We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but with a blemish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Market Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Market Pavilion Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
DIRECT BOOKING SPECIAL
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful but with a blemish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My fiancee and I have stayed here 3 times. We love the location, accommodations, staff, and especially the food. On our last trip the concierge called about a week before our scheduled stay to ask if he could help. Through him we booked a table at Cypress for dinner. When we arrived at Cypress there was no reservation and we were turned away. Possibly a problem with Cypress, but I have never had problems reserving a table with them before. Enjoy the hotel and its beautiful atmosphere, but perhaps handle your own reservations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
First, I would like to thank you for staying at the Market Pavilion Hotel 3 times. The staff will appreciate the kind comments and we are happy that you enjoyed the food at Grill 225 or the Pavilion Bar. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am very proud of the Concierge team we have. I apologize for any inconvenience that Cypress may have caused you as you know we have limited effect with them other than assisting with the reservations. We have pulled the reports and communicated directly with them and they indicated to us a now show with your reservation, so it’s unfortunate that they had turned you away. As this type of issue does not happen very often, we would welcome the opportunity to assist you with any services in the future. You have my assurance that we will ensure that your experience is flawless. Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    115
    32
    26
    24
See reviews for
104
365
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from two great days at the Market Pavilion. Been to Charleston many times. Like everywhere I have stayed but this hotel is special. Elegant, beautiful property. Very thoughtful appointments- continental breakfast, fruit and coffee on your floor every morning, fresh flowers in your room, nice robes, friendly staff, great turn down service. Was able to enjoy the concierge floor. This was a real treat and Melissa treated us like royalty-so outgoing and friendly and somehow remembered everyone's names. She went out of her way to make us feel welcome and accommodate our every need. Food was delicious and it is a very charming, relaxing space. Parking was $20 for our stay which is very reasonable for the area. Overall great location- Close to many great restaurants, shops etc. and easy to get to. Pavilion bar is by far my favorite rooftop bar in charleston. It is great even in winter with the plexiglass and heat lamps they use to keep it comfortable. Drinks are a little pricey but atmosphere makes up for it. The hotel is an Excellent choice if you want to splurge a little bit for a beautiful stay and gracious hosts.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words; our entire staff will be happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be elegant and beautiful. I know Melissa in particular will be pleased you found her service to be outstanding. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Though the Market Pavilion promises to "make exceptional customer service customary," our experience was quite the contrary. When making our reservations, I confirmed at length with the reservations agent about wanting adjoining rooms for my family, but when we arrived at the hotel the front desk clerk Viva said there was no note about the request in our record. She had no adjoining rooms available and put us in rooms at opposite ends of the floor, promising to upgrade us to a suite the next night for our troubles. When my husband went down to the front desk the next morning, Viva recanted saying she could not give us a suite but would move us next to our kids (but not adjoining despite the fact that each of our rooms had the ability to be Adjoined) and give us $50 off our room rate. Though disappointed, we relented and said okay. When we checked out, the front desk clerk Grant had no record of the $50 off we had been promised so we had to wait while he spoke with the manager (aka "the man behind the curtain") Gerald Cunningham. Cunningham told the clerk we could only get $50 off for one night, rather than both nights, of our stay. We had to rush off for a tour we had booked and said we would settle it when we returned. When we got back, Grant said he could do nothing more for us and that Cunningham was "in a meeting" and we would need to wait 10 minutes to speak with him. In frustration we paid our bill noting our $50 dispute and left. Good riddance. Not quite what one would expect from a "leading hotel of the world." Our next stop was The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island and they had our beautiful adjoining rooms ready and waiting. Now that's a classy hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketPavilion, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
First, thank you for taking the time to address your concerns. We do value your business and apologize that we did not meet your expectations as we do strive to provide exceptional service for all our guests who stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. After further investigating your stay, we address a few of the points. At check-in, you were given the rooms you were assigned during your reservation. Unfortunately our Guest Service Associate did not have any record or notes about your adjoining rooms and we were almost 100% committed for that evening. We informed you when you had arrived we could arrange two rooms that were closer to each other. We asked if we could move one room in the morning as this was a late check in and your party was tired as you had arrived very late/early in the morning. You seemed comfortable with this arrangement. We had offered a discount on the one room that had to be moved for the one night. As being fully committed for the next evening we were not able to provide you with the suite that could accommodate your family. Upon your day of departure, we also apologize as our manager did excuse himself from his meeting and came down to the reception to meet with you within minutes, but you were not able to wait as you had checked out already and from being out all day, certainly can understand. As being a member of Leading Hotels of the World, I sincerely apologize that your expectations were not met and can assure you that the experience you had felt, does not occur and I would hope you still had a nice stay. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally and if your travels bring you back to Charleston, we would like to welcome you back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 wonderful days at this wonderful hotel in our favorite city. The staff is most helpful and the rooms are great for relaxing. We stayed on the concierge level and enjoyed the attendance afforded us by Kelly, a most gracious member of the staff. Although it was too cold and rainy to enjoy the rooftop bar, the lounge on the main level and staff made you feel as though you were the only person their. We were also blessed to meet the hotel manager and his lovely Irish wife. We've been coming to the area for almost 15 years and this is the only place I'd ever recommend. We'll surely be back.

Room Tip: Any room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am pleased to hear that your stay on the concierge level was relaxing; Kelly certainly knows how to make a guest feel special and welcomed. We truly do appreciate your loyalty and patronage, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonel's Island, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Connie and I have been coming to this wonderful hotel for years. We keep returning because of the hotel staff, particularly Suzanne Cohen, the Concierge and Melissa Lockwood, the Parlor Concierge. When it comes to the service industry...Suzanne and Melissa get it!!!!!!! They provide world-class sevice and courtesy to all. From the Valet, Danny Soto, who greeted us with "Welcome Back...now I know it's going to be a great weekend" to the Reception Staff to Kelly in reservations...all are always superb.
Peter Wright is the new General Manager and he has taken the Market Pavilion to a new level (which I did not think possible).
We have been all over the world...this is the only hotel we can recommend for consistent excellence without reservation. Connie and Bill L.

Room Tip: We usually stay on the Concierge floor...corner suite...can't beat it. Hardwood floors, garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for consistently choosing the Market Pavilion Hotel for your trips to Charleston. We certainly do appreciate your review and continued patronage. All of our employees will be thrilled to know that you recognize their outstanding commitment to world class service, particularly Susanne, Melissa, Danny, Kelly, and Mr. Wright. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and we look forward to serving you for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My friends and I recently stayed at the hotel and wow we were not disappointed. The room was great and best location in town. Easy to get the the pubs and shopping for the girls. But we didnt need to go far. What a great time on the roof with the views and DJ playing. We will be coming back to Charleston for a wedding in the Spring and we know be staying there.

Room Tip: Lunch is great for the price at the Grill 225. Next we will try Grill 225 for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found our location to be ideal. Our guests have access to a wide range of shops, restaurants, and historical sites, all just steps away from the hotel. I am also happy that you were able to enjoy our Pavilion Bar along with the great views of the city it provides. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your visit in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Charming elegance. This is the only way to describe this beautiful Charleston property. The hotel lobby decorated for the holidays is absolutely breathtaking. Be sure to find Andrew at the bar. He is extremely helpful, makes a delicious Firefly Sweet Tea Nitrotini and has tons of suggestions on places to go. He will not steer you wrong. Thanks again to all at Market Pavillion. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy our holiday accents in our lobby and that you found the entire property beautiful and elegant. Andrew will be delighted to hear you enjoyed his service and recommendations. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and we hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's newest and most luxurious hotel. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.