We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Market Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Market Pavilion Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Sideboard Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jack B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 wonderful days at this wonderful hotel in our favorite city. The staff is most helpful and the rooms are great for relaxing. We stayed on the concierge level and enjoyed the attendance afforded us by Kelly, a most gracious member of the staff. Although it was too cold and rainy to enjoy the rooftop bar, the lounge on the main level and staff made you feel as though you were the only person their. We were also blessed to meet the hotel manager and his lovely Irish wife. We've been coming to the area for almost 15 years and this is the only place I'd ever recommend. We'll surely be back.

Room Tip: Any room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am pleased to hear that your stay on the concierge level was relaxing; Kelly certainly knows how to make a guest feel special and welcomed. We truly do appreciate your loyalty and patronage, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    127
    39
    26
    25
See reviews for
117
416
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colonel's Island, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Connie and I have been coming to this wonderful hotel for years. We keep returning because of the hotel staff, particularly Suzanne Cohen, the Concierge and Melissa Lockwood, the Parlor Concierge. When it comes to the service industry...Suzanne and Melissa get it!!!!!!! They provide world-class sevice and courtesy to all. From the Valet, Danny Soto, who greeted us with "Welcome Back...now I know it's going to be a great weekend" to the Reception Staff to Kelly in reservations...all are always superb.
Peter Wright is the new General Manager and he has taken the Market Pavilion to a new level (which I did not think possible).
We have been all over the world...this is the only hotel we can recommend for consistent excellence without reservation. Connie and Bill L.

Room Tip: We usually stay on the Concierge floor...corner suite...can't beat it. Hardwood floors, garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for consistently choosing the Market Pavilion Hotel for your trips to Charleston. We certainly do appreciate your review and continued patronage. All of our employees will be thrilled to know that you recognize their outstanding commitment to world class service, particularly Susanne, Melissa, Danny, Kelly, and Mr. Wright. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and we look forward to serving you for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My friends and I recently stayed at the hotel and wow we were not disappointed. The room was great and best location in town. Easy to get the the pubs and shopping for the girls. But we didnt need to go far. What a great time on the roof with the views and DJ playing. We will be coming back to Charleston for a wedding in the Spring and we know be staying there.

Room Tip: Lunch is great for the price at the Grill 225. Next we will try Grill 225 for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found our location to be ideal. Our guests have access to a wide range of shops, restaurants, and historical sites, all just steps away from the hotel. I am also happy that you were able to enjoy our Pavilion Bar along with the great views of the city it provides. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your visit in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Charming elegance. This is the only way to describe this beautiful Charleston property. The hotel lobby decorated for the holidays is absolutely breathtaking. Be sure to find Andrew at the bar. He is extremely helpful, makes a delicious Firefly Sweet Tea Nitrotini and has tons of suggestions on places to go. He will not steer you wrong. Thanks again to all at Market Pavillion. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you were able to enjoy our holiday accents in our lobby and that you found the entire property beautiful and elegant. Andrew will be delighted to hear you enjoyed his service and recommendations. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and we hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

For a surprise for our anniversary my husband treated me to a night Downtown. We pulled up to the front of this hotel and they had a valet take our car and a bell hop take our bags. They were very friendly from the moment we pulled up. They took us to our room, explaining different things along the way. We stayed in a King Suite on the 3rd floor, the concierge floor. The room was wonderful! A bathrobe for each of us, a pretty view, Figi water, a comfy bed, a large tub and seperate shower. We had everything we needed right there. There were fresh baked cookies and drinks in the lounge area of our floor by the elevators and in the morning they served breakfast there. The breakfast was perfect, very tasty. I guess the walls are thick, my husband nor I heard any noise the time we spent in the room and we never got complaints either :) It is high, we paid over $300 for the night. But, it is worth every penny! The hotel is designed to match Old Charleston. You look around and think the building is old, just updated, but it isn't. We did eat at Grill 225 and hung out on the rooftop which I reviewed as well. What is great is the security of the elevator. For those going to the rooftop bar the elevator has only one stop, the roof. If you want to access the room floors you have to have your room key! No worries about stray people roaming your floor! Everything about this hotel is a must try if you visit or even if you live here like we do!

