the Market Pavilion Hotel, we do fell like our guests are our family and we look forward to welcoming you back home soon. I will pass your kind comments to the team and do not hesitate to contact if you plans bring you back to this magical city of Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Charleston and it was our anniversary. We certainly wanted it to be
special. I searched the internet and eventually made a hotel choice based a lot on availability and location. We hit the JACKPOT....this very intimate hotel had the best of everything. We were steps away from the open-air Market, walking distance to King Street with all the shopping you could ever want, along with the best restaurants. We valet parked the car and only took it out once to visit a local plantation....there was no need to go further. The rooms are beautifully appointed, staff is very professional and helpful. We dined at Grill 225 for our anniversary dinner and received a complimentary bottle of champagne...our waiter, Jeff, was extremely helpful with dinner suggestions and most attentive to our needs. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again and we will definitely stay again at the Market Pavillion. Nothing in Charleston is cheap, but this little slice of heaven is well worth the price.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad choice of rooms anywhere in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for celebrating your anniversary with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. Being located on the corner of Market and East Bay, we are in the perfect location for our guests to experience the magical city of Charleston. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible guest experience and the quality of our hotel. I am also pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at Grill 225. I will pass along your comments to Jeff as he will be happy that he was able to provide you with that special attention and you liked his dinner suggestions. We hope to welcome you back soon and look forward to your next visit to Charleston, the Market Pavilion Hotel and Grill 225.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just prior to flying to Charleston SC and staying at the Market Pavilion, I broke a tooth. I called the concierge and they arranged for an emergency appointment to a dentist in the area. I couldn't have been more pleased with their service. The hotel is beautiful and well located. The rooftop pool is a great place to relax and view the city

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
First, I am sorry about hear about your need for a dentist. I am very pleased that our concierge was able to assist you and you were able to come to Charleston and experience all the great services of the Market Pavilion Hotel and the area. I agree with you, no other better place in town to relax and enjoy the views from the Pavilion Bar high atop of the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I do not have one thing bad to say about our stay at the Market Pavilion. From the time we arrived to the time we left we were treated like royalty. The check in process was seamless, and it was very busy due to Restaurant week - but the bellman took very good care of our car and luggage. We chose to stay on the concierge level - which was an absolute pleasure. I cannot say enough kind words about Melissa. She is the perfect example of going "above and beyond". She made our stay the best we have ever had in Charleston. It would be such a lose if she ever left. She is the reason that we will always pay more to stay on that level. She has a knack for remembering everyone’s name, and that speaks volumes to her dedication to her job.

The rooftop was amazing and it didn’t hurt that the weather was absolutely perfect – 75 in January = awesome!!

If you get the chance to stay here – I would absolutely recommend doing so! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: Choose the concierge level - you will not regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel and your experience at the Pavilion Bar. I am happy to hear the bellman and the entire team took good care of you as you were able to experience the high level of service that the Market Pavilion has to offer all its guests. I will also pass on your kind comments to Melissa as she does enjoy remembering all her guests names and creating that extra personal touch service. We look forward to your next visit to Charleston and would love to welcome you back home to the Market Pavilion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's newest and most luxurious hotel. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.