Room Tip: Ask for the concierge floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Congratulations on your recent anniversary. The Market Pavilion Hotel is truly honored to have been a part of celebrating such a special occasion. From the moment you arrive at the hotel, our entire staff strives to provide the finest in luxury and service. Our four hundred square foot guest rooms provide all the amenities you need to have a relaxing stay. I am delighted you were able to enjoy our concierge level benefits which include a delectable hot breakfast every morning. Thank you for mentioning our dedication to guest security, it truly is of our utmost concern. Again, thank you for your kind sentiments and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Market Pavilion hotel is by far the nicest hotel in Charleston. I would put it on par with the Peninsula Hotel in New York. The Market Pavilion is a four star hotel but it is a five star as far as I am concerned, a New York quality hotel but with South Carolina rates. The food and service at the restaurant, Grill 225, were both exquisite. I had the Maine Lobster and my wife had the Prime Filet. Both were outstanding, and Lila, our waitress, was awesome. We were too stuffed for dessert, but the Creme Brulee looked tempting.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the third or fourth floors, They have a view of Charleston Harbor. Also, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to the Market Pavilion Hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we certainly are proud to know you consider our property one of the best. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some of our fine dining at Grill 225 with Lila as your server; she will be thrilled to know you enjoyed her service. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is one of the best hotels we stayed in! Service is top notch and so is the location.

We booked a corner king suite, so we had access to the concierge level. Upon check-in, we received a $50 food voucher for each day of our stay to use for food and beverage at the hotel's restaurants. We ate at the downstairs grill both times. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the fried buttermilk chicken salad (one of the best salads I have ever eaten). We went to the rooftop bar (which has great views), but they did not have any high chairs for our toddler (and were not willing to accomodate in that regard). I was a little disappointed that they couldn't let a family eat up there for lunch, but maybe that is there subtle way of keep that area "adults only."

Our room was spacious and well-appointed. The king bed was cozy. We requested a refrigerator, which they brought to our room. The marble bathroom was enormous with a huge jacuzzi tub, giant walk-in shower, and a separate room (with a door and window) for the toilet. Our room was at the front corner of the hotel, where we could see (and hear) the market. The soundproofing was pretty good in the bedroom. You could tell that the double-paned windows were doing their job, as all the noise from outside was muffled. The window in the bathroom did not have double panes, so that is how you could tell the difference. Every night, the rooftop bar turned into a night club, so we were glad we were not on the concierge level floor, as no amount of soundproofing would have helped us go to sleep at night.

The food on the concierge level was delicious. Free breakfast, afternoon tea/snacks, and nightly wine/hors douerves were great.

Service all around the hotel was superb (front desk, concierge, concierge level, Grill restaurant, valet). Everyone was very friendly and accomodating (except for the folks at the rooftop bar).

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford to pay the steep rates!

We would definitely r

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a king concierge corner room (just not on the concierge level itself, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica O, Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Market Pavilion Hotel. We appreciate all of your kind remarks and are proud to be one of the best hotels you have stayed in. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our concierge level privileges; it certainly adds an extra layer of luxury to your stay. I’m also happy to hear you appreciated the value of our $50.00 food and beverage vouchers, which allow our guests to experience both the Pavilion Bar and Grill 225. I am sorry that you were unable to dine with your toddler at the Pavilion Bar. Unfortunately, due to the height of our Pavilion Bar tables, a high chair is not appropriate for this particular venue. Our entire staff will be thrilled that you found their service to be superb in every regard; all of our teams work together to ensure our guests receive the best customer service. Again, thank you for your thoughtful words and we look forward to your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#9 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